Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V in a single System Center Operations Manager Console
Post Reply
felyjos
Expert
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN
Contact:

VMTools update? Memory Settings?

Post by felyjos »

Hello,

I have two issues with our VM Environment:
- VMTools not up-to-date
- Memory not set to 'Unlimited" meaning a lot of the VM have been upgraded from 1 Gb to 2 Gb but still li
VM > Edit Settings > Resources > Memory limit with the old value
I would like to detect these two misconfigurations with nworks MP within SCOm is it doable?

Thanks,
DOm

Alec King
VP, Product Management
Posts: 1071
Liked: 239 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: VMTools update? Memory Settings?

Post by Alec King »

Hello Dominique,

Absolutely you can monitor VMware Tools status - there is an out-of-box Monitor for this built into the nworks MP :D

it is disabled by default, all you need to do is enable it with an override.

Monitor name is 'nworks VMware: VMware Tools Service Out-of-date'.
When you enable this, you will get a Warning alert for every VM where the VMTools version does not match the build of the ESX Host.
Upgrade the VMTools for a VM, and the alert will automatically close.

Note - there is also a Monitor for 'VMware Tools not running' that you also could find useful.

For Memory Limits - we do capture the memory Reservation for each VM, but not any Limit settings. I can take that as a feature request for a future update though!
Meantime, if you want really detailed configuration reporting, have you looked at our Veeam Reporter product?

Hope the above help, any questions let me know,

Cheers
Alec
Alec King
Vice President, Product Management
Veeam Software

felyjos
Expert
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN
Contact:

Re: VMTools update? Memory Settings?

Post by felyjos »

Hello Alec,

Excellent we noticed also that the CPU settings do not match the real allocation so I will have a look to Veeam reporter to try to catch the mismatches which seems to be more than expected... An update of the template will be the first step for us and then an update/reset of the VMs settings globally but this needs to be planned as it might have an impact not evaluated so far

Thanks,
Dom

felyjos
Expert
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN
Contact:

Re: VMTools update? Memory Settings?

Post by felyjos »

Hello Alec,

I checked VEEAM reporter but it does not seem I could compare
Selection:
Object Type: Virtual Machine
Columns: Name, CPU Limit, CPU Reservation, Memory Limit, Memorty Reservation
Custom Filter > Add condition > CPU : Limit (MHz) is (different) ... the next fie3ld accept only value not another field name !!!

Any idea?
Thanks,
DOm

felyjos
Expert
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN
Contact:

Re: VMTools update? Memory Settings?

Post by felyjos »

So I changed the selections and conditions...
I would like to know which VMs do not have the "unlimited" check boxes for CPU and memory checked.

Selection:
Object Type: Virtual Machine
Columns: Name, CPU Limit, Memory Limit, Memry Expandable
Custom Filter > Add condition > CPU : Limit (MHz) is (different) 'blank'
or Memory: Limit is (different) 'blank'
or CPU expandable is different from false

but this is not correct...
Any idea?

Thanks,
Dom

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24260
Liked: 1865 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: VMTools update? Memory Settings?

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello Dominique,

Let me chime in to your conversation... If you want to know and see which VMs are limited to resource usage, you may want to use just Memory Limit (MB) parameter, then group all VMs based on this parameter and create a report. This report will show you all the VMs but they will be grouped into separate sections which you can use further in your research.

The same steps should be applied while building a report for CPU allocations.

Hope this helps!

felyjos
Expert
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN
Contact:

Re: VMTools update? Memory Settings?

Post by felyjos »

thanks let me try this
Dom

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest