Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
BobFera
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: May 06, 2010 10:24 pm
Full Name: Bob Fera
Contact:

VSS ports

Post by BobFera »

Hi,

I'm trying to use VSS to quiesce a machine that's sitting behind a filtering router and am having difficulty determining what ports to open. Per the documentation, I've opened TCP 135, UDP 137 and 138, TCP 139 and TCP 445, but it's not working. It's gotta be because the MS RPC service (TCP 135) then allocates a random port for further communications, right? So, I just wanted to confirm that I have to also open TCP 1024-65535 in order to get this to work (and don't get me started about why MS designed this this way... :-) ). Am I correct?

Thanks!

Bob

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24075
Liked: 1807 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: VSS ports

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hi Bob,

Here is a very informative post shared by Franz Glatzer regarding VSS ports that are being used, should help: Veeam Backup 4.0 VSS

Thanks!

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24075
Liked: 1807 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: VSS ports

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Also just wanted to add that the upcoming v5 release will not require direct network connection to guest VMs in order for Veeam VSS to work.

BobFera
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: May 06, 2010 10:24 pm
Full Name: Bob Fera
Contact:

Re: VSS ports

Post by BobFera »

Thanks for the link and the good news about V5!

Best regards,

Bob

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: davidpt, Natalia Lupacheva and 52 guests