Why Is It An Error to Interrupt an Idle BCJ?

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Why Is It An Error to Interrupt an Idle BCJ?

Veeam Logoby mkaec » Mon Feb 01, 2016 2:18 pm

I have the VBR server scheduled to install Windows Updates Friday afternoon as this is the least likely time for a backup to be running. When it reboots after the update, I get emails about the BCJs failing and they show in the history with an error of "Job has failed unexpectedly". The last time this happened, I checked and found the BCJ's were actually "idle" at the time of the reboot. According to the log, they started at 4:00 AM, ran for 20-30 minutes and sat idle for the rest of the day until "failing" while "waiting for the new copy interval".

I went in and added exclusions for when the server is likely to reboot. Additionally, If I want to manually reboot the server at another time for some reason, I need to disable all the BCJs first and then remember to turn them back on after the reboot.

I would prefer if BCJs weren't so high maintenance. To me, it is not a failure if a BCJ is interrupted while it is idle.
mkaec
Expert
 
Posts: 179
Liked: 48 times
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 1:31 pm
Full Name: Marc K

Re: Why Is It An Error to Interrupt an Idle BCJ?

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon Feb 01, 2016 2:50 pm

Hi Marc,
VBR reboot should not affect backup copy job in your case if you reboot the server while the job is in "idle" state.
How often do you reboot the server? Do you observe the described behavior all each time you make a reboot?
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 395 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Why Is It An Error to Interrupt an Idle BCJ?

Veeam Logoby mkaec » Mon Feb 01, 2016 8:52 pm

The server reboots once a month when Windows updates are applied. Then sometimes it will be manually rebooted, like if an SQL update is applied.

I just tested now and I did not get an email, but the BCJs are now showing in the Last 24 Hours \ Failed node. They had a status of "Waiting for the new copy interval" prior to the reboot. It's a cosmetic thing, but admins tend not to like red Xs. :)
mkaec
Expert
 
Posts: 179
Liked: 48 times
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 1:31 pm
Full Name: Marc K

Re: Why Is It An Error to Interrupt an Idle BCJ?

Veeam Logoby JaxIsland7575 » Mon Feb 01, 2016 8:59 pm

I am not sure if this helps but I can confirm what Marc is seeing on v8. I have yet to determine what situation causes an email to be sent but I have BCJ running at 1400. I manually disabled the jobs at 0700 and they all fail and some send an email. Other times on the same server I have just rebooted it without disabling the jobs and I get the same failures.

I don't understand why its considered a failure when the job is set to run at 1400, but 1410 the jobs are done, if I reboot the server in the next 23 hours 49 minutes it should be completed successfully because it copied over the latest data.

Didn't mean to hijack this, but I thought I would share that I see the same thing and also do not understand why its labeled a failure.

Cheers!
VMCE v9
JaxIsland7575
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 364
Liked: 98 times
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:59 pm
Location: NY, USA
Full Name: Ryan Jacksland

Re: Why Is It An Error to Interrupt an Idle BCJ?

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Tue Feb 02, 2016 10:49 am 1 person likes this post

I believe that the logic is next: backup copy job runs continuously, so any interrupt is considered as a failure.
However I see your point and we will discuss the warning behaviour with the R&D team if we have more similar requests.

You may also leverage Veeam ONE monitoring capabilities to be notified of the VM reboots, VBR server availability etc.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 395 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Why Is It An Error to Interrupt an Idle BCJ?

Veeam Logoby Peejay62 » Tue Feb 02, 2016 11:22 am

JaxIsland7575 wrote:
Didn't mean to hijack this, but I thought I would share that I see the same thing and also do not understand why its labeled a failure.
!


I am in on this one. I also experience this imho annoying behavior. Scheduled reboot of Veeam servers once a week. Added a timeslot for the duration of the reboot for the continuous copy jobs as disabled but I receive a lot of errors for the "interrupted" copyjobs. In my daily reporting from EM everything always looks very smooth, some warnings, incidently an error and of course tons of successes ;-) but on the day after the reboot a lot of errors (failed copyjobs). So if any improvement will be available, I'd gladly make use of it.

thanks, Peter
Peejay62
Expert
 
Posts: 171
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 10:40 am
Full Name: Peter Jansen

Re: Why Is It An Error to Interrupt an Idle BCJ?

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Tue Feb 02, 2016 12:18 pm

Thanks for the feedback Peter!
We will think about that.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 395 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Why Is It An Error to Interrupt an Idle BCJ?

Veeam Logoby mkaec » Tue Feb 02, 2016 1:08 pm

And then errors get reported in the "Last 24 Hours" digest email, which prompts a visit to the console to see what failed.
mkaec
Expert
 
Posts: 179
Liked: 48 times
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 1:31 pm
Full Name: Marc K

Re: Why Is It An Error to Interrupt an Idle BCJ?

Veeam Logoby mkaec » Fri Aug 19, 2016 9:07 pm

It looks like this issue still occurs in 9.0 update 2.
mkaec
Expert
 
Posts: 179
Liked: 48 times
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 1:31 pm
Full Name: Marc K

Re: Why Is It An Error to Interrupt an Idle BCJ?

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon Aug 22, 2016 11:29 am

Hello Marc,
That`s expected, the issue is not critical, so we were not pointing the resolution to the minor update.
Thanks
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 395 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Why Is It An Error to Interrupt an Idle BCJ?

Veeam Logoby mkaec » Fri Nov 18, 2016 11:26 pm

It looks like the issue is also still present in 9.5.
mkaec
Expert
 
Posts: 179
Liked: 48 times
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 1:31 pm
Full Name: Marc K

Re: Why Is It An Error to Interrupt an Idle BCJ?

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Fri Nov 25, 2016 11:33 am

Hello Marc,
Indeed the change didn`t get into v95 release because of low priority.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 395 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Why Is It An Error to Interrupt an Idle BCJ?

Veeam Logoby mkaec » Mon Nov 28, 2016 2:48 pm

Hmm... Didn't get fixed in a point release. Didn't get fixed in a major release. I believe all the options have been eliminated. :)

On a serious note, great job on the 9.5 release! I think the ReFS 3.1 functionality is a huge game changer.

Gostev noted that the 9.5 release has been super smooth. Maybe that'll open up a window to work on some of the small boring stuff.
mkaec
Expert
 
Posts: 179
Liked: 48 times
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 1:31 pm
Full Name: Marc K

Re: Why Is It An Error to Interrupt an Idle BCJ?

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Fri Mar 10, 2017 12:51 pm 1 person likes this post

For Marc and others following the thread,
the issue is to be solved in the upcoming update.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 395 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Why Is It An Error to Interrupt an Idle BCJ?

Veeam Logoby mkaec » Fri Mar 10, 2017 2:41 pm

Awesome! Thanks.
mkaec
Expert
 
Posts: 179
Liked: 48 times
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 1:31 pm
Full Name: Marc K


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 13 guests