Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
mcwill
Enthusiast
Posts: 64
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jan 16, 2010 9:47 am
Full Name: Iain McWilliams
Contact:

V8 - Mapping Back Copy error

Post by mcwill » Nov 10, 2014 11:53 am

"Unable to map backup: Backup Copy supports forward incremental backup chains only."

I'm not sure if the above is a fault or behaving as intended so would welcome some advice, I've set up a new V8 server, pointed it to the existing backup repositories and rescanned these to import the existing chains.

I have successfully mapped new backup jobs onto the backup chains, but when attempting to so the same to the "Backup Copy" chains we get the above error. Searching the forums or KB only appears to pick up backup copy seeding articles.

Should we be able to map existing "Backup Copy" chains onto the new copy jobs?

Thanks,
Iain

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16710
Liked: 1396 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: V8 - Mapping Back Copy error

Post by veremin » Nov 10, 2014 12:00 pm

Are you trying to backup copy job to a chain created by a reversed incremental backup job, by any chance? Thanks.

mcwill
Enthusiast
Posts: 64
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jan 16, 2010 9:47 am
Full Name: Iain McWilliams
Contact:

Re: V8 - Mapping Back Copy error

Post by mcwill » Nov 10, 2014 12:04 pm

Yes, under V7 we used Reversed Incremental for all our backups.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16710
Liked: 1396 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: V8 - Mapping Back Copy error

Post by veremin » Nov 10, 2014 12:10 pm

Then, the described behavior is expected. You can map backup copy job to forward incremental backup chains only. Thanks.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18037
Liked: 1533 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: V8 - Mapping Back Copy error

Post by foggy » Nov 10, 2014 12:13 pm

You can map to existing backups created by your previous backup copy jobs though (if you have those).

mcwill
Enthusiast
Posts: 64
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jan 16, 2010 9:47 am
Full Name: Iain McWilliams
Contact:

Re: V8 - Mapping Back Copy error

Post by mcwill » Nov 10, 2014 12:19 pm

Maybe I was unclear or didn't understand the question.

The chain I am attempting to map onto the "Backup Copy" job is an existing Forward Incremental "Backup Copy" chain. The Copy chain was produced on V7 as a copy job against a Reverse Incremental Backup job.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18037
Liked: 1533 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: V8 - Mapping Back Copy error

Post by foggy » Nov 10, 2014 12:23 pm

Do you have GFS retention enabled on this job?

mcwill
Enthusiast
Posts: 64
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jan 16, 2010 9:47 am
Full Name: Iain McWilliams
Contact:

Re: V8 - Mapping Back Copy error

Post by mcwill » Nov 10, 2014 12:26 pm

Yes, the repository scan has successfully identified W,M,Q,Y against a number of the restore points if I look at the Disk (Imported) properties.

mcwill
Enthusiast
Posts: 64
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jan 16, 2010 9:47 am
Full Name: Iain McWilliams
Contact:

Re: V8 - Mapping Back Copy error

Post by mcwill » Nov 10, 2014 12:40 pm

Support case: 00674524

I've raised the above case as from fogy's response I should be able to map existing Backup Copy chains to a new Backup Copy job.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18037
Liked: 1533 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: V8 - Mapping Back Copy error

Post by foggy » Nov 10, 2014 2:02 pm

We've just checked this internally and GFS seems to be the issue here. It somehow affects the regular chain, making mapping impossible. It will be addressed in one of the future updates. Thanks for letting us know!

For now there's a kind of workaround to create a separate backup copy job with existing backup copy chain as a source to get a brand new full backup from it. This full then can be used to map your normal backup copy job to it (you would need to control old backups retention manually though).

mcwill
Enthusiast
Posts: 64
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jan 16, 2010 9:47 am
Full Name: Iain McWilliams
Contact:

Re: V8 - Mapping Back Copy error

Post by mcwill » Nov 10, 2014 3:46 pm

Creating a new Backup Copy chain isn't a problem, our Backup Chains have mapped successfully so we can start the Backup Copy chains anew. The problem is disk space on the Backup Copy repository, we can't afford the luxury of keeping the old Copy chains in full for the next 12 months as the new chains grow. So we will need to prune the old chains on a regular basis to manage the space occupied.

Is there an easier process to do this than deleting the old chain from the Veeam server, working out which backups are excess to the GFS scheme and deleting them before rescanning the repository?

Thanks,
Iain

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18037
Liked: 1533 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: V8 - Mapping Back Copy error

Post by foggy » Nov 10, 2014 3:52 pm

I cannot think of any other way except scripting the entire process.

mcwill
Enthusiast
Posts: 64
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jan 16, 2010 9:47 am
Full Name: Iain McWilliams
Contact:

Re: V8 - Mapping Back Copy error

Post by mcwill » Nov 10, 2014 5:29 pm

I'll wait for support to advise me, as scripting a GFS retention script which compares 2 copy chains is beyond my meagre talents.

mcwill
Enthusiast
Posts: 64
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jan 16, 2010 9:47 am
Full Name: Iain McWilliams
Contact:

[MERGED] Feature Request: Move Backup Copy chain to new Veea

Post by mcwill » Nov 17, 2014 4:32 pm

I'm surprised this isn't available already, we can migrate both Backup and Replication jobs to a new Veeam server but cannot do this for Backup Copy jobs when long term storage (GFS) has been configured.

At the moment, it appears that all you can do is import the old restore points into you new Veeam server to be available as static restore points. Note however that...
  • Your GFS expiration rules will no longer be applied.
  • You can not manually expire individual Restore Points via Veeam, instead you will need to delete the backup file but Veeam will still show the backup as available.
  • If you choose not to manually micromanage the GFS retention of imported archive chains then you will need to double the amount of storage allocated to archive in order to hold both the old static and new backup copy chains.
The automated GFS rotation was a welcome addition to the Veeam feature set, but please don't hobble it by locking us to one Veeam server for life.

Thanks,
Iain

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18037
Liked: 1533 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: V8 - Mapping Back Copy error

Post by foggy » Nov 17, 2014 4:50 pm

Thanks, Iain. As I've already mentioned earlier, this is already on our radar.

AlainRussell
Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Aug 27, 2011 12:04 am
Full Name: Alain Russell
Contact:

Re: V8 - Mapping Back Copy error

Post by AlainRussell » Nov 23, 2014 2:57 am

Hi Foggy - we've just hit this rebuilding our Veeam server - do you know if there is a fix coming?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18037
Liked: 1533 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: V8 - Mapping Back Copy error

Post by foggy » Nov 23, 2014 10:15 am

Definitely, but I have no ETA for it currently. Is the workaround mentioned earlier in this thread applicable in your case?

VladV
Expert
Posts: 223
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Apr 30, 2013 7:38 am
Full Name: Vlad Valeriu Velciu
Contact:

Re: V8 - Mapping Back Copy error

Post by VladV » Dec 22, 2014 7:50 pm

We've hit this issue also with one of our backup copy jobs that had GFS restore points. Do you know if the fix will be included in the next patch (that should be arriving in the near future) or in a later patch?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16710
Liked: 1396 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: V8 - Mapping Back Copy error

Post by veremin » Dec 23, 2014 9:52 am

We've been unable to make it into first patch. It will be available in one of the next patches, though. Thanks.

migeauxy
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Feb 03, 2015 12:01 pm
Full Name: Yannick MIGEAUX
Contact:

Re: V8 - Mapping Back Copy error

Post by migeauxy » Feb 03, 2015 12:05 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi

We face the exact same issue, trying to move Backup Copy files to another repository, and then map the existing Backup Job to these files.

Any update about one upcoming fix or patch ?

Thanks

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18037
Liked: 1533 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: V8 - Mapping Back Copy error

Post by foggy » Feb 03, 2015 12:46 pm

Patch 2.

Brad.Morris
Enthusiast
Posts: 43
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 10:29 pm
Full Name: Brad Morris
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: V8 - Mapping Back Copy error

Post by Brad.Morris » Feb 03, 2015 9:08 pm

I have the same issue and have just logged a job with support. They want me to send them the VBM file for them to fix.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16710
Liked: 1396 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: V8 - Mapping Back Copy error

Post by veremin » Feb 04, 2015 8:57 am

For now the manual correction of .vbm file might do the trick. So, if you experience similar issue, don't hesitate to open a ticket.

As to fix, according to a plan, it should be included in the patch#2.

Thanks.

Brad.Morris
Enthusiast
Posts: 43
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 10:29 pm
Full Name: Brad Morris
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: V8 - Mapping Back Copy error

Post by Brad.Morris » Feb 09, 2015 12:07 am

Do you know when Patch#2 will be released?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16710
Liked: 1396 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: V8 - Mapping Back Copy error

Post by veremin » Feb 09, 2015 9:29 am

There is no ETA at the moment. Thanks.

Brad.Morris
Enthusiast
Posts: 43
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 10:29 pm
Full Name: Brad Morris
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: V8 - Mapping Back Copy error

Post by Brad.Morris » Feb 24, 2015 3:09 am

Any update on this. It is causing me lots of grief as I have to move some data around and worried that I am going to lose my retentions.

Any chance of getting a hotfix for this?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16710
Liked: 1396 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: V8 - Mapping Back Copy error

Post by veremin » Feb 24, 2015 9:18 am

Patch 2 is yet to be released. AFAIK, the solution for the said issue is incorporated in the patch and is not available as a separate hotfix. Thanks.

Brad.Morris
Enthusiast
Posts: 43
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 10:29 pm
Full Name: Brad Morris
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: V8 - Mapping Back Copy error

Post by Brad.Morris » Feb 25, 2015 12:26 am

Umm not very happy about this.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16710
Liked: 1396 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: V8 - Mapping Back Copy error

Post by veremin » Feb 25, 2015 8:36 am

We're working hard to release the said patch sooner, rather than later. So, stay tuned!

pchelfer
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 18, 2014 9:55 am
Full Name: Michel Briese
Contact:

Re: V8 - Mapping Back Copy error

Post by pchelfer » Mar 11, 2015 10:44 am 1 person likes this post

Have also the same problem, please fix it in short time.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], myFist and 46 guests