Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
mtk
Lurker
Liked: never

Trying to find the correct rollback snapshot.

Post by mtk »

Hi guys,

as I am new to this forum, let me first start with a short introduction and a description of the circumstances I am working under, regarding Veeam.
My name is Marcel and I work at a Germany machinery factory site in a IT dept. consisting of 5 colleagues for 400 PC-clients.
It is one of those IT depts. where we are mostly kind of alrounders, in a "everybody does everything as best as he can"-way, so to say. Things that are too involved for us are handled by third party consultants.
All this leads to pretty bad documentation on all systems/projects/whatnot.

Right now I am trying to cover all the topics my colleage usually does, while he is on vacation. I am by no means a Veeam expert, so please excuse if I misuse the one or the other term.

[tl,dr]
Puh, long introduction, thankfully my question is really short:
We have some files in one of our VMs (VMs are handled with vSphere on ESXi hosts), that got corrupted. That VM is one of our main fileservers runnning on Windows Server 2008 R2.
The corrupted files where created at the end of last-year. Now when my coworkers tried opening them (which happens raarely as in 2-3 times a year), they noticed, that the files arecorrupt. In fact those files went from >1 GB down to 265KB.
Nobody knows how or more important when the files got corrupted. So my question is: How can I list the different versions of the file, to find the exact date, when the data was still intact? Most guides I looked at explain everything very detailed up to a point where they simply say "Choose your desired Snapshot". I however don't know, which is my

Our backup is configured as follows: Daily reverse incremental backups to disk. Every weekend those disks are mirrored onto tape (LTO with barcodes).