Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
antar
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 23, 2010 9:33 am
Full Name: elyounsi
Contact:

VM Disk replication

Post by antar » Dec 23, 2010 9:39 am

Hi Guy,

this my first post :wink: :


I'm wondering if veem replication can replicate only a disk of VM machine between sites.
I have a machine that has C and D drives, I have a data ( folders shared and files) in D drive and I need to replicate just this disk to remote site.
the goal is if the machine in the primary site failed we can add the disk to another VM machine and the users will continue to access to the shares folders and files.

any link or documents

Thank You

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24092
Liked: 3278 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: VM Disk replication

Post by Gostev » Dec 23, 2010 11:04 am

Hi and welcome! Absolutely, you can use disk exclusion functionality available on the same wizard step (where you specify VMs to process).

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22431
Liked: 1442 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: VM Disk replication

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 23, 2010 11:08 am

Should more information be required, please check out our User Guide (page 70).

Thanks!

antar
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 23, 2010 9:33 am
Full Name: elyounsi
Contact:

Re: VM Disk replication

Post by antar » Dec 23, 2010 3:43 pm

that's mean the VM machine will be replicated with only one disk D ???

The need is to replicate a disk content folders and files and it's will remonte on any machine in the remote site if the orginal server is failure.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22431
Liked: 1442 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: VM Disk replication

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 23, 2010 4:21 pm

antar wrote:that's mean the VM machine will be replicated with only one disk D ???

Yes, that's correct.
antat wrote:The need is to replicate a disk content folders and files and it's will remonte on any machine in the remote site if the orginal server is failure.

Not sure I got it correct, but if you need to replicate particluar VM disk, then you need to replicate VM itself.

antar
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 23, 2010 9:33 am
Full Name: elyounsi
Contact:

Re: VM Disk replication

Post by antar » Dec 23, 2010 4:30 pm

so the VM machine will not start if there is no system drive (C:) ??
but my need is only D drive

another question :
if the data in D drive was change ( add file, change file etc..) , all machine ( with D) will be replication or only delta ?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22431
Liked: 1442 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: VM Disk replication

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 23, 2010 4:34 pm

Yes, any VM without a system drive won't boot. You may want to replicate VM with only D drive, and as soon as you need this drive's content just attach replicated disk to another VM and that's it.
antar wrote:if the data in D drive was change ( add file, change file etc..) , all machine ( with D) will be replication or only delta ?
Only changes are transferred on each incremental job cycle. Please have a look at our sticky F.A.Q. section for more information.

antar
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 23, 2010 9:33 am
Full Name: elyounsi
Contact:

Re: VM Disk replication

Post by antar » Dec 23, 2010 4:42 pm

thank You Vatily

and how about if data in D drive was changed, the veem will replicate all D drive or only change ( delta)

if my D size is 100 Gb , some change was maked by adding news datas , the new size is 101 Gb , the veem will replication 101 Gb or only 1Gb.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22431
Liked: 1442 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: VM Disk replication

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 23, 2010 4:47 pm

Only changes will be replicated.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 18 guests