Barker wrote:I just noticed, even though I have this job disabled and nothing from Veeam is using it currently, there is still a snapshot that is on that server labeled "VEEAM BACKUP TEMPORARY SNAPSHOT".
If Veeam isn't currently performing any backups, is it safe to delete this?
Yes, you can remove this snapshot via vSphere Client manually, if it is not removed by the job automatically.
Barker wrote:Another question...when you choose a single targeted datastore, does the snapshot for that VM still include ALL connected datastores, or just the targeted one? Would it make more sense for me to connect datastores I'm not planning on backing up with the VMware option of "Independent"? It appears that independent datastores are not included in snapshots. Because I'm only backing up 200GB, but the combined connected datastores equal 7TB, I'm wondering if maybe I'm not following best practice on this.
Correct, the snapshot is triggered for the entire VM, unless you switch disks to independent.