Hardware information data is not available

Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V

Hardware information data is not available

Veeam Logoby vertices » Tue May 06, 2014 7:41 pm

I have Free Veeam One 7 running and I'm trying to monitor a couple of ESXi servers over the public internet. Some are free standalone ESXi, and other are paid and on a vCenter. I am unable to look at hardware info by selecting the host in Veeam one, and then going to the hardware tab on any host that doesn't have a full tunnel.

Now I have a couple of other hosts with full tunnel access. Those work fine. So I can only assume I have some ports wrong. However I reviewed the documentation and it appears that 443 and 5989 are required. For good measure, I have also allowed 80 and 5988. However no matter what I do, Veeam One works fine in all respects except for the hardware tab. If I have a full tunnel and using private IPs, it also works fine.

Looking that the firewalls in front of those hosts, I don't see anything being blocked. So nothing jumps out at me.

I even tried simply allowing all ports and it still didn't work.

Any ideas?





Also, if you are monitoring a vCenter, but then select a host off of that vCenter in Veeam Monitor, does Veeam One then communicate directly with the host? Or does it pull the CIM information via the vCenter it's configured with?
vertices
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 33
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 3:27 pm
Full Name: Rob Miller

Re: Hardware information data is not available

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed May 07, 2014 10:59 am

Are there any similarities between affected hosts, apart from absence of tunnel access (trying to limit the scope of potential issues)? They all are free ones, standalone, etc.? Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Hardware information data is not available

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed May 07, 2014 11:26 am

As to your question, even if the hosts are added as a part of vCenter, we still need to communicate with them directly, as it's not possible to collect some counters through VC. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Hardware information data is not available

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu May 08, 2014 7:27 pm

Looks like a firewall issue to me... btw do you use admin or read only account to connect to these hosts?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Hardware information data is not available

Veeam Logoby macgyver » Thu Jul 31, 2014 10:40 pm

Hello anything new on this issue ?

We have a support ticket open - veeam support is perfectly taking care - but no solution yet

Veeam One works perfect except for the hardware tab.

We installed Veeam One Version 7.0R2 no more updates available (7.0.0.876)

Even in fresh test setup with esxi 5.5 / vcsa ( VMware-vCenter-Server-Appliance-5.5.0.10300-1945271_OVF10.ova) / all admin accounts in a local network

no firewall all software components fully licensed Versions >

vcenter shows all affected hosts fine with hardware Information

in Veeam One still no hardware tab / empty window


it seems to be a vmware issue ( cim communication / sfcb-watchdog ) but we are not 100 % sure

maybe there are more ideas :idea: to look at ?

we are clueless :shock:
macgyver
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 6:03 pm

Re: Hardware information data is not available

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Aug 01, 2014 5:32 am

Can you please tell me your case ID, so I could take a look at this with our dev team?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Hardware information data is not available

Veeam Logoby macgyver » Fri Aug 01, 2014 6:08 am 1 person likes this post

Hello,

here is our Case ID :

Case 00520564
macgyver
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 6:03 pm

Re: Hardware information data is not available

Veeam Logoby macgyver » Fri Aug 01, 2014 7:34 am

we now have installed

R2a Update (build 7.0.0.919)

still same issue
macgyver
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 6:03 pm

Re: Hardware information data is not available

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Aug 01, 2014 7:38 am

Yes, I don't believe it has something to do with Veeam ONE version. Given that you have required permissions in-place and CIM server is up and running, then the reason for this should be easily detected after reviewing debug logs.

BTW, can you navigate to the "problematic" host -> Configuration -> Security profile -> Service properties -> CIM Server? Is it running?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Hardware information data is not available

Veeam Logoby macgyver » Fri Aug 01, 2014 8:13 am

all necessary services up & running

network test :

veeamone server > telnet > esxi host

port 80
port 443
port 5989
port 5988

all ports open and reachable

even if we put the esxi host standalone to veeam one with full root credentials

> no hardware tab / empty window

:shock:
macgyver
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 6:03 pm

Re: Hardware information data is not available

Veeam Logoby macgyver » Fri Aug 01, 2014 8:31 am

veeamdcs.log

i readded this host standalone to veeam one ( root account )
here are the results :-)
macgyver
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 6:03 pm

Re: Hardware information data is not available

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Aug 01, 2014 9:51 am

Macgyver, please avoid posting log snippets as it is advised by our forum rules. I have already asked your engineer to give our dev team your debug logs for review. Let's see what they can find out.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Hardware information data is not available

Veeam Logoby macgyver » Fri Aug 01, 2014 10:59 am

ok sorry
macgyver
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 6:03 pm

Re: Hardware information data is not available

Veeam Logoby macgyver » Mon Aug 11, 2014 8:10 pm

anything new ?

mac
macgyver
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 6:03 pm

Re: Hardware information data is not available

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Aug 11, 2014 8:14 pm

Hi Mac, your engineer says he cannot reach you via email. Let me follow up your case one more time.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Next

Return to Veeam ONE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests