Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
ccc
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 29, 2010 12:08 pm
Full Name: chris
Contact:

The user account is disabled

Post by ccc » May 20, 2010 9:19 pm

hi

I try to install Veeam Backup & Replication 4.1 for VMware on WIN2003 R2 SP2, put the domain account Domain\Administrator during the setup and get this error:

The user account is disabled.

but this account is 100% not disabled.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22697
Liked: 1498 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: The user account is disabled

Post by Vitaliy S. » May 20, 2010 9:30 pm

Hello Chris,

In most cases those kind of issues are infrastructure specific, please review the link below with the same issue:

http://www.veeam.com/forums/viewtopic.p ... s+disabled

Might help! Please keep me posted how it works for you.

ccc
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 29, 2010 12:08 pm
Full Name: chris
Contact:

Re: The user account is disabled

Post by ccc » May 20, 2010 10:04 pm

I've tried this vbs script:

Code: Select all

' ****************************************************************************
' This function checks if the user account is disabled
' Requires ADSI
' ****************************************************************************
' Check out http://www.activxperts.com for more samples and components
' ****************************************************************************

Function IsAccountDisabled( strDomain, strAccount )
    Dim objUser
    Set objUser = GetObject("WinNT://" & strDomain & "/" & strAccount & ",user")
    IsAccountDisabled = objUser.AccountDisabled
End Function 


' ****************************************************************************
' Main
' ****************************************************************************
Dim strUser, strDomain
Do
   strUsr = inputbox("Please enter the user account name", "Input")
loop until strUsr <> ""

' Request the domain name for this user
do
   strDom = inputbox("Please enter the domain for this account.", "Input")
loop until strDom <> ""


If( IsAccountDisabled( strDom, strUsr ) = True ) Then
    WScript.Echo "Account disabled"
Else
    WScript.Echo "Account enabled"
End If
Administrator account is enabled!

BTW The server is logged in into domain as Administrator.
I can use any other account, but not the Administrator.
What's wrong?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22697
Liked: 1498 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: The user account is disabled

Post by Vitaliy S. » May 21, 2010 9:32 am

That's weird. In all the cases I've seen, the issue was related to different security restrictions/polices in the Domain (for example, restrictions to run as service for the specified account). So If you would like to troubleshoot it further please contact our support team providing the setup log which can be found at %temp% folder. That should give us more technical details on the issue.

Thanks!

redboot
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: The user account is disabled

Post by redboot » Jun 26, 2010 5:00 pm

I encountered this error (installing Veeam Backup & Rep on Windows Server 2003 x86).
I found that, although I was using the domain admin acct, the domain admin was not a local administrator.
So, I went to cmd and used CONTROL USERPASSWORDS2 (GUI is go to users). Saw Administrator listed only for Domain name of the machine. Add user called Adminstrator with domain name of the domain. Gave this user admin rights.
You will be required to logout / login for this change to take effect.
Restarted install and all went smoothly.

Wad4iPod
Enthusiast
Posts: 78
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 04, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: The user account is disabled

Post by Wad4iPod » Sep 30, 2010 10:56 pm

Local or Ad GPO policy doesn't grant domain admin-or whatever you're using- log on as service. Enable the account in GPO and :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests