Unleash the power of System Center for vSphere and Hyper-V | Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V
Post Reply
jannep
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 17, 2016 11:57 am
Full Name: Jan Pettersson
Contact:

Bug in storage monitor?

Post by jannep » Oct 04, 2017 6:23 am

Hi!
When I get an alert for "Veeam VMware: Datastore Free Space Analysis" it shows up with the placeholders instead of the correct numbers?

Code: Select all

Datastore {0} has breached the free space threshold. 

Datastore is currently {1}% used, with {2} GB space remaining.

This Datastore contains {3} virtual machines.

If a Datastore becomes full it can lead to corruption of VM disk files. Free space by removing VM snapshots, deleting non-VM files (such as ISOs), or migrating VMs to alternative storage.
{4}
The alert is correct so it must get the numbers and also the source and full path name contains the correct datastore name.

Anyone seen this error?

Alec King
VP, Product Management
Posts: 942
Liked: 174 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: Bug in storage monitor?

Post by Alec King » Oct 04, 2017 6:55 pm

Hello Jan,

I've checked with our Support team and they don't have any similar cases. And in R&D we don't have a known bug on this.

I suspect that it may be caused by a SCOM agent issue - perhaps the agent is overloaded, and has dropped the parameter values, even though the alert itself made it through.

Please raise a support case so our team can gather all the required logs and info, and we'll investigate.

Thanks!
Alec King
Vice President, Product Management
Veeam Software

jannep
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 17, 2016 11:57 am
Full Name: Jan Pettersson
Contact:

Re: Bug in storage monitor?

Post by jannep » Oct 05, 2017 7:38 am

Thank you , I will raise a support ticket.

kevin24507
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 17, 2017 7:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug in storage monitor?

Post by kevin24507 » Jan 08, 2018 4:51 pm

Jan,

Did you get a resolution to this? We are experiencing the same thing.

Thanks,
Kevin

Syromyatnikov
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 14, 2017 2:50 pm
Full Name: Alexander Syromyatnikov
Contact:

Re: Bug in storage monitor?

Post by Syromyatnikov » Jan 22, 2018 11:54 am

Hi Kevin!

Do you have Veeam MP 8 Update 4?

Br, Alexander

kevin24507
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 17, 2017 7:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug in storage monitor?

Post by kevin24507 » Jan 26, 2018 7:11 pm

Yes, it has been installed. I was looking for a way to definitively confirm this, but I'm struggling to find information in the documentation. Do you have any guidance?

Thanks,
Kevin

Syromyatnikov
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 14, 2017 2:50 pm
Full Name: Alexander Syromyatnikov
Contact:

Re: Bug in storage monitor?

Post by Syromyatnikov » Jan 29, 2018 10:23 am

Well, best way to confirm is to open TS ticket.
There is small chance that your problem slightly differs, so it will be required to improve the patch for this problem.

Alec King
VP, Product Management
Posts: 942
Liked: 174 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: Bug in storage monitor?

Post by Alec King » Feb 01, 2018 9:17 am

Hi Kevin (and others with this issue)

We've confirmed that this is an issue in MP 8.0 Update 4, and there is a hotfix available (an updated MP file).
Please open a Veeam support ticket to get the hotfix MP (you can reference original ticket # 02474134)

Thanks,
Alec

jannep
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 17, 2016 11:57 am
Full Name: Jan Pettersson
Contact:

Re: Bug in storage monitor?

Post by jannep » Feb 27, 2018 7:06 am

Thanks for the info.
I never got any help from the ticket I raised. I will try to get the patch you have gotten.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests