Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
johnmb
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 12, 2012 10:34 pm
Full Name: John Bennett
Contact:

Setting up an off-site backup

Post by johnmb » Jun 13, 2012 12:18 am

Running vSphere V5/vCenter server V5/Veeam Backup & Replication V5.0.2.230.
Currently running separate backups to 2xNAS devices locally.
We intend to move 1 of the NAS to a remote site and am therefore looking for the info for how to setup/configure this remote backup over DSL. Have only been able to find fairly general info on this...
Could somebody point me at the correct doco?

Thanks, John.

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5734
Liked: 1625 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Setting up an off-site backup

Post by dellock6 » Jun 13, 2012 8:05 am

Hi John,
I would suggest you to first upgrade to v6, the distributed architecture made by proxies and repository will greatly enhance your design and help you in doing backup over wan way better.

Luca.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22993
Liked: 1556 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Setting up an off-site backup

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jun 13, 2012 12:10 pm

Yes, I would also recommend to upgrade to our latest version available (6.1). Once you do that, just create a remote repository on any Windows/Linux box connected locally to your NAS device and configure your backup job to use this repository.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], foggy and 44 guests