Set FQDN for outgoing e-mail

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Set FQDN for outgoing e-mail

Veeam Logoby insel » Wed Jul 02, 2014 10:04 am

Hello.

How can i set a fully qualified domain name ("backup.example.com" instead of "backup") for outgoing e-mail notifications? I have not found an option for doing this.

I tried to set a FQDN on the windows machine, but mail is still send out without FQDN. Because of that our mail server complains: "5.5.2 <VeeamBackup>: Helo command rejected: need fully-qualified hostname".

I use Veeam 7.0.0.690 on Windows 8.

Thanks for any hint,
Sebastian
insel
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2014 9:38 am
Full Name: Sebastian Inacker

Re: Set FQDN for outgoing e-mail

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Jul 02, 2014 10:29 am

Sebastian,

Not sure there is a way to change that, as Veeam backup server might not be joined to the domain, thus only hostname is used. Let me check if Veeam ONE can send backup email notification in the way you need or not.

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

[Feature request] Seting FQDN hostname in notifications

Veeam Logoby MichalJ » Mon May 09, 2016 7:49 am

Hello!

I have a problem sending e-mail notifications from Veeam Backup & Replication. Our mail server is sending this kind of error:
Code: Select all
Helo command rejected: need fully-qualified hostname (System.Net.Mail.SmtpException)

As you can see, our mail server requires FQDN hostname. In Windows I can only set simple hostname without dots (like "Veeam") and then add a domain name (like "company.com"). Entire PC name is correct ("Veeam.company.com") and would meet mail server requirements, but Veeam is only sending a simple Windows hostname "Veeam" in e-mail notification. I would like to request a feature to customize hostname sent by Veeam software and force sending FQDN hostname.

Thanks!
MichalJ
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 7:25 am
Full Name: Michal J.

Re: Set FQDN for outgoing e-mail

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon May 09, 2016 9:06 am

Hello Michal and welcome to the forums.
Thanks for the feedback!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 395 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Set FQDN for outgoing e-mail

Veeam Logoby dahdco » Wed Sep 14, 2016 2:20 pm

We essential have the same issue. We don't outright require the HELO to have FQDN but if it doesn't it's treated as suspect and if pretty much any email gets sent through the host is blacklisted automatically. It would be great to be able to have the option to force it to use FQDN.
dahdco
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 2:31 pm
Full Name: Doug Heckman


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 27 guests