Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
joncojonathan

Veeam6 and starting BackupExec

Post by joncojonathan » Feb 08, 2012 2:47 pm

Hi everybody,

I'll start by explaining the environment:

Windows: Storage Server 2008 R2 (with UAC enabled)
Veeam: 6.0.0.153 (64bit)
Backup Exec: 2010 R3

I'm looking to have a Backup Exec job started at the completion of a Veeam job - mainly to ensure the backup happens as soon as possible to ensure it fits within the backup window.

My problem seems to be that bemcmd (the command line program for backup exec) won't start unless you execute it in an elevated fashion (e.g. from an elevated command prompt) - this is because UAC is requiring approval.

I was wondering if anybody is having any success starting a Backup Exec as part of a post command while UAC is enabled (and not in auto-approval mode)?

Thanks in advance,

Jonathan

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5753
Liked: 1642 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Veeam6 and starting BackupExec

Post by dellock6 » Feb 08, 2012 6:36 pm

Nope, I always disabled UAC in every Windows installation I found, also for the Veeam roles (backup server, proxy, repository). IMHO I would disable UAC even on Storage Server, if possible (never used one of those...)

Luca.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

joncojonathan

Re: Veeam6 and starting BackupExec

Post by joncojonathan » Feb 08, 2012 8:00 pm

Hi Dellock,

Thanks for the response. It is possible to disable UAC but not exactly best practise - hence trying to find another way.

Has everyone else found the same ?

Jonathan

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23062
Liked: 1582 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam6 and starting BackupExec

Post by Vitaliy S. » Feb 08, 2012 9:25 pm

Another thing you might want to try is disabling approval mode for administrator accounts or just disable prompt pop-up window.

Here is a good reading about that: http://www.computerperformance.co.uk/Lo ... ontrol.htm

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18356
Liked: 1575 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam6 and starting BackupExec

Post by foggy » Feb 09, 2012 9:11 am


joncojonathan

Re: Veeam6 and starting BackupExec

Post by joncojonathan » Feb 09, 2012 9:18 am

Hi folks,

Thanks for the replies so far. I'm familiar with UAC (part of my MSc is based on it) - was more after checking everyone else is in the same position as I'm not so familiar with Veeam.

@Foggy - I was thinking about the scheduled task approach but was struggling with chaining it onto my Veeam job. That link gave me the missing piece of the puzzle so I'll give that a go and feed back.

Jonathan

Edit: Corrected spelling mistake

ThomasMc
Expert
Posts: 293
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Apr 13, 2011 12:45 pm
Full Name: Thomas McConnell
Contact:

Re: Veeam6 and starting BackupExec

Post by ThomasMc » Feb 09, 2012 10:38 am

Something like this should get you round it, you'll have to save it as a ps1 file and then run it, if you don't then one of the lines of code will become you password lol

Code: Select all

$pass = Read-Host "Enter Password" -AsSecureString

$myProg = New-Object System.Diagnostics.ProcessStartInfo
$myProg.UserName = "administrator"
$myProg.Password = $pass
$myProg.WorkingDirectory = "C:\Windows\system32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\"
$myProg.FileName = "powershell.exe"
$myProg.UseShellExecute = $false
[System.Diagnostics.Process]::Start($myProg)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], tsightler, vmJoe, vmstafford and 42 guests