Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V
Post Reply
cyberswb
Influencer
Posts: 21
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 01, 2010 7:41 pm
Full Name: Shawn Barnhart
Contact:

Connect non-domain monitor client to domain-member server?

Post by cyberswb » Nov 21, 2012 6:06 pm

Hi-

I'm wondering if its possible for a non-domain member Veeam ONE monitor client to connect to a domain member server running the Veeam ONE Monitor server?

I've added a local user account to the server with the same username and password as is being used on the non-member client and added that same account to all the Veeam One security groups on the server, but I still get a "can't connect" error message.

The local user account can connect to the server with the monitor client when logged on locally, and a domain account can also connect when running the monitor client remotely.

I'm thinking that the connection to the server is using the local credentials in the format of "localmachinename\username" to connect and that's what's throwing it off, but there's no way to specify what remote credentials to use.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22773
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Connect non-domain monitor client to domain-member serve

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 21, 2012 8:27 pm

Hi Shawn,

Yes, you're right, there is no way to specify a user account to connect to Veeam ONE Server, as by default we are using the account you're currently logged in. However, you should be able to use local accounts with the same names and passwords, at least I've seen it working for some of our clients (will verify that).

Anyway, our support has a KB article that might help you in this situation: http://cp.veeam.com/knowledgebase/article/KB1550/

Thanks!

cyberswb
Influencer
Posts: 21
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 01, 2010 7:41 pm
Full Name: Shawn Barnhart
Contact:

Re: Connect non-domain monitor client to domain-member serve

Post by cyberswb » Nov 21, 2012 10:08 pm

Vitaly,

Thanks, that KB article was perfect, I added the reg key and can now connect.

For what it's worth, I did create a matching local account (same username, same password, added to all the Veeam ONE local groups on the server) and it didn't work.

Vitaly.Mzokov
Expert
Posts: 173
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Aug 23, 2010 8:30 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Mzokov
Contact:

Re: Connect non-domain monitor client to domain-member serve

Post by Vitaly.Mzokov » Nov 22, 2012 12:29 pm

Hey Shawn,

Thanks for the feedback.

As for your additional comment, this probably was related to some domain policies applied against a Veeam ONE Server, which prevent non-domain computers from connecting to domain machines.
I've got the same deployment scenario in my lab and I was able to connect to my Veeam ONE Server after utilizing the following command on my Veeam ONE Monitor client machine:

Code: Select all

NET USE \\Veeam_ONE_server_address
Hope it helps!

- VM.

roandr
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 04, 2013 1:31 pm
Full Name: Ronny Andreassen
Contact:

Re: Connect non-domain monitor client to domain-member serve

Post by roandr » Mar 04, 2013 1:56 pm

None of these suggestions worked for me.

I'm curious, why is there no way to specify what credentials to use and is this something the veeam team is looking into implementing?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22773
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Connect non-domain monitor client to domain-member serve

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 04, 2013 3:46 pm

Hi Ronny,

The steps provided in our KB article should address it, so I would suggest contacting our support team for assistance with this. On top of that, could you please share a bit more details on why domain account does not work for you? It would help us in addressing this problem in our future updates.

Thanks!

docfc
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 24, 2013 10:41 am

Re: Connect non-domain monitor client to domain-member serve

Post by docfc » Mar 04, 2013 4:10 pm

You *really* should add a credentials box for Veeam One Monitor.

The solution provided in the KB is really insecure.

By the way, the NET USE trick worked for me.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22773
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Connect non-domain monitor client to domain-member serve

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 04, 2013 4:38 pm

OK, good to know that you've solved it and thanks for the feature request.

docfc
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 24, 2013 10:41 am

Re: Connect non-domain monitor client to domain-member serve

Post by docfc » Jan 15, 2014 6:38 pm

Same problem with veeam ONE 7.X ??? I still can't connect to server from monitor client !

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22773
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Connect non-domain monitor client to domain-member serve

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 15, 2014 7:21 pm

Yes, there were no changes in regards to the configuration described above, so you should be using the techniques mentioned above.

docfc
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 24, 2013 10:41 am

Re: Connect non-domain monitor client to domain-member serve

Post by docfc » Jan 15, 2014 7:25 pm

Do http://www.veeam.com/kb1550 for 6.X still apply (same registry setting) ?
Thanks.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22773
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Connect non-domain monitor client to domain-member serve

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 15, 2014 7:27 pm

Yes, instructions from v6 should work.

docfc
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 24, 2013 10:41 am

Re: Connect non-domain monitor client to domain-member serve

Post by docfc » Jan 16, 2014 9:50 am

Well it doesn't work for me. I tried the reg. tweak (DisableClientUserCheck 1). Can you confirm ? Should i open a case ?

picture : https://filex.univ-lorraine.fr/get?auto ... t2jdmePaO1

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22773
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Connect non-domain monitor client to domain-member serve

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 16, 2014 9:58 am

I will verify with the devs.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22773
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Connect non-domain monitor client to domain-member serve

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 17, 2014 10:46 am

It appears that the reg key has stopped working in the latest release, thanks for pointing this out! As a workaround for now, please use "net use" cmdlet.

docfc
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 24, 2013 10:41 am

Re: Connect non-domain monitor client to domain-member serve

Post by docfc » Jan 17, 2014 1:35 pm

Thanks for your answer. I hope it will be fixed asap. It's very annoying for us !

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22773
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Connect non-domain monitor client to domain-member serve

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 24, 2014 10:27 am

Our support team has updated the KB article with new instructions, that should address the authorization problem.

docfc
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 24, 2013 10:41 am

Re: Connect non-domain monitor client to domain-member serve

Post by docfc » Jan 27, 2014 12:58 pm

Just to be sure. On a workgroup (our case), we need :
- reg tweak
AND
- same user account and password on both veeam one and monitor ?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22773
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Connect non-domain monitor client to domain-member serve

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 27, 2014 1:27 pm

Yes, according to our QC team this is all that you need to do to make it work.

docfc
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 24, 2013 10:41 am

Re: Connect non-domain monitor client to domain-member serve

Post by docfc » Jan 27, 2014 2:29 pm

Reg tweak doesn't work alone, is this right ? (i just tried with no result at all)

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22773
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Connect non-domain monitor client to domain-member serve

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 27, 2014 2:30 pm

Yes, you should also use the same user account.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests