Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
robdennis
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 16, 2011 8:01 pm
Full Name: Rob Dennis
Contact:

SNMP Traps with no IP address

Post by robdennis » Jun 16, 2011 8:11 pm

I have two Veeam installations that I am trying to configure to notify our Nagios system. One is working ok, but for some reason the other is sending traps with a host IP address of 0.0.0.0. I can't find anything wrong in the setup, and don't know where the system would be looking to determine its IP address. Has anyone seen this problem before or have any idea as to where I should look to correct this problem.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22777
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: SNMP Traps with no IP address

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jun 16, 2011 9:07 pm

Can you try any other SNMP receiver to see if you have the same problem?

robdennis
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 16, 2011 8:01 pm
Full Name: Rob Dennis
Contact:

[MERGED] SNMP traps missing LAN ip address

Post by robdennis » Apr 26, 2013 12:42 pm

I have three separate installations of B/R 6.5, two of them send SNMP traps correctly, but one of them does not supply the machine's IP address. It leaves the field blank with just zeros, so when I receive the trap, the system uses the WAN IP address of the senders network. The machine has a single static private IP address, just like the machines that are working properly. Below are examples of the two traps captured using Wireshark on the machines running Veeam.
The machine having the problem is running Windows Server 2008. I know that Veeam generates its own traps without using the Microsoft SNMP service, but I can't find where it would be getting (or not getting) the address from. Does anyone have any ideas what would be causing this?

Code: Select all

Simple Network Management Protocol
    version: version-1 (0)
    community: ********
    data: trap (4)
        trap
            enterprise: 1.3.6.1.4.1.31023.1.1.1 (iso.3.6.1.4.1.31023.1.1.1)
            agent-addr: 0.0.0.0 (0.0.0.0)
            generic-trap: enterpriseSpecific (6)
            specific-trap: 1
            time-stamp: 430012
            variable-bindings: 4 items

Code: Select all

Simple Network Management Protocol
    version: version-1 (0)
    community: ********
    data: trap (4)
        trap
            enterprise: 1.3.6.1.4.1.31023.1.1.1 (iso.3.6.1.4.1.31023.1.1.1)
            agent-addr: 192.168.0.23 (192.168.0.23)
            generic-trap: enterpriseSpecific (6)
            specific-trap: 1
            time-stamp: 6320593
            variable-bindings: 4 items

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22777
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: SNMP Traps with no IP address

Post by Vitaliy S. » Apr 27, 2013 12:54 pm

robdennis wrote:It leaves the field blank with just zeros, so when I receive the trap, the system uses the WAN IP address of the senders network. The machine has a single static private IP address, just like the machines that are working properly.
What about other two Veeam B&R installations? Do you have a similar network setup in all three cases? Did you deploy Veeam B&R (the one that has problems) into a VM?

robdennis
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 16, 2011 8:01 pm
Full Name: Rob Dennis
Contact:

Re: SNMP Traps with no IP address

Post by robdennis » Apr 28, 2013 8:10 pm

The networks are all similar, but I am doing the captures on the machines running B/R so the network hasn't really come into play yet. They are all VMs. The ones that are working (now 3 separate installations) are on Win7 and WinXP machines. The one having issues is the only one running on a Win2k08 server.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18037
Liked: 1533 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: SNMP Traps with no IP address

Post by foggy » Apr 29, 2013 11:07 am

Seems to be Microsoft issue (related to specific OS's, including w2k08): http://support.microsoft.com/kb/967181.

robdennis
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 16, 2011 8:01 pm
Full Name: Rob Dennis
Contact:

Re: SNMP Traps with no IP address

Post by robdennis » Apr 30, 2013 12:37 pm 1 person likes this post

foggy wrote:Seems to be Microsoft issue (related to specific OS's, including w2k08): http://support.microsoft.com/kb/967181.
Foggy, THANK YOU!

That did fix it.
Since Veeam wasn't using the MS SNMP service (and the SNMP service was working correctly), I wasn't looking for a MS solution.
Applied the hotfix, rebooted, and the traps are now sent correctly.

Thanks Again.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests