Seeding offsite backup files for a Backup Copy Job

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Re: Seeding offsite backup files for a Backup Copy Job

Veeam Logoby foggy » Sat Aug 24, 2013 9:22 am

Sure, this should also work. You will get the required single VBK from your remotely stored backup chain and will be able to map the new backup copy job to this VBK.

That said, I would note that having backup chains already at remote site you can benefit from backup copy job even without actually mapping it. Before starting synchronization of the VM with particular OS, WAN accelerator cache is populated by this OS data from the backups stored at the target repository, so WAN link load during backup copy job will be less than it would be to an empty repository.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15087
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Seeding offsite backup files for a Backup Copy Job

Veeam Logoby smassey » Mon Aug 26, 2013 11:52 am

Foggy,

That would be great if I had an Enterprise Plus license. :D

I was able to confirm that the procedure on the last page worked, and I was able to use the backups at my remote site to seed a backup copy job and then switch the job so that it updated from one at my primary site.
smassey
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:28 pm

Re: Seeding offsite backup files for a Backup Copy Job

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Aug 26, 2013 11:56 am

Thanks for confirming that, much appreciated!
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15087
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Seeding offsite backup files for a Backup Copy Job

Veeam Logoby danielchung » Thu Aug 29, 2013 3:04 am

Currently I have the same setup which is a local backup job and a remote backup job. In remote repository, there is a number of full backup files and chains of incremental backup files. Now I'd like to replace the remote backup job with backup copy job. Knowing that I can make use of the existing backup at remote repository as seed for backup copy job, but here I know that I must use a single vbk file instead of a chain of backup files.

We have slow WAN, so would like avoid any big transfer over it. My question is what is the trick to "transform" my existing backup chain into a latest vbk file so that I can map it in backup copy job? I'm a bit confused with the steps mentioned in previous posts. Can someone show it again clearly?
danielchung
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 3:50 am
Full Name: Daniel Chung

Re: Seeding offsite backup files for a Backup Copy Job

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Aug 29, 2013 7:16 am

You should be using the following procedure, outlined above:
smassey wrote:1. Create a backup copy job at the remote site using one of the jobs I already have stored at that site.
2. Run the sync for that site
3. Create a new backup job at my local site.
4. Map the new backup at my local site to the full backup that I just created at my remote site.


If you need further clarification, feel free to ask.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15087
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Seeding offsite backup files for a Backup Copy Job

Veeam Logoby danielchung » Thu Aug 29, 2013 8:52 am

foggy,

Finally I re-created a new vbk file from my existing backup chains. Then in the backup copy job, I changed to use my local backup job as source. However, the backup copy job always return status "Restore point is located in backup file with different block size" and stopped. Searched around here and found this topic. Based on what you've mentioned there, I have to re-create the backup file from scratch with the backup job. Does it mean that make use of existing backup file in backup copy job in my case will not work?

In the local backup job, I've tried to change the storage optimization to "WAN target" to match the same setting in the remote backup job, then run the local backup job once but doesn't help. :(
danielchung
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 3:50 am
Full Name: Daniel Chung

Re: Seeding offsite backup files for a Backup Copy Job

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Aug 29, 2013 9:14 am

danielchung wrote:Based on what you've mentioned there, I have to re-create the backup file from scratch with the backup job.

Actually, I haven't stated that in the topic you're referring to. ;) You do not need to re-create the backup, you just need to create the new backup copy job and add VMs from the backup job. Have you tried that?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15087
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Seeding offsite backup files for a Backup Copy Job

Veeam Logoby danielchung » Thu Aug 29, 2013 9:39 am

Yes I did delete and create a new backup copy job, select backup job as source and map previously created backup, but still giving me the same message.
danielchung
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 3:50 am
Full Name: Daniel Chung

Re: Seeding offsite backup files for a Backup Copy Job

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Aug 29, 2013 10:57 am

The new block size will be applied after new full backup takes place. So, you might want to run an active full backup and see whether it helps or not. Otherwise, you can clone/recreate a local backup job, change block size settings, then, perform initial run and use it a source for backup copy job. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13558
Liked: 1006 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

[MERGED] : Backup Copy seed procedure

Veeam Logoby RobPerry88 » Fri Oct 25, 2013 8:45 am

Hi,

I'm trying to get a Backup Copy job to use a pre-seeded Repository, searching is only giving lots hits for the Backup part of Veeam non for the Backup Copy and I want to ensure what I'm attempting is supported.

Steps Taken

Backup Copy job setup to copy a Backup job to a NAS over a local connection
Once the seed has completed the NAS is taken Offsite
The Repository has to be removed and then added back to Veeam (I can't edit the IP)
I recreate the Backup copy job to use the same folder on the NAS with the pre-existing backups.

It then seemingly fails to recognize the seed and wants to do a full initial seed again.

Is what I'm trying to achieve supported or am I going about it the wrong way.

Thanks,

Rob
RobPerry88
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 1:30 pm
Full Name: Rob Perry

Re: Seeding offsite backup files for a Backup Copy Job

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Oct 25, 2013 8:50 am

Hi, Rob, your post has been merged into existing discussion regarding backup copy job seeding. Kindly, take a look at the answers provided above, and ask for additional clarification, if required.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13558
Liked: 1006 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

[MERGED] BACKUP COPY JOBS Seed offsite via usb

Veeam Logoby ober72 » Wed May 07, 2014 11:41 pm

Hi Folks,

I have read the documentation but would appreciate it if you can confirm that I am doing this right since I will only get one shot before I send the USB crosscountry ;)

I created local backups and paused them just in case after first full (this pause might not be needed if not please tell me), then I created a new temp repository on a usb drive. I am running Backup copy jobs to the USB drive until I get one full backup (here is where I think it means to only create one full backup so that you can later map to it). I then temporarily disable the backup copy jobs.

Then I will disconnect the usb ship it off to the DR location copy the jobs over to the new repository. I will then connect with a vpn create the new repository while ticking import backups. I will then create wan accellerators both locally and remotely. Then I will go back to the Backup copy jobs and map them to the new repository, they then should in B&R appear under disk and not imported backups. At this point I change the target to the new repository. I then re-enable the backup copy jobs and they can do their first tranfer.

Please correct me if I am wrong anywhere. Also when I disconnect the USB will Veeam go bananas because it can't see a repository?

thanks

a newbie to Veeeam
Geoff Burke
VMCE V9
ober72
Service Provider
 
Posts: 284
Liked: 39 times
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:10 pm
Location: CANADA
Full Name: Geoff Burke

Re: [MERGED] BACKUP COPY JOBS Seed offsite via usb

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu May 08, 2014 8:33 am

Hello Geoff, welcome to the Veeam Community Forums. Please find the step by step backup copy seeding procedure in the thread above.

ober72 wrote:Also when I disconnect the USB will Veeam go bananas because it can't see a repository?

No, you can safely remove the media if the jobs targeted to it are disabled (otherwise they will fail).
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15087
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Seeding offsite backup files for a Backup Copy Job

Veeam Logoby mvank » Tue May 20, 2014 2:46 pm

Hi,

I am also in the progress of using Backup Copy Job, with the seeding options, but had also some isuses.
As i assumed a copy of the latest synthetic full and move the copy to a target location (by portable media), but nog Backup was found doing a Repository Rescan, until i also moved the .vmb file.
Now the Backup file is automatically imported, but still cannot be mapped. As i read that a active full must be performed, and this files must be transfered to the target location (will be tested tonigh).

but i am investigating to change the stragetie from Incremental-Synthetic full to Reverse Incremental, will the Backup Copy still work?
as our Synthentic full takes a very long time to complete. I didn't read in this post, that someone is using Backup Copy Job icm with Reverse-Increment backups.

Regards,
Michel
mvank
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 11:34 am
Full Name: Michel van Kuilenburg

Re: Seeding offsite backup files for a Backup Copy Job

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue May 20, 2014 3:47 pm

mvank wrote:As i assumed a copy of the latest synthetic full and move the copy to a target location (by portable media), but nog Backup was found doing a Repository Rescan, until i also moved the .vmb file.

Correct, VBM file is required for rescan procedure to import the corresponding backup files.

mvank wrote:Now the Backup file is automatically imported, but still cannot be mapped. As i read that a active full must be performed, and this files must be transfered to the target location (will be tested tonigh).

Correct, backup copy job can be mapped to a single full backup file only.

mvank wrote:but i am investigating to change the stragetie from Incremental-Synthetic full to Reverse Incremental, will the Backup Copy still work?

It doesn't matter what backup mode is used by the source backup job, since backup copy job synthetically creates required restore points in target location using VM data in source backup repositories.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15087
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

PreviousNext

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Feedfetcher and 29 guests