Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
FrancWest
Expert
Posts: 102
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Sep 17, 2017 3:20 am
Full Name: Franc
Contact:

Splashscreen sometimes topmost window

Post by FrancWest » Mar 07, 2019 2:32 pm

Hi,

after installing U4, it sometimes happens that the splashscreen is the topmost window during startup of the console. Since it takes quite some time to start the Veeam Console this is a bit annoying, since the splash screen covers other applications and windows.

Weird thing is that this doesn't always happen. Sometimes the splashscreen can be send to the background by other applications, but most of the time it on top of all other applications.

Franc.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18027
Liked: 1531 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Splashscreen sometimes topmost window

Post by foggy » Mar 07, 2019 3:48 pm

Hi Franc, if it is the topmost for the entire system, not just for the console application, and cannot be sent background, then this looks unexpected to me. Let me check if we've seen similar behavior internally.

FrancWest
Expert
Posts: 102
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Sep 17, 2017 3:20 am
Full Name: Franc
Contact:

Re: Splashscreen sometimes topmost window

Post by FrancWest » Mar 07, 2019 3:58 pm

Hi,

it's indeed topmost for the entire system. It looks like its reproducible by switching to other applications during startup of the console and then go back to the console. The splashscreen comes to the front and stays there.

btw, why does it take quite some time to launch the console? In our case it takes around 35 seconds before the console is shown, this is across our 1Gb LAN. Even locally on the Veeam server itself, it takes 35 secs.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18027
Liked: 1531 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Splashscreen sometimes topmost window

Post by foggy » Mar 07, 2019 4:19 pm

I'd let support to take a look at why is it starting so long.

FrancWest
Expert
Posts: 102
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Sep 17, 2017 3:20 am
Full Name: Franc
Contact:

Re: Splashscreen sometimes topmost window

Post by FrancWest » Mar 07, 2019 4:25 pm

Thanks, haven't opened a ticket yet, but if needed I'll do it.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18027
Liked: 1531 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Splashscreen sometimes topmost window

Post by foggy » Mar 07, 2019 4:27 pm

Yep, please do, since it is a bit too long. And two issues might be related actually.

FrancWest
Expert
Posts: 102
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Sep 17, 2017 3:20 am
Full Name: Franc
Contact:

Re: Splashscreen sometimes topmost window

Post by FrancWest » Mar 07, 2019 4:30 pm 1 person likes this post

Done, case number #03451763

averylarry
Expert
Posts: 261
Liked: 28 times
Joined: Mar 22, 2011 7:43 pm
Full Name: Ted
Contact:

Re: Splashscreen sometimes topmost window

Post by averylarry » Mar 09, 2019 3:04 pm

If you get any resolution to this, I'd like to know. Console takes 30+ seconds now now matter what. Feels like there's a 30 second timeout going on.

You can disable the splash screen hklm\software\veeam\veeam backup and replication
dword
ShowSplashScreen=0

But then, of course, there is just an awkward 30+ second nothing until the console actually loads.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24431
Liked: 3406 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Splashscreen sometimes topmost window

Post by Gostev » Mar 11, 2019 3:43 pm

Looks very much like some certificate validation issue, with the console giving up after 30 sec.

FrancWest
Expert
Posts: 102
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Sep 17, 2017 3:20 am
Full Name: Franc
Contact:

Re: Splashscreen sometimes topmost window

Post by FrancWest » Mar 11, 2019 4:08 pm

Hi,

Support also thought this and asked me to do this:

----
I can confirm it's update 4 specific known issue and this should be fixed in the next update.

For now, there are only two workarounds to deal with this issue:

1) Move the following file on Veeam server: C:\Program Files\Veeam\Backup and Replication\Backup\Veeam.Backup.PublicStoragePlugin.Ibm.dll to some other location or rename it;

Please make sure to keep this file - it is needed to ensure, that the change won't affect any jobs. If you will see any malfunction, please just return this file.

2) If the first way is not applicable, you can try to reduce timeouts on Network Retrieval tab in local policies: Local Computer Policy/Computer Configuration/Windows Settings/Security Settings/Public Key Policies/Certificate Path Validation Settings. Restart of Veeam Installer Service is required after that.
----

Unfortunately both workarounds didn't work in our case (I've set the validation timeout to 1 second). Support is investigating further.

Franc.

FrancWest
Expert
Posts: 102
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Sep 17, 2017 3:20 am
Full Name: Franc
Contact:

Re: Splashscreen sometimes topmost window

Post by FrancWest » Mar 21, 2019 1:39 pm 1 person likes this post

Short update: support is still working on the case. They have multiple reports about the slow startup. The console.log of Veeam reports this:

Code: Select all

[21.03.2019 14:26:31] <01> Info     Expanding node: 'Dell EMC Data Domain' (Dell EMC Data Domain)
[21.03.2019 14:26:31] <01> Info     Expanding node: 'HPE StoreOnce' (HPE StoreOnce)
[21.03.2019 14:26:51] <01> Info     Expanding node: 'Storage Infrastructure' (Storage Infrastructure)
[21.03.2019 14:26:51] <01> Info     Expanding node: 'Backup Proxies' (Backup Proxies)
There's seems to be a delay in loading the plugin dll's. They don't know why yet. It's not a certificate check validation issue.

FrancWest
Expert
Posts: 102
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Sep 17, 2017 3:20 am
Full Name: Franc
Contact:

Re: Splashscreen sometimes topmost window

Post by FrancWest » Apr 27, 2019 11:15 am 1 person likes this post

Hi,

Today I got an hotfix that resolves the slow startup. The issue was with resolving the host name of the veeam server when it has multiple IP addresses. After installing the hotfix and applying the neccessary regkey, startup time of the console went down from 35 to 15 seconds.

kapple
Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jun 14, 2012 7:13 pm
Full Name: Ken Applebaum
Location: Rochester, NY
Contact:

Re: Splashscreen sometimes topmost window

Post by kapple » Jun 03, 2019 7:11 pm

Is this a publicly available hotfix, or do I need to open a support ticket for this? This server does have multiple IP addresses, runs 9.5 U4a, and the splash screen may display for up to 45 seconds or so before the UI loads. It is not a real big deal, but if it can be resolved, that would be beneficial.
Thanks.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22763
Liked: 1519 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Splashscreen sometimes topmost window

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jun 03, 2019 8:05 pm

Yes, all hotfixes can only be obtained via our support team. Just reference this thread to speed up the troubleshooting process.

kapple
Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jun 14, 2012 7:13 pm
Full Name: Ken Applebaum
Location: Rochester, NY
Contact:

Re: Splashscreen sometimes topmost window

Post by kapple » Jun 04, 2019 5:42 pm

Thanks Vitaliy, I submitted a support case.

FrancWest
Expert
Posts: 102
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Sep 17, 2017 3:20 am
Full Name: Franc
Contact:

Re: Splashscreen sometimes topmost window

Post by FrancWest » Jul 09, 2019 10:28 am

Unfortunately after installing update 4b the slow start issue of the console is back again. I re-opened the case.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22763
Liked: 1519 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Splashscreen sometimes topmost window

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jul 09, 2019 11:15 am

This could happen if the hotfix was not included to this update, so, yes, re-opening a support ticket is sometimes needed.

UAnton
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 23, 2017 11:29 am
Full Name: Anton Zubkov
Contact:

[MERGED] Splash Screen

Post by UAnton » Jul 27, 2019 7:32 am

Clean the splash screen on top of all windows! This is very stupid!

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6830
Liked: 696 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Splash Screen

Post by Shestakov » Jul 28, 2019 1:35 pm

Hello Anton,
Do you mean the splash screen that appears while the application is launching? How long does it last in your case?
Thanks

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24431
Liked: 3406 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Splash Screen

Post by Gostev » Jul 28, 2019 9:06 pm

UAnton wrote:
Jul 27, 2019 7:32 am
Clean the splash screen on top of all windows! This is very stupid!
Can you clarify please?

skrause
Expert
Posts: 431
Liked: 90 times
Joined: Dec 08, 2014 2:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Krause
Contact:

Re: Splash Screen

Post by skrause » Jul 29, 2019 5:47 pm

If his issue is that same as the one I have been having (on 4a, will be updating to 4b in about an hour when my copy jobs finish):

Once you log in, the splash screen comes up on top of all other windows and if you tab to other applications it will still be in front until it goes away (which can take a couple of minutes). The only way I have found to get it to go to the background while I work in other applications/windows is to click on the splash screen itself, and then move to the other applications.
Steve Krause
Veeam Certified Architect

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24431
Liked: 3406 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Splashscreen sometimes topmost window

Post by Gostev » Jul 29, 2019 5:54 pm

Does Windows+D hide it?

FrancWest
Expert
Posts: 102
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Sep 17, 2017 3:20 am
Full Name: Franc
Contact:

Re: Splashscreen sometimes topmost window

Post by FrancWest » Jul 29, 2019 6:00 pm

I opened a case about this, #03680393, it is 'by design' and have to open a feature request for this...

Advice for now is to set a registry key to hide the splash screen entirely:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Veeam\Veeam Backup and Replication\
Name: ShowSplashScreen
Type: REG_DWORD
Value: 0 (disabled)

To apply the key restart Veeam Backup service.

skrause
Expert
Posts: 431
Liked: 90 times
Joined: Dec 08, 2014 2:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Krause
Contact:

Re: Splashscreen sometimes topmost window

Post by skrause » Jul 29, 2019 6:53 pm

Gostev wrote:
Jul 29, 2019 5:54 pm
Does Windows+D hide it?
Yes, but then it minimizes all of my windows as well.

As soon as I click on a different application window after the minimize the splash screen comes up instantly but it is then pushed behind whatever window I pulled up.

I will report the behavior of 9.5u4b in an hour or so when my update is finished.
Steve Krause
Veeam Certified Architect

FrancWest
Expert
Posts: 102
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Sep 17, 2017 3:20 am
Full Name: Franc
Contact:

Re: Splashscreen sometimes topmost window

Post by FrancWest » Jul 29, 2019 6:55 pm

9.5U4b has the same issue.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24431
Liked: 3406 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Splashscreen sometimes topmost window

Post by Gostev » Jul 30, 2019 8:46 am

OK, we will look at this and try to fix in v10.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], cac8907, eric@sip.be, gedossou, Google [Bot], lasse@itogco.dk and 61 guests