Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
pauliem
Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Oct 28, 2010 11:31 am
Contact:

Simple Veeam Setup Question

Post by pauliem » Feb 11, 2012 3:12 pm

I have two servers, exactly the same configuration:

24Gb Ram
2 x Quad Core Xeon
4 x 15k SAS Raid 10
4 x 7200 RPM Sata Raid 10
EXSI 5 installed to internal USB

Currently everything is running on server A, Server B has only just be installed. There are 10 Linux VMs running on Server A and one Windows 2003 VM running Veeam.

I want to split the load of the VMs to run equally accross each machine.

I know that I can easily replicate everything running on Server A to Server B and failover to B in the instance of a failure. But how I acheive this if server A is down and I no longer have access to the VM running Veeam.

I was under the impression that it is not possible to replicate the VM running Veeam.

As I intend to move 5 of the 10 VMs running to Server B, I will have the same problem in reverse.

Am I missing something simple?

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5732
Liked: 1622 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Simple Veeam Setup Question

Post by dellock6 » Feb 11, 2012 5:03 pm

Hi,
if you use replica jobs, you will end up having virtual machines stored in the VMFS datastores and registered in the ESXi. So you will be able to power up the failover VMs directly from vSphere client if anything will go wrong, even if Veeam Backup Server is not available.

Luca.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 17 guests