Veeam Replication Best Practice and Veeam location

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Veeam Replication Best Practice and Veeam location

Veeam Logoby blackforce » Thu Nov 27, 2014 10:57 am

Hi, I am trying to get some clarity on the Veeam best practice with regards to Veeam replication. The location of the veeam server and also the replication metadata.

Basically we have a production site with a couple of VMware hosts and also have a DR site with a couple of VMware hosts. The 2 sites have a 100MB link between them.

Currently we have a Physical Veeam server installed at the DR site with a proxy installed at the production site, and also a proxy installed in the DR site.

We have replication jobs configured to use the Source proxy as the Source and then the destination proxy as the destination. The replication metadata is stored on the Veeam backup server in the default repository. c: drive which is in the DR site.

My questions are :

1) Where should the physical Veeam backup installation be situated? DR Site / Production? or does it not matter really if using proxys?
2) In the wizard it says the Replication Metadata should be stored in the Source Site. What is classified as the Source site? Should It stay with the Veeam install?

Thanks for any help in advance.
blackforce
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 10:08 am

Re: Veeam Replication Best Practice and Veeam location

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Nov 27, 2014 11:50 am 1 person likes this post

Hi,

In your case VBR server should be on DR site. It can be a virtual machine as well as a physical.
By default Veeam backup server fills three major roles: It functions as a management point (coordinates all jobs, controls their scheduling and performs other administrative activities), as the default backup proxy (for job processing and transferring backup traffic) and it is used as the default backup repository.

Since you have dedicated proxies, VBR server acts only as a management point and backup repository. As the best practice for replications, repository for replica metadata has to be deployed in a production(source) site, where you are replication from; VBR server has to be placed offsite to achieve a fast recovery in a case of disaster.
Having VBR in a DR site you can configure re-IP rules for Microsoft Windows-based VMs, perform automatic failover/failback to eliminate the need for manual replica reconfiguration and ensure minimum failover downtime.
Here on the forum was a post explaining it. Thanks.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4856
Liked: 394 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Veeam Replication Best Practice and Veeam location

Veeam Logoby blackforce » Thu Nov 27, 2014 1:00 pm

So in my case I should add a repository to the proxy server in the Production site and then store the replication metadata there?
blackforce
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 10:08 am

Re: Veeam Replication Best Practice and Veeam location

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Nov 27, 2014 1:41 pm

Correct.
Are you going to use backups as well or replicas only?
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4856
Liked: 394 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Veeam Replication Best Practice and Veeam location

Veeam Logoby blackforce » Thu Nov 27, 2014 1:59 pm

We are going to do backups as well as replicas. Does this change anything?

I've tested the replicas from backups in v8 as well but since the backups since on cheaper storage im finding the replica speed much slower.
blackforce
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 10:08 am

Re: Veeam Replication Best Practice and Veeam location

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Nov 27, 2014 2:20 pm

blackforce wrote:We are going to do backups as well as replicas. Does this change anything?

Not revolutionary. I`m just trying to seize your strategy.
Do you leverage WAN acceleration capabilities? Starting from v8 is available both for replication and backup copy jobs.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4856
Liked: 394 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

[MERGED] : Job Setup

Veeam Logoby mtoms » Wed Dec 03, 2014 1:32 pm

I'm hoping someone could clarify the best way to setup a replication job.

I have 2 veeam backup servers one in the production site and one in the DR site. I have 3 jobs setup on the production site for local backups forever incremental.

I would like to know the best way to implement a backup copy job to the DR site Backup server and then a replication job. Which backup servers should the jobs be setup on? Can I use the backup data from the copy job as the source for the replication jobs?
mtoms
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 12:47 pm
Full Name: Matt Toms

Re: Veeam Replication Best Practice and Veeam location

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Wed Dec 03, 2014 2:14 pm

Hello Matt,
mtoms wrote:Which backup servers should the jobs be setup on?

Best practice for replication jobs is to have VBR server deployed offsite and a repository for replica metadata placed in a production site. Please read other posts of the topic for the reasons explanation.
mtoms wrote:Can I use the backup data from the copy job as the source for the replication jobs?

Yes, it`s one of the new features of Veaam B&R v8. Click "source" in Virtual Machine step of the Replication job wizard and choose "From backup files" radio-button.
This post can also be useful to read.

You can also use WAN acceleration for both backup copy and replication jobs. Thanks.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4856
Liked: 394 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Veeam Replication Best Practice and Veeam location

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Dec 03, 2014 3:00 pm

Matt, so to be clear, I would set up backup and backup copy jobs on the production server and replication job on the remote server. Please note that you would need to perform repository rescan prior each replication job run, as described in the thread Nikita is referring to above. Also, unless you need to have additional copy of your backups in remote site, you could run replication jobs right from the local backups on the production site, since replication now also supports WAN acceleration.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1078 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] : Replication repository question

Veeam Logoby timshipp » Thu Sep 24, 2015 4:27 pm

Hi,

I know best practice is to have the repository for metadata to be closest to the source. However in my case I am looking to do replication only, and control all jobs, failover, testing, etc. from the DR target side. So is there any negative impact to doing it this way?

Thanks,
Tim
timshipp
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 1:21 pm

Re: Veeam Replication Best Practice and Veeam location

Veeam Logoby PTide » Thu Sep 24, 2015 4:56 pm

Hi,

Your topic has been merged with an existing one, please review. If any questions persist kindly let us know.

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3019
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Veeam Replication Best Practice and Veeam location

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Sep 24, 2015 8:59 pm

Even having Veeam B&R located in the DR site, you still can designate any repository on the source site as replica metadata storage (which is highly recommended). It can be the proxy server, for example, which you still would need to have on the source for optimal data retrieval.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1078 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] DR/Backup Strategy Design Review

Veeam Logoby kmfyhr » Tue Dec 22, 2015 8:21 pm

Hi all, I'm looking for some advice/constructive feedback on making some changes to my current Backup/DR strategy.

First here is my current layout:
11 ESXi 5.1 hosts, 1 vCenter 5.5 server, about 300 VMs, 2 physical Veeam 8 servers (one with management console, the other just a proxy) with backend SAN storage for repositories. Also 6 LTO 4 tape drives.
We backup pretty much everything every day, then write to tape every day, and send tapes offsite daily, with 7 days of Veeam retention on local SAN, and 2 weeks of Tape retention offsite.

Here is what we have added:
We have started to rent Hot-Site/Co-Location (whatever you want to call it) space. We have Placed two physical ESXi servers, & SAN Storage at that location.

Here is what I am doing/thinking of doing, and would like advice/pointers/etc.
Current Local set-up remains the same, but eventually we will eliminate tape. To replace tape, I will utilize SAN storage at Hot-Site and push Backup-Copies with increased retention. I have created a Virtual Proxy connected back to our local Veeam servers, and created Repositories specifically for Backup Copies, with a GFS retention scheme.

I am considering ALSO creating another Virtual Veeam server at the Hot-Site but loading the full management GUI (not just a proxy) So that I can restore from the Backup Copy Jobs if necessary, and ALSO create Replicas of Mission-Critical VMs so they can be powered on at a moment’s notice. My thinking is that if I "push" replicas to the Hot-Site from the local Veeam servers, which if a true disaster were to strike my proxy system at the site would not be able to orchestrate/control Replica Power-On. Is that correct?

Currently my Veeam implementation connects to my vCenter server (local) for backups, if that vCenter is down, how will that impact my ability to power on / restore VMs at the Hot-Site, and how do I get around any difficulties presented by this?

Assuming I do need a second full function Veeam server at the Hot-Site, how do I properly license it? I do own enough licenses to cover every ESXi server I own, however they are currently all in one combined license file on the Local Veeam server

Again any suggestions/support are welcomed! I don't want to get this wrong!
kmfyhr
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 2:41 pm
Full Name: Kenny Fyhr

Re: Veeam Replication Best Practice and Veeam location

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Tue Dec 22, 2015 9:32 pm

Hi Kenny,
Your idea and reasoning are totally sane.
kmfyhr wrote:My thinking is that if I "push" replicas to the Hot-Site from the local Veeam servers, which if a true disaster were to strike my proxy system at the site would not be able to orchestrate/control Replica Power-On. Is that correct?

It`s recommended to make the server in the DR site(Hot-Site) run replication jobs. Please read the discussion in the topic and ask additional questions if you have any.

kmfyhr wrote:Assuming I do need a second full function Veeam server at the Hot-Site, how do I properly license it? I do own enough licenses to cover every ESXi server I own, however they are currently all in one combined license file on the Local Veeam server

That`s described in our FAQ:

You can install any number of backup servers using the same license file, as long as the actual socket usage across all backup servers does not exceed the licensed amount. To ensure compliance, we recommend that you use Veeam Backup Enterprise Manager, which provides centralized license management. Enterprise Manager reports actual socket usage across all backup servers, and can be used to apply the new v8 license file to all connected backup servers.

Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4856
Liked: 394 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Veeam Replication Best Practice and Veeam location

Veeam Logoby kmfyhr » Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:38 pm

Should the Enterprise Manager server be located at the DR site? or my local site?
kmfyhr
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 2:41 pm
Full Name: Kenny Fyhr

Next

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], bstreza, Google [Bot] and 36 guests