Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
AndyR
Enthusiast
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: Andy Roberts

Unable to find mapping target VM

Post by AndyR »

Hey,

Am in the process of setting up two new DCs (Prod & DR) and we have gone with Veeam for backup & replication. In the past I've only used Veeam for backups so this is my first time doing replication. I've hit a bit of a snag with one VM though.

We've got 8 VMs at present in PROD and because we only have a 2mb link to DR, I copied to backups from PROD over a weekend to DR then I restored these to DR. All good. I then setup the replication job in PROD telling it to map to existing VMs etc and kicked the job off. 7 of 8 VMs completed fine, with the other VM failing saying
26/09/2012 11:09:28 PM :: Error: Client error: Failed to open VDDK disk [[VMFS003_RAID5_VM2] vm01/vm01-000002.vmdk] ( is read-only mode - [false] )
Failed to open VMDK.
Logon attempt with parameters [VC/ESX: [vm01.mydomain.com];Port: 443;Login: [****];VMX Spec: [moref=vm-40];Snapshot mor: [snapshot-87];Transports: [nbd];Read Only: [false]] failed because of the following errors:
Failed to replicate content of the disk [vddk://<vddkConnSpec><viConn name="vm01.mydomain.com"
Now I think this was caused because during the replication, a scheduled backup started in both PROD and DR for this VM so I guess this was the cause. Anyway, today I went into the replicas area and deleted from disk this VM. I then restored it again in DR and reran the replication job. All my VMs again complete except this one which now gives me:-
27/09/2012 8:15:01 AM :: Discovering replica VM Error: Unable to find mapping target VM 'vm01', ref 'vm-40'
27/09/2012 8:15:09 AM :: Error: Unable to find mapping target VM 'vm01', ref 'vm-40'
I had re-pointed it to the VM in DR for the mapping, but I noticed my replica backup repository there is no vm-40 folder. Any idea how I get this VM to replicate correctly as part of this job?

Thanks,

Andy
foggy
Veeam Software