data collection intervall / logging level

Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V

data collection intervall / logging level

Veeam Logoby PatrickS1 » Fri Sep 21, 2012 5:21 pm

Hey

If I'm right Veeam ONE by default uses a collection interval of 15 minutes?
I was told that it is possible to go down to 1 minute to set up a very granular monitoring, is that right :?:
At the moment I can’t find such an option.
The only thing I found is the option when I add a new vCenter, to choose the logging level (low-high)
But I got no clue what impact this option has or if it has anything to do which what I'm talking about :shock:

The reason why I’m asking is that I need to monitor the I/O utilization of our datastores very precise because we got some issues with I/O peaks.
To avoid that such peaks vanish over time (as they would in vCenter by the data consolidation).
Some details how Veeam handles this would be really appreciated.

Regards
Patrick
PatrickS1
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 4:54 pm
Full Name: Patrick

Re: data collection intervall / logging level

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Sep 21, 2012 7:25 pm

Hi Patrick,

PatrickS1 wrote:If I'm right Veeam ONE by default uses a collection interval of 15 minutes?

Nope, Veeam ONE is using different performance intervals:

- 20 seconds for the past hour
- 5 minutes for the past week
- 2 hours for everything more than 1 week

PatrickS1 wrote:The only thing I found is the option when I add a new vCenter, to choose the logging level (low-high)
But I got no clue what impact this option has or if it has anything to do which what I'm talking about

This option has no impact on Veeam ONE collection engine.

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 20360
Liked: 1179 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: data collection intervall / logging level

Veeam Logoby PatrickS1 » Fri Sep 21, 2012 8:11 pm

Hey

Thank you for the quick response!
Are there any plans to offer an option to edit the intervals?

Regards
Patrick
PatrickS1
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 4:54 pm
Full Name: Patrick

Re: data collection intervall / logging level

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sat Sep 22, 2012 12:55 pm

Could you please tell me what intervals you would like to use instead of those?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 20360
Liked: 1179 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: data collection intervall / logging level

Veeam Logoby PatrickS1 » Sat Sep 22, 2012 1:37 pm

Hey

5 minutes for at least a month would be nice.
I'm aware that this will require way more performance from the database and a sql express probably won’t be able to handle this.

But as explained, we and as well customers are not happy with the way vCenter consolidates collected data over time.
So if you suffer on peak loads which you want to monitor over a longer period of time you won't be able the retroactive compare old and new data. And you won’t be able to review your peak moments.

The default intervals are okay for one week.
But for month, 2 hours are maybe too inaccurate in some cases.

That’s just the feedback we got from our customers as well as our experience when we need to do a long time monitoring like a “I/O load analysis” for a virtual infrastructure.
ps It would be so awesome if Veeam would cooperate with storage vendors like DataCore to gather data as well from their systems to offer a complete overview over an environment. Some vendors lack on a long term monitoring solution and we are just barely able to analyze the incoming load over time.

Regards
PatrickS1
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 4:54 pm
Full Name: Patrick

Re: data collection intervall / logging level

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sat Sep 22, 2012 5:28 pm

Thanks for the feedback, much appreciated!

Yes, you're right that storing 5 minutes data stamps will increase the size of your database dramatically. If you're fine with this fact, then please contact our support team for further instructions on how to change the default aggregations intervals. And one more thing, by VERY careful with these intervals, database size will be 4x larger that you currently have.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 20360
Liked: 1179 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

[MERGED] Veeam One Polling invervals

Veeam Logoby Banks1850 » Thu Nov 29, 2012 5:12 pm

I'm looking for a way to change the polling intervals veeam uses. Can anyone tell me if/how that is done?

thanks,

-Steve H.
Banks1850
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 4:23 pm
Full Name: Stephen Hare

Re: data collection intervall / logging level

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Nov 29, 2012 6:02 pm

Hi Steve, we do not recommend changing these intervals, but if you still want to change them, then please contact our support team for the instructions.

On a side note, can you please tell me what polling intervals you would like to change and why would you like to do this?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 20360
Liked: 1179 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

[MERGED] Metric before Azure migration

Veeam Logoby frankive » Sun Dec 31, 2017 12:56 pm

Can Veeam One be used to have a look at VMs on-premise to see the cpu cycle for 24h before estimating a size for the VM in Azure? Ram usage etc.?
How often is the metric measured?
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 773
Liked: 93 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

[MERGED] Metric before Azure migration

Veeam Logoby PTide » Mon Jan 01, 2018 11:59 am

Hi,

Yes, it can be used to see CPU and RAM usage for VMs, I guess you need this chart for CPU and this one for RAM. Although it wasn't designed specifically for pre-migration requirements analysis purpose, it still can be a good starting point.

Veeam ONE does not measure anything, it just gets all data from virtualization hosts.

Thanks
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3403
Liked: 283 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

[MERGED] Metric before Azure migration

Veeam Logoby frankive » Mon Jan 01, 2018 12:11 pm

how often does veeam one get their data from the hosts?
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 773
Liked: 93 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

[MERGED] Metric before Azure migration

Veeam Logoby PTide » Mon Jan 01, 2018 1:13 pm

That may vary, depending on the interval. Please check the adjacent thread. Also this report might be useful.

Thanks
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3403
Liked: 283 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: data collection intervall / logging level

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon Jan 01, 2018 5:40 pm

frankive wrote:Can Veeam One be used to have a look at VMs on-premise to see the cpu cycle for 24h before estimating a size for the VM in Azure? Ram usage etc.?

We are planning to add such an option in future releases.
For now I would suggest to review VM performance either with reports or in Monitor.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5382
Liked: 444 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: data collection intervall / logging level

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Jan 05, 2018 11:38 am

Frank, what production workloads are you planning to migrate to Azure?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 20360
Liked: 1179 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: data collection intervall / logging level

Veeam Logoby frankive » Sun Jan 07, 2018 11:50 am 1 person likes this post

Different types of workloads, including some citrix servers.
Veeam one seems to to a pretty good job to measure the cpu metric for us, so we are happy :)
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 773
Liked: 93 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Next

Return to Veeam ONE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest