Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
spinoza
Novice
Liked: 4 times

VEEAM Backup Strategy

Post by spinoza »

Hi all.

I'm very new to VEEAM and need some advice. Currently we use IBM's TSM for backups but they are replacing it for a product called Spectrum Storage. I'm looking at VEEAM as a replacement since our data center has pretty much completely migrated to VM's in the past 5 years.

We have about 10 VM's that need to be backed up for a total of about 3TB. Because of the nature of our business we need to have a retention period of about 7 years for financial and email data. Working with TSM I know about CDP and currently I have daily backups for 28 days at which point I run a separate monthly job. Those are retained for 12 months and then I run a yearly job which I keep for 7 years.

Given my current setup what would a VEEAM administrator do to mimic something similar. I guess what I'm asking is what would be the most efficient backup job schedule in terms of storage and how much storage would I need to cover these jobs?

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Martin
veremin
Product Manager
Liked: 2252 times
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: VEEAM Backup Strategy

Post by veremin »

A daily backup job with 28 retention, coupled with a backup copy job that has monthly, and yearly GFS restore points enabled, sounds like the best idea. Thanks.
PTide
Product Manager
Liked: 724 times

Post by PTide »

Hi,
I guess what I'm asking is what would be the most efficient backup job schedule in terms of storage and how much storage would I need to cover these jobs?