Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
nguyent
Enthusiast
Posts: 65
Liked: never
Joined: May 19, 2010 6:53 pm
Full Name: Tan Nguyen
Contact:

SQL DB to another server?

Post by nguyent »

Hi,
What is best way to move SQL veeambackup and veeambackupreport DBs to another server?
Thanks
NguyenT

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26679
Liked: 4268 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: SQL DB to another server?

Post by Gostev »

Hi, the best (and only) way to do this is to move SQL database to another server using standard procedures, and then update the registry settings for database connection on the Veeam server. Thanks.

nguyent
Enthusiast
Posts: 65
Liked: never
Joined: May 19, 2010 6:53 pm
Full Name: Tan Nguyen
Contact:

Re: SQL DB to another server?

Post by nguyent »

Gostev,
Thanks, Is there document somewhere for standard procrdures?
Nguyent

Alexey D.

Re: SQL DB to another server?

Post by Alexey D. »

Tan,

You have to stop Veeam services (Enterprise Manager's service as well), detach both databases, move MDF and LDF files to the desired server and register databases there. Then you should update these registry keys with corresponding (new) settings:

(for B&R console)

Code: Select all

HKLM\Software\VeeaM\Veeam Backup and Replication\SqlServerName
HKLM\Software\VeeaM\Veeam Backup and Replication\SqlInstanceName
HKLM\Software\VeeaM\Veeam Backup and Replication\SqlDatabaseName
(for Enterprise Manager)

Code: Select all

HKLM\Software\VeeaM\Veeam Backup Reporting\SqlServerName
HKLM\Software\VeeaM\Veeam Backup Reporting\SqlInstanceName
HKLM\Software\VeeaM\Veeam Backup Reporting\SqlDatabaseName
Then you can start services back, and everything should work fine.

nguyent
Enthusiast
Posts: 65
Liked: never
Joined: May 19, 2010 6:53 pm
Full Name: Tan Nguyen
Contact:

Re: SQL DB to another server?

Post by nguyent »

Alexey,
Thanks
Tan

nguyent
Enthusiast
Posts: 65
Liked: never
Joined: May 19, 2010 6:53 pm
Full Name: Tan Nguyen
Contact:

Re: SQL DB to another server?

Post by nguyent »

Alexey D. wrote:Tan,

You have to stop Veeam services (Enterprise Manager's service as well), detach both databases, move MDF and LDF files to the desired server and register databases there. Then you should update these registry keys with corresponding (new) settings:

(for B&R console)

Code: Select all

HKLM\Software\VeeaM\Veeam Backup and Replication\SqlServerName
HKLM\Software\VeeaM\Veeam Backup and Replication\SqlInstanceName
HKLM\Software\VeeaM\Veeam Backup and Replication\SqlDatabaseName
(for Enterprise Manager)

Code: Select all

HKLM\Software\VeeaM\Veeam Backup Reporting\SqlServerName
HKLM\Software\VeeaM\Veeam Backup Reporting\SqlInstanceName
HKLM\Software\VeeaM\Veeam Backup Reporting\SqlDatabaseName
Then you can start services back, and everything should work fine.

Alexey
I did move the DBs to another SQL and everything works fine until I am trying to upgrade to 5.0.2 230. I got error 27552. Error creating database VeeamBackupReporting server: Microsoft SQL server hcsql1 (this is old server that I did modify registry to new server hcsql). Where else can I modify it?
Thanks
Tan

Alexey D.

Re: SQL DB to another server?

Post by Alexey D. »

Tan, the error is related to Enterprise Manager's database. Are you sure you've properly set "HKLM\Software\VeeaM\Veeam Backup Reporting\SqlServerName" key? That's the only place to specify the server, please double-check it.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24243
Liked: 1859 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: SQL DB to another server?

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Also I would recommend either looking at the setup log file located in the %TEMP% folder for other references causing this error message or reach our support team as usual :wink:

nguyent
Enthusiast
Posts: 65
Liked: never
Joined: May 19, 2010 6:53 pm
Full Name: Tan Nguyen
Contact:

Re: SQL DB to another server?

Post by nguyent »

Alexey D., Vitaliy S.,
Thanks for reply. I had to delete DB and reinstalled Enterprise Manager that created new DB. However it took me to another problem that all test scripts were failing such as DNS, Domain Controller and etc. I will check with help desk.
Tan

flavor4real
Expert
Posts: 205
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Nov 22, 2010 7:57 pm
Full Name: DS
Contact:

db question

Post by flavor4real »

[merged]

Is there a way to point to a new db after you have installed and run veeam successfully? or do I have to completely uninstall Veeam and then point to the new db ?

Daveyd
Expert
Posts: 283
Liked: 11 times
Joined: May 20, 2010 4:17 pm
Full Name: Dave DeLollis
Contact:

Re: SQL DB to another server?

Post by Daveyd »

If the Veeam DB is installed locally in a named instance "Veeam" and I want to move the DB to a remote SQL server under the default SQL instance and not into a separate named instance, on the Veeam server, what would I need to change the registry settings for "SqlInstanceName" to? Just the SQL server name?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24243
Liked: 1859 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: SQL DB to another server?

Post by Vitaliy S. »

I guess it should be either blank or you will need to specify default SQL instance name - "Mssqlserver".

Daveyd
Expert
Posts: 283
Liked: 11 times
Joined: May 20, 2010 4:17 pm
Full Name: Dave DeLollis
Contact:

Re: SQL DB to another server?

Post by Daveyd »

After moving the SQL DBs to a remote server, would there be any reason to keep the embeded SQL version running on the original server?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26679
Liked: 4268 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: SQL DB to another server?

Post by Gostev »

No... uninstall it.

Daveyd
Expert
Posts: 283
Liked: 11 times
Joined: May 20, 2010 4:17 pm
Full Name: Dave DeLollis
Contact:

Re: SQL DB to another server?

Post by Daveyd » 2 people like this post

Thanks Gostev. BTW, in response to my question about moving the DB to a remote SQL server with multiple instances...You have to blank out the SqlInstanceName registry setting if you want to use the default instance. Using Mssqlserver will not allow the Veeam services to start.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 33 guests