Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
mega_IT
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 10, 2009 10:21 pm
Full Name: Tyler Ness
Contact:

Should it be this slow?

Post by mega_IT » Sep 01, 2010 2:03 pm

Veeam completely destroys the server have it installed on. Even if one job is running, the server slows to a crawl and can hardly be used until the job finishes. This makes it really hard to look at job logs, or fix issues while it is running (which is almost 18 hours).

Details:
Veeam 4.1.1 (64 bit)
Two dual-core AMD opteron Processors (2210 - 1.8ghz)
8GB Ram
Windows Server 2003 64-bit server

Nothing else is running on it and the antivirus autoprotect is disabled.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22777
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Should it be this slow?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Sep 01, 2010 2:10 pm

Hello Tyler,

It seems like your machine with Veeam Backup server installed is starving on CPU resources. Please try to use less compression ratio for your job, that should give you less stress your CPU resources and improve the job performance.

Thank you!

mega_IT
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 10, 2009 10:21 pm
Full Name: Tyler Ness
Contact:

Re: Should it be this slow?

Post by mega_IT » Sep 01, 2010 2:17 pm

Right now it is set to 'optimal' for all jobs by default. We will try to set them for 'low' and see how it works out.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24473
Liked: 3413 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Should it be this slow?

Post by Gostev » Sep 01, 2010 5:34 pm

Dual-proc dual-core sounds like pretty powerful configuration, so something is definitely wrong here, and I am not sure if Veeam compression is causing the issue here. I would check out Task Manager to see what is loading the machine so much when the job is running.

Exrace
Influencer
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: May 21, 2009 11:39 am
Full Name: Exrace
Contact:

Re: Should it be this slow?

Post by Exrace » Sep 02, 2010 10:41 am

Do you have a virus program running on this setup?
You can use sysinternals process explorer to see what is using all the cpu.

mega_IT
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 10, 2009 10:21 pm
Full Name: Tyler Ness
Contact:

Re: Should it be this slow?

Post by mega_IT » Sep 02, 2010 1:53 pm

It is running a bit better, but still dogging down. Physical memory usage is currently at 98%.

Screencap from ProcExp:
Image

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22777
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Should it be this slow?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Sep 02, 2010 2:14 pm

Tyler,

As far as I correctly see it from the screenshot provided, your Veeam agent consumes only 30% of total CPU. So could you please try disabling all antivirus processes as a part of further troubleshooting step to be sure it doesn't affect Veeam agents while the job is running.

mega_IT
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 10, 2009 10:21 pm
Full Name: Tyler Ness
Contact:

Re: Should it be this slow?

Post by mega_IT » Sep 02, 2010 2:24 pm

This was happening before antivirus was installed. Veeam now just stopped the one job that was running and the physical memory usage is back down to 16% used. In addition, real-time scanning is disabled on the server.

Image

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22777
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Should it be this slow?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Sep 02, 2010 10:18 pm

I guess this is it, running many concurrent backup jobs may put a heavy stess on the VM's CPU resources, to avoid that I would recommend either installing another Veeam backup server (in a VM) or running the jobs consequentially.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests