Unleash the power of System Center for vSphere and Hyper-V | Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V
Post Reply
sergey.g
Expert
Posts: 455
Liked: 76 times
Joined: May 02, 2012 1:49 pm
Full Name: Sergey Goncharenko
Contact:

Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V

Post by sergey.g » Aug 04, 2014 3:26 pm 1 person likes this post

Today, we are very happy and proud to announce another great free tool coming from Veeam: Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V.

If you are a windows administrator, then you need to check this one out. We all know that opening task manager on a windows server running Hyper-V only gives you the compute of the parent partition and not what resources the virtual machines are consuming.

In Veeam’s latest Management Pack release (Veeam Management Pack for System Center) we released an entirely new in-line task that can bring up the Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V. The Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V will display task manager data for both the Hyper-V host and for each of the child VMs attached to that host! But as of today, you can get that functionality for free even without our management pack.

Image

Want to know more?

Read more on our how-to article here: http://hyperv.veeam.com/task-manager-hyper-v-announce/
If you want to use Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V just register and download it here.

Feel free to post your question about Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V in this forum.

vmueller
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Aug 07, 2014 1:52 pm
Contact:

Cannot retrieve host and VM performance data

Post by vmueller » Aug 07, 2014 1:57 pm 1 person likes this post

Hello,
i have tried to start the performance monitor on several machines. Standalone or in the domain, with doubleklick or run as different user.
Every time it is not possible to connect to the machine. The performance monitor says "Cannot retrieve host and VM performance data".

Any idea?

Volker

sergey.g
Expert
Posts: 455
Liked: 76 times
Joined: May 02, 2012 1:49 pm
Full Name: Sergey Goncharenko
Contact:

Re: Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V

Post by sergey.g » Aug 08, 2014 10:51 am

Hi Volker,

Are you trying to connect locally (without invoking "Connect" dialog)? If so, make sure you are starting TM on a Hyper-V host. Do you see any other error details, TM should display which user were unable to connect? Make sure that this user under which you are running TM4HV, has at least access to read Permon logs (there is a special group on each windows computer - Performance Log Users). Also make sure you are connecting to the supported version of Hyper-V, some older 2008 versions may not have the correct classes in Perfmon.

Also keep in mind that for remote connection, to read perfmon data, windows file sharing rule should be enabled in the firewall (445 port, SMB-In)

Thank you very much for your interest in our product and feel free to post any other questions.

vmueller
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Aug 07, 2014 1:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V

Post by vmueller » Aug 11, 2014 6:54 am

Hi Sergey,

> Are you trying to connect locally (without invoking "Connect" dialog)?
TM started locally on a Hyper-V Host with administrator priviliges.

>Do you see any other error details, TM should display which user were unable to connect?
The Error Message is (translated from german): The Indicator is not a Single Instance. An Instance-Name should be given

> Make sure that this user under which you are running TM4HV, has at least access to read Permon logs (there is a special group on each windows computer - Performance Log Users).
The administrator is in this group

>Also make sure you are connecting to the supported version of Hyper-V, some older 2008 versions may not have the correct classes in Perfmon.
The Hyper-V-Hosts are Windows Server 2012 and Windows Server 2012R2

sergey.g
Expert
Posts: 455
Liked: 76 times
Joined: May 02, 2012 1:49 pm
Full Name: Sergey Goncharenko
Contact:

Re: Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V

Post by sergey.g » Aug 11, 2014 4:45 pm

Hello,

Is it possible that you are using German Windows OS? We are afraid that TM4HV correctly works only with remote connection to non-English/US OSes.
For local connection to work properly, you need to switch regional settings (date,time,currency) to US/English, it doesn't matter if display language is still German. You can even switch to German-style decimal separator (comma ',') and other settings (european date and time settings), but the name of the regional settings should be English.

Another workaround is to create a separate user with English regional settings and to use RunAs, but you have to make sure this user have necessary permissions to connect to a hyper-v host.

Sorry for such inconveniences of using TM4HV on German OS, we'll do our best to improve user experience in the future.
Thanks.

archambeaud
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 25, 2014 8:55 am
Full Name: David Archambeau
Contact:

Re: Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V

Post by archambeaud » Aug 12, 2014 8:53 am

Hi,

I try to install it on Windows 8.1 on which .net 4.5 is installed and the setup complain about missing .NET 4.

Have you an idea ?

Thanks

sergey.g
Expert
Posts: 455
Liked: 76 times
Joined: May 02, 2012 1:49 pm
Full Name: Sergey Goncharenko
Contact:

Re: Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V

Post by sergey.g » Aug 12, 2014 10:50 am

Hi David,

Thank you very much for the feedback, we are currently investigating the issue. You can download .Net Framework 4.0 here.

Sorry for the inconvenience, we'll do our best to improve user experience.

And thank you very much for your interest in our monitoring product.

sergey.g
Expert
Posts: 455
Liked: 76 times
Joined: May 02, 2012 1:49 pm
Full Name: Sergey Goncharenko
Contact:

Re: Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V

Post by sergey.g » Aug 12, 2014 11:48 am

archambeaud wrote:Hi,

I try to install it on Windows 8.1 on which .net 4.5 is installed and the setup complain about missing .NET 4.

Have you an idea ?

Thanks
Our engineers confirmed that Task Manager should be able to install on a system with 4.5 without any issues. Could you send us a screenshot of the following entry in registry?

Code: Select all

HKLM\Software\Microsoft\NET Framework Setup\NDP\v4\Full
.Net framework 4.5 is represented in registry as v4 and this is what our setup is checking. So we think there is some issue with your particular environment.

We would highly appreciate a screenshot or a dump of the registry section I mentioned above.

Thanks.

archambeaud
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 25, 2014 8:55 am
Full Name: David Archambeau
Contact:

Re: Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V

Post by archambeaud » Aug 12, 2014 12:15 pm

Hi Sergey,

here is a dump af the registry:

Code: Select all

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\NET Framework Setup\NDP\v4\Full]
"Version"="4.5.51641"
"CBS"=dword:00000001
"TargetVersion"="4.0.0"
"Install"=dword:00000001
"InstallPath"="C:\\Windows\\Microsoft.NET\\Framework64\\v4.0.30319\\"
"Servicing"=dword:00000000
"Release"=dword:0005c733

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\NET Framework Setup\NDP\v4\Full\1033]
"Version"="4.5.51641"
"CBS"=dword:00000001
"TargetVersion"="4.0.0"
"Install"=dword:00000001
"Servicing"=dword:00000000
"Release"=dword:0005c733

Thanks

sergey.g
Expert
Posts: 455
Liked: 76 times
Joined: May 02, 2012 1:49 pm
Full Name: Sergey Goncharenko
Contact:

Re: Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V

Post by sergey.g » Aug 12, 2014 1:12 pm

Hi David,

Thank you for the quick response. I should've asked you in the previsou post, but could you also check the same thing there:

Code: Select all

HKLM\Software\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\NET Framework Setup\NDP\v4\Full
Thanks.

archambeaud
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 25, 2014 8:55 am
Full Name: David Archambeau
Contact:

Re: Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V

Post by archambeaud » Aug 12, 2014 1:30 pm

Yes,

no problem, here is the keys

Code: Select all

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\NET Framework Setup\NDP\v4\Full]
"Version"="4.5.51641"
"CBS"=dword:00000001
"TargetVersion"="4.0.0"
"Install"=dword:00000001
"InstallPath"="C:\\Windows\\Microsoft.NET\\Framework\\v4.0.30319\\"
"Servicing"=dword:00000000
"Release"=dword:0005c733

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\NET Framework Setup\NDP\v4\Full\1033]
"Version"="4.5.51641"
"CBS"=dword:00000001
"TargetVersion"="4.0.0"
"Install"=dword:00000001
"Servicing"=dword:00000000
"Release"=dword:0005c733


sergey.g
Expert
Posts: 455
Liked: 76 times
Joined: May 02, 2012 1:49 pm
Full Name: Sergey Goncharenko
Contact:

Re: Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V

Post by sergey.g » Aug 12, 2014 2:02 pm

Hi David,

Yes, we can see that your environment is fully compatible for the Veeam Task Manager, however we were not able to reproduce your issue on a Windows 8.1 machine with .Net Framework 4.5. We think that there is something in your environment which prevents correct installation. I have only clues about compatibility mode.

I would highly appreciate if you can open a ticket with our tech support team, let them know about this blog post - they'll help you collect setup logs, so that we can analyze the issue further.

Thanks.

sergey.g
Expert
Posts: 455
Liked: 76 times
Joined: May 02, 2012 1:49 pm
Full Name: Sergey Goncharenko
Contact:

Re: Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V

Post by sergey.g » Sep 04, 2014 12:47 pm

Hi Everyone,

Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V has been updated to support non-US locale settings on Hyper-V servers. You can download the updated version here:
http://hyperv.veeam.com/free-task-manag ... itoring-b/

Thank you all for your help with identifying the source of the issue.

Rick.Vanover
Veeam Software
Posts: 594
Liked: 126 times
Joined: Nov 30, 2010 3:19 pm
Full Name: Rick Vanover
Location: Columbus, Ohio USA
Contact:

Re: Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V

Post by Rick.Vanover » Apr 25, 2016 6:59 pm

Anyone from Veeam R&D have input on this situation (discussed in another forum):
https://community.spiceworks.com/topic/ ... ry-5748887

Alec King
VP, Product Management
Posts: 968
Liked: 197 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V

Post by Alec King » Apr 25, 2016 10:50 pm

From recollection, this is something caused by an issue with perfmon metrics on the host. About us matching VM ID with the relevant metrics. Perfmon is not reliable for this and sometimes we cannot get ID (or get 2 IDs for a single VM). Therefore we view this as 2 separate VMs. Can get more technical detail tomorrow. But essentially - it's not a bug in Veeam Task Manager, more of a limitation in perfmon.

Again - from my recollection - reboot of the host will fix it.

sergey.g
Expert
Posts: 455
Liked: 76 times
Joined: May 02, 2012 1:49 pm
Full Name: Sergey Goncharenko
Contact:

Re: Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V

Post by sergey.g » Apr 26, 2016 10:16 am

Also, keep in mind that these identical entries with "[1]" suffix are directly from Perfmon, we are not adding these suffixes. So, there is another object in the performance metrics manager on this machine. It could be cloned VM, maybe a replica. And I would agree with Alec that reboot should fix the issue.

Also, I've checked with support team, they recall the following conclusion for one similar case (which is unfortunate but by design of hyper-V):

"We suspect that issue might occurs by Hyper-V design, if dedicated resources for that machine run on multiple NUMA nodes."

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest