Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V commandline options ?

Unleash the power of System Center for vSphere and Hyper-V | Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V

Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V commandline options ?

Veeam Logoby helpdesk@gmb.eu » Mon Aug 11, 2014 9:55 am

Is it possible to start the standalone Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V with a command to automaticaly connect to a specific server ?
helpdesk@gmb.eu
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 9:53 am
Full Name: GMB Beheer BV

Re: Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V commandline options ?

Veeam Logoby sergey.g » Mon Aug 11, 2014 1:11 pm

Hello,

This is going to be a great feature request! I'm afraid in v1 cmd parameters are not posssible.

However keep in mind that TM4HV can save last monitored Hyper-V host (aka "favorite"), so that it will re-connect to it when you open the application again. It stores this information in the special file located at the following location (exact disk/path depends on user profile storage settings):
C:\Users\Username\AppData\Roaming\Veeam Software AG\Veeam.Virt.HyperV.TaskManager\1.0.0.1880\

So, each user can have a separate value for a "favorite" host. All you need to do it to Run As under different users. For example:

Code: Select all
runas /user:domain\user1 /savecred "C:\Program Files\Veeam\Task Manager for Hyper-V\Veeam.TaskManager.HyperV.exe"


Then connect to the corresponding server and close the Task Manager - now, you can use the code above to connect to the specific server. Then you can do it for as many users as necesary. All of them can have different "favorite" host.

The downside is that you need to make sure the corresponding user has necessary access to the corresponding Hyper-V host (on the other hand you can set granular permissions, not a single account with super-access)

Thank you very much for the first feature request for the next version of our Task Manager.
sergey.g
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 453
Liked: 75 times
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 1:49 pm
Full Name: Sergey Goncharenko

Re: Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V commandline options ?

Veeam Logoby helpdesk@gmb.eu » Tue Aug 12, 2014 7:00 am

Thanx for the reply, it would be a very nice feature to have.
Also it would be handy to add multiple servers to the same view, now I need to start an extra instance of the application to connect to another server and have them side by side.

Further more it's a nice tool to have, thank you.
helpdesk@gmb.eu
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 9:53 am
Full Name: GMB Beheer BV


Return to Veeam Management Pack for Microsoft System Center



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests