Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Davd
Enthusiast
Posts: 44
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Mar 19, 2010 12:36 pm
Full Name: David Hirsman
Contact:

Re: [upgrade issue] v6 initial incremental massive

Post by Davd » Dec 01, 2011 6:20 pm

I recieved a new Veeam.Backup.Core.dll from Veeam support with instruction to replace the one that is in Veeam folder. After that I launched 2 backup jobs and both worked fine. VIB files are now "normal" size again and the backup speed is as expected. So it looks like R&D found a solution.

Thanks Veeam for addressing the issue and providing a solution that quickly :)

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24022
Liked: 3257 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [upgrade issue] v6 initial incremental massive

Post by Gostev » Dec 01, 2011 7:27 pm

David - I thought our support asked you not to post about this on the forum just yet ;) and there was a good reason for that - the current DLL was not built with the "release" configuration, so we would still need to go through the normal build process and test the final DLL before we can start distributing it to everyone who has the support cases open.

Good to hear that it helps though!

Davd
Enthusiast
Posts: 44
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Mar 19, 2010 12:36 pm
Full Name: David Hirsman
Contact:

Re: [upgrade issue] v6 initial incremental massive

Post by Davd » Dec 01, 2011 7:32 pm

sorry...my misstake. I totally missed that part in the email... :|

I was so focused on the solution part of the email that I didn notice just that

aaron_228
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 30, 2011 10:21 pm
Full Name: aaron norris
Contact:

Re: [upgrade issue] v6 initial incremental massive

Post by aaron_228 » Dec 01, 2011 8:37 pm

At least it's a known problem and people don't think it's just them now

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24022
Liked: 3257 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [upgrade issue] v6 initial incremental massive

Post by Gostev » Dec 01, 2011 8:42 pm

There is sticky topic posted on this forum that I posted earlier today, it lists all known v6 issues including this one... people just need to read stickies ;)

aaron_228
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 30, 2011 10:21 pm
Full Name: aaron norris
Contact:

Re: [upgrade issue] v6 initial incremental massive

Post by aaron_228 » Dec 01, 2011 10:33 pm

Gostev wrote:There is sticky topic posted on this forum that I posted earlier today, it lists all known v6 issues including this one... people just need to read stickies ;)
Oops, I guess i'm kinda just trained to skip past those from other forums.

Do you guys need more technical cases/logs of the SAN fail over to NDB thing? I'm having it as well, but if it's already known I'm not sure if I should bother?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24022
Liked: 3257 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [upgrade issue] v6 initial incremental massive

Post by Gostev » Dec 01, 2011 10:49 pm

Aaron, logs definitely would not hurt - last time I checked with R&D few hours ago, the research was still "in process". We would also love to have a list of customers available in support who are ready to validate the fix (we could not reproduce this issue on our own SAN storage devices), so if you open the support case, our support will track you for that purpose as well. Thanks for your willingness to help!

jbeunel
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 02, 2010 7:30 pm
Full Name: jerome Beunel
Contact:

problem of speed with V6

Post by jbeunel » Dec 02, 2011 2:21 pm

[merged]

Hello

I just upgrade my veeam V5 to veeam backup V6 and i have a problem.
My job run using network mode , i use the last build of vmware ESXi 4.1, my network speed is 1Gb/s.
With version V5 i was able to run my jobs at 700MB 800MB/s and most of my backup finish in 2 or 3 minutes.
With version V6 i run only one job on my veeam backup server and the speed is 30MB - 50MB max and it take 1hour.
I don't understand what's happend.The cpu is use at 20% , the ram is ok and i notice that the network is now use at the maximum(looks better than V5), the current speed of used bandwidth 850Mb/s for a 1Gb/s network.(With V5 it use only 300Ms/s but it's was 20X faster than V6)

Architecture:
SITE A-------1Gb/s----------------SITE B
VM1 Veem backup backuping VM1

Is there new setings to do with V6 or new architecture?
Can you help please?
With this speed all my backup will crash tonight.


Regards

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24022
Liked: 3257 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [upgrade issue] v6 initial incremental massive

Post by Gostev » Dec 02, 2011 2:33 pm

Jerome, you are seeing full backup here. Your next incremental run should be "normal", and much faster than in v5. See above for more details. Thanks.

averylarry
Expert
Posts: 261
Liked: 28 times
Joined: Mar 22, 2011 7:43 pm
Full Name: Ted
Contact:

Re: [upgrade issue] v6 initial incremental massive

Post by averylarry » Dec 02, 2011 10:35 pm

It does seem like a synthetic roll-up gets it back to a single large .vbk with normal sized .vrb files.

Unfortunately, I messed up one of my entire backup chains trying to work on it myself while waiting for tech support to call back.

Dunno what to do with "12/2/2011 4:27:20 PM :: TextFromTar failed
Client error: There is no FIB [summary.xml] in the specified restore point.
Failed to restore file from local backup. VFS link: [summary.xml]. Target file: [MemFs://Tar2Text]. CHMOD mask: [32176204]."

srebucci
Enthusiast
Posts: 34
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Apr 05, 2011 1:37 pm
Full Name: vmware
Contact:

Re: v6 initial incremental massive

Post by srebucci » Dec 12, 2011 9:47 am

Hi, as I could read from the post "[BEFORE YOU UPGRADE] Summary of known v6 issues " the patch to fix my problem is ready. I've asked the support for it (case 5158319) but they say it isn't ready yet. So where's the truth? Without it I cannot upgrade and I need v. 6 to start the Disaster Recovery project using the enhanced replication features that I'm waiting since v5 release.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24022
Liked: 3257 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: v6 initial incremental massive

Post by Gostev » Dec 12, 2011 1:20 pm

Patch was ready, but I am guessing coffee for our support was not ;)

srebucci
Enthusiast
Posts: 34
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Apr 05, 2011 1:37 pm
Full Name: vmware
Contact:

Re: v6 initial incremental massive

Post by srebucci » Dec 12, 2011 1:33 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi Gostev,
the support just send me the FTP for the patch. This afternoon will be dedicated to install and test the new release. As soon I'll get news results, I will share them with the community.

srebucci
Enthusiast
Posts: 34
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Apr 05, 2011 1:37 pm
Full Name: vmware
Contact:

Re: v6 initial incremental massive

Post by srebucci » Dec 12, 2011 3:59 pm

After the upgrade, it works like a charm!

Thank you for the support!

LCMMusil
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: May 11, 2011 4:40 pm
Full Name: Michael Musil
Contact:

Re: v6 initial incremental massive

Post by LCMMusil » Dec 15, 2011 4:00 am

Do these massive incremental backup issues apply for reverse-incremental backups as well? (Issue #3 on the BEFORE-YOU-UPGRADE Summary) I asked support about this today, and they seemed to think that reverse incremental backups would not be affected after the upgrade to 6 from 5.02.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Karinne and 23 guests