Current memory pressure

Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V

Current memory pressure

Veeam Logoby frankive » Mon Nov 17, 2014 10:41 pm

I have just installed Veeam One for the first time for a review. I see a lot of Current memory pressure errors.. I guess this is due to dynamic memory..?
What do you do with this "error"?
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 719
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: Current memory pressure

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Nov 18, 2014 10:05 am

Yes, this is due to dynamic memory. Can you please tell me what is the triggered value for these alarms? What is your memory pressure for Hyper-V VMs?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Current memory pressure

Veeam Logoby frankive » Tue Nov 18, 2014 8:31 pm

The triggered value is 80% for warning.
I have never thought of what the VM really want. I have just set f.ex 512-2048 MB Ram for an sql-express server hosting a small database with 3-4 users.
I guess it is better to set the server to static 2048MB?
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 719
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: Current memory pressure

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Nov 18, 2014 9:25 pm

I would advise to adjust the thresholds to 110-120% for warning and 140-150% for error. I will ask our dev team to make it our default values in the next update.

Also I would not recommend using static memory for all your VMs, dynamic memory is a good way to effectively manage your available resources.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Current memory pressure

Veeam Logoby frankive » Tue Nov 18, 2014 10:53 pm

I need som explanation for how much the 80% is of? I though 80% was of the maximum defined of the dynamic memory?
Or am I wrong?

You have seen other customers with the same "errors" with a lot of alarms on the memory pressue with dynamic memory?
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 719
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: Current memory pressure

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Nov 19, 2014 11:46 am

Hi Frank,

Not exactly, memory pressure represents how much memory your VM want compared to allocated value. As long as this number stays under 100, you have enough available memory to service all virtual machines.

Here is a blog post from Microsoft for more info about memory pressure > http://blogs.technet.com/b/chrisavis/ar ... emory.aspx

Memory pressure can only occur when using dynamic memory, so it is expected to see these alerts triggered.

Let me know if that helps!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Current memory pressure

Veeam Logoby KennethLarsen » Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:41 pm

Is it still recommended to set hyper-v VM memory preassure to 100%+ ?

and what will that do to static memory alerts ?
KennethLarsen
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 7:21 am
Full Name: Kenneth Larsen

Re: Current memory pressure

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Jun 23, 2016 11:24 am

Yes, that's correct. Static memory will be just "reserved" from all available on the host.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Current memory pressure

Veeam Logoby Justin » Tue Nov 08, 2016 3:56 pm

Why have the default settings not been changed in Veeam One if it is Veeam's official policy to recommend changing them? I'm experiencing the same issue, it seems to make plenty of sense to have the thresholds be at 100% or greater, but why is One configured 'incorrectly' out of the box?
Justin
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 7:27 pm

Re: Current memory pressure

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Tue Nov 08, 2016 4:01 pm

Yes, it`s officially recommended to raise the thresholds. Most likely historically the threshold was 80% because of Microsoft recommendation back in a days.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 395 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov


Return to Veeam ONE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests