Secure connection to Reporter and Business View Webpages

Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V

Secure connection to Reporter and Business View Webpages

Veeam Logoby stevenrodenburg1 » Thu Mar 21, 2013 9:08 pm

Hi,

Can the webpages of Reporter and Business View be secured with HTTPS ?

Current URL's:
Reporter: http://server.domain.tld:1239
Business View: http://server.domain.tld:1340

I cannot find any information on this. I am not talking about secure connections to vCenter etc.

Without https (SSL), the username and password entered in the webpage login-box of, for example, the Reporter, can easily be sniffed and read. This is unacceptable for many customers (especially in finance/insurance/government).
stevenrodenburg1
Expert
 
Posts: 115
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 9:11 am
Location: Switzerland
Full Name: Steven Rodenburg

Re: Secure connection to Reporter and Business View Webpages

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Mar 21, 2013 9:14 pm

Hi Steven,

Yes, that's possible. To do that you need to re-configure Reporter and BV websites in IIS to use HTTPS.

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1099 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Secure connection to Reporter and Business View Webpages

Veeam Logoby stevenrodenburg1 » Thu Mar 21, 2013 9:19 pm

I've been sniffing around in IIS but i'm no IIS guy. Are there any infos / how-to's you would like to share? I cannot find blogs or other sources.
stevenrodenburg1
Expert
 
Posts: 115
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 9:11 am
Location: Switzerland
Full Name: Steven Rodenburg

Re: Secure connection to Reporter and Business View Webpages

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Mar 21, 2013 9:37 pm 1 person likes this post

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1099 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Secure connection to Reporter and Business View Webpages

Veeam Logoby stevenrodenburg1 » Thu Mar 21, 2013 10:00 pm 1 person likes this post

Yes it did. Thanks. I figured it out.

Here is a small howto:

- Log on to the VeeamOne Server
- Make sure you have installed a valid certificate, just as you would for any website. Use a SAN (Subject Alternate Name) Certificate if possible as both the FQDN and Short-Name can be entered into the certificate and thus, in the URL in your browser.
- Open Administrative Tools -> Internet Information Services Manager
- Goto "Sites", right click and select "Switch to Feature View" if needed. This shows three sites (Default Web Site, VeeamBusinessView and VeeamReporter)
- Disable the IIS Default Website (which is unsecured) by stopping it in the right pane. The stopped state will survive a reboot so don't worry.

Modify the "BusinessView" Website to use HTTPS:
- Select "VeeamBusinessView" and click "Bindings" in the right pane.
- Add a HTTPS binding, IP Address: all unassigned, port 443 (for now, we will edit this later), Select your certificate.
- Now that a second binding exists, the HTTP binding can be removed. Remember the port (1340)
- Edit the HTTPS binding again, change the port 443 to 1340 (as it is no longer in use anymore, now that the HTTP binding is gone)
- Click "Close". You are now back in the "Sites View" where the BusinessView Website should have the "Started State" and is listening on port 1340 (HTTPS)

Modify the "Reporter" Website to use HTTPS:
- Select "VeeamReporter" and click "Bindings" in the right pane.
- Add a HTTPS binding, IP Address: all unassigned, port 443 (for now, again, we will edit this later), Select your certificate.
- Now that a second binding exists, the HTTP binding can be removed. Remember the port (1239)
- Edit the HTTPS binding again, change the port 443 to 1239 (as it is no longer in use anymore, now that the HTTP binding is gone)
- Click "Close". You are now back in the "Sites View" where the VeeamReporter Website should have the "Started State" and is listening on port 1239 (HTTPS)

Testing:
Use the normal URL's, but this time, with HTTPS instead of HTTP

The two sites:
Reporter: http://server.domain.tld:1239
Business View: http://server.domain.tld:1340

Become:
Reporter: https://server.domain.tld:1239
Business View: https://server.domain.tld:1340


The icons in the Start Menu and on the Desktop of the server cannot be modified to use HTTPS so they will not work anymore. However, you can add your own Icons with HTTPS URL's in them as needed:
Reporter:
Code: Select all
"C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe" https://veeam-one.domain.tld:1239

Business View:
Code: Select all
"C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe" https://veeam-one.domain.tld:1340



Done. Have a beer :-)


Question for Vitaliy: How will upgrades/patches react to this modification? Gracefull and leaving the modified bindings intact? Or does everything get reverted back to defaults (non HTTPS) ?
stevenrodenburg1
Expert
 
Posts: 115
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 9:11 am
Location: Switzerland
Full Name: Steven Rodenburg

Re: Secure connection to Reporter and Business View Webpages

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Mar 22, 2013 9:26 am

Hi, Steven. Thank you for sharing the information with the community; highly-appreciated.

As to your question, every custom setting shouldn’t be affected by patching/upgrading process.

Hope this helps.
Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Secure connection to Reporter and Business View Webpages

Veeam Logoby stevenrodenburg1 » Fri Mar 22, 2013 9:30 am

No Problem.

Oh by the way. I made a typo but i've lost the capability to edit that post. Could you please edit it and correct the following line under the "Modify the Reporter Website to use HTTPS" ?

The sentence:
- Click "Close". You are now back in the "Sites View" where the VeeamReporter Website should have the "Started State" and is listening on port 1340 (HTTPS)

Should become:
- Click "Close". You are now back in the "Sites View" where the VeeamReporter Website should have the "Started State" and is listening on port 1239 (HTTPS)


Thanks in advance,
Steven
stevenrodenburg1
Expert
 
Posts: 115
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 9:11 am
Location: Switzerland
Full Name: Steven Rodenburg

Re: Secure connection to Reporter and Business View Webpages

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Mar 22, 2013 9:51 am

You’re welcome.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Secure connection to Reporter and Business View Webpages

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Feb 17, 2015 1:34 pm

Just a quick update for future readers. We have documented the procedure above in our User Guide > http://helpcenter.veeam.com/one/80/depl ... sites.html
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1099 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to Veeam ONE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests