Placing Hosts in Maintenance Mode

Unleash the power of System Center for vSphere and Hyper-V | Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V

Placing Hosts in Maintenance Mode

Veeam Logoby aperson » Fri Oct 21, 2011 8:09 pm

When using nworks and Veeam 5.6 / SCOM 2007.

If I place a host in Maintenance Mode will the VMs that were hosted on that server also be placed into maintenance mode, therefore unmonitored until they move to an unmonitored host?

Should this happen? It looks like VMs on a Host getting maintenance may have been placed also in MM within SCOM

Any documentation?

Thanks
aperson
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 6:59 pm
Full Name: A Patel

Re: Placing Hosts in Maintenance Mode

Veeam Logoby Alec King » Mon Oct 24, 2011 6:20 am

Hi APerson,

Correct - if you place a Host in SCOM Maintenance Mode, then any VMs on that host will also go into Maintenance Mode. This is by design & how the SCOM feature works - because the VMs are contained within the Host. All contained objects go into Maintenance Mode when you put the root object into Maintenance Mode (so for example if you put a SQL Server in M-Mode, then all the Databases also go into M-Mode. Same with Host and VMs.)

I'd say if you were doing maintenance operations on a Host, wouldn't you want to vMotion the VMs to another host anyway? Or, at least power them off - so they would not be generating monitoring data in any case.

But if you do want to put just a host into Maintenance Mode, then do the following - it just takes a few extra clicks -
* right-click the host to start M-Mode
* choose the option 'selected objects only'. Now the host itself is in M-Mode.
* then go to each host container such as CPU, NETWORK, SENSORS etc and set M-Mode there. For the containers, use 'all contained objects' option. Now all host components are in M-Mode.
* do NOT set M-Mode on the 'VM' Container - that's where all the virtual machines live.

If you complete the above, you have a host and all components in M-Mode, but the VMs are not.
Hope that helps!

Regards,
Alec
Alec King
Vice President, Product Management
Veeam Software
Alec King
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 700
Liked: 116 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am

Re: Placing Hosts in Maintenance Mode

Veeam Logoby Alec King » Mon Oct 24, 2011 6:26 am

One final point :)
Take care when putting Datastores into Maintenance Mode - because if it is a shared Datastore then we only create one instance of that Datastore in SCOM (and containment relationships to all hosts)
So, if you put all Datastores on a host into M-Mode, you will be putting shared Datastores into M-Mode as well.
You may want to assign M-Mode individually to Datastores (e.g. only local Datastores, not the shared ones)

Cheers,
Alec
Alec King
Vice President, Product Management
Veeam Software
Alec King
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 700
Liked: 116 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am


Return to Veeam Management Pack for Microsoft System Center



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests