Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
Post Reply
baber
Expert
Posts: 491
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 21, 2013 12:02 pm
Full Name: Babak Seyedi nejad
Contact:

why can not connect to replica machine during failover

Post by baber » Jan 14, 2018 4:10 pm

Dear all

Hi

i have create a replication job
my vm machine ip that i replicated that =10.10.50.50
after i did failover during that my ping not disruption but when my replica machine on disaster site
has been up i could not connet to replica machine via remote desktop why ?

BR

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17087
Liked: 1396 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: why can not connect to replica machine during failover

Post by foggy » Jan 15, 2018 11:58 am

I'm not sure I get the entire picture, you've performed replication, turned off the source VM, performed a failover and was not able to connect the replica VM using the same IP address, right?

cpfleger
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 255
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Aug 31, 2012 7:30 am
Full Name: Claus Pfleger
Contact:

Re: why can not connect to replica machine during failover

Post by cpfleger » Jan 15, 2018 3:17 pm

Hello barber,

Hope you don't mind a few questions?

You're talking about Windows ("remote desktop" - assuming you are using RDP?), right?
Which version are you using?

You're having a layer 2 connection to where the vm has been replicated (iaw: DR site is using the very same IP address range?)?
So you can ping the replica vm after failover?

You haven't used Re-IP feature in your replica job?

How did you do the failover (assuming it was not an incident forced but a planned failover?)?
Used VBRs "Planned failover" feature or did you manually turned off the original vm?

Have you logged into the failover replica vm to see if network came up properly and with which ip?

Regards!
Claus

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 39 guests