Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Locked
JustinCredible
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mar 01, 2012 11:54 pm
Full Name: Justin D
Contact:

Trying to back up Veeam

Post by JustinCredible » Mar 05, 2012 2:44 am

Hello,
I have installed Veeam on one of our VMs and it is working great. I was wondering then how do I back up the VM that has Veeam installed on it? I have been excluding it from the job because I wasn't sure if it worked, but I just tried it now and it said it failed because it couldn't find a suitable proxy. The Veeam install itself has a proxy, so it should have worked. Or do I need a second proxy installed on a second VM on the same physical server, to be able to back up the first proxy? I read in the FAQ the following:

Q: Can the proxy server backup itself?
A: Yes, the proxy server can backup itself and any other Veeam Backup & Replication component.\\\

So it seems it should just work but I am getting an error.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22971
Liked: 1555 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Trying to back up Veeam

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 05, 2012 7:54 am

You should be able to backup Veeam backup server itself in network mode and "application aware image processing" disabled. Thanks!

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24787
Liked: 3518 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Trying to back up Veeam

Post by Gostev » Mar 05, 2012 10:52 am

Backup proxy server, and Veeam backup management server are different components - so the FAQ above does not really apply here. There are plenty of existings topics on backing up actual Veeam server, just use search and continue posting there if needed - although Vitaly had already posted the summary above. This thread will be locked as duplicate. Thanks!

marius roma
Expert
Posts: 452
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Feb 01, 2012 12:04 pm
Full Name: Mario
Contact:

Is it possible to backup the Veeam Server itself?

Post by marius roma » Jun 12, 2012 12:34 pm

[merged]

I feel confused because in many topics I read that it is possible to backup the Veeam Backup server itself while in other sites (including competitors' sites) I read that the Veeam Backup server cannot backup itself.
So, let me ask my question: given a Veeam BR 6.x server running as a VM in a vSphere 5.x infrastructure, what is the simplest (and safe) way to backup the server itself?
Regards
marius

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 28 guests