Veeam Backup Default Directory Name

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Veeam Backup Default Directory Name

Veeam Logoby TrevorBell » Thu Sep 29, 2016 7:09 pm

Hi Folks,

Just a quick heads up.

Last week the company i work for had a Ransomeware attack. These are very extreme attacks and this particular version "iloveworld" is a new variant doing the rounds google it and you will see, it also deletes the default Veeam Backup Directory :shock: .

The only way to forward was to pay or restore from Tape backup.

Please have a think of your backup strategy follow the 3-2-1 rule is the way forward guys.

10TB off tape wasnt too bad , but if you dont have offsite tape or atleast snapshot technology you could be in for a rough deal.

( we caught the virus and have sent to Symantec and FBi who have yet to see it )

Thanks

Trev
TrevorBell
Expert
 
Posts: 331
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 10:13 am
Location: Redditch UK
Full Name: Trevor Bell

Re: Veeam Backup Default Directory Name

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Fri Sep 30, 2016 8:38 am

Hi Trevor,
Indeed offsite copy of backups needed for the best ransomware protection.
Despite tapes, Cloud repository is another great option.
Thanks for sharing your story with us, I`m glad tape backups helped!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4842
Liked: 393 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 36 guests