Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
Post Reply
GabesVirtualWorld
Service Provider
Posts: 157
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Jun 15, 2009 10:49 am
Full Name: Gabrie van Zanten
Contact:

VMs reregistered and now seen as new VM

Post by GabesVirtualWorld » Dec 07, 2017 9:58 am

Hi
So we had a big issue and needed to hard remove VMs from an ESXi host and then reregister them again. Unfortunately now the backup sees them all as new VMs and is making a full backup, taking up a lot of extra space of course. Eventhough I'm aware of the MofID that might change, I had hoped that since the VMX file UUID entries didn't change, the MofID would also remain the same.

Questions:
- Is there anyway to fix this?
- Should we have reregistered them in a different way? (Now we browsed to VM folder, right click vmx and register)
- Were there other options to remove the VMs marked as inaccessible from a host that is still running but doesn't see the storage anymore. We had to present a copy of the datastore to a different host in the same vCenter.
- When using the new VMotion between vCenter Server feature, would the MofID of the VM remain the same or would this also trigger a new full backup (if the VEEAM can even find the vm now).

Regards
Gabrie

tdewin
Veeam Software
Posts: 1326
Liked: 436 times
Joined: Mar 02, 2012 1:40 pm
Full Name: Timothy Dewin
Contact:

Re: VMs reregistered and now seen as new VM

Post by tdewin » Dec 07, 2017 10:02 am

Gabrie,

There is an UNSUPPORTED migration tool for this:
https://www.veeam.com/kb2136

GabesVirtualWorld
Service Provider
Posts: 157
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Jun 15, 2009 10:49 am
Full Name: Gabrie van Zanten
Contact:

Re: VMs reregistered and now seen as new VM

Post by GabesVirtualWorld » Dec 07, 2017 10:12 am

Thanks !

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16836
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: VMs reregistered and now seen as new VM

Post by foggy » Dec 07, 2017 12:52 pm

Every time you register VM in VI, it gets a new Moref ID. Cross-vCenter migration should do the trick (provided it is triggered from Veeam B&R).

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests