Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V

Re: Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Jul 04, 2013 8:01 am

Thanks for posting your ticket number, I will follow up with the support team on this.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

[MERGED] VEEAM One 7: Battery Charging warning after VEEAM

Veeam Logoby AlexBingen » Fri Oct 11, 2013 9:43 am

Hi all,

I just upgraded VEEAM One from 6.5 to V7. Right after the upgrade (that went without issues) I noticed all three ESX hosts created a warning simultaneously:

Sensor "Battery on Controller 0 Charging ..." equal Warning
Sensor "CPU1 Level-1 Cache DeviceID:1041.01" equal Unknown
Sensor "CPU1 Level-2 Cache DeviceID:1042.01" equal Unknown
Sensor "CPU1 Level-3 Cache DeviceID:1043.01" equal Unknown
Sensor "CPU2 Level-1 Cache DeviceID:1041.02" equal Unknown
Sensor "CPU2 Level-2 Cache DeviceID:1042.02" equal Unknown
Sensor "CPU2 Level-3 Cache DeviceID:1043.02" equal Unknown
Sensor "VMware Rollup Health State" equal Unknown

However the hardware sensors in VMWare show no problems. Due to the fact this happens on all three hosts exactly the same time, right after the upgrade i'm thinking this could be a bug.
Specs Evironment:
ESXi Host: DELL Poweredge R610, 2 socket Intel Xeon 5504, 98gb RAM
VMWare: Vsphere 4.1.0 Essentials
Storage DELL SAN Equallogic PS4000E + PS4100X storage pool.

Has anyone seen this before?
Thanks for your input.
AlexBingen
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 9:02 am
Full Name: Alex Bingen

Re: Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby hafesta » Fri Oct 11, 2013 1:35 pm

Same problem here since the update, except the batteryproblem. There are only question marks shown at the hardwarestatus-tab of the hosts in veeam one monitor.

ESXi Hosts: Intel S2600GZ, 2x Intel E5-2640, 256GB -> ESXi 5.1.0, 1157734
vShere 5.1.0 Build 1123961
hafesta
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:02 am

Re: Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Oct 11, 2013 1:42 pm

Please check these sensors in vSphere Client, pretty sure you will see the same unknown status for them.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby Terrum » Wed Nov 27, 2013 8:44 pm

I have three Dell PE620 servers each running ESXi 5.5, all joined in a cluster, vCenter version is 5.5.
In Veeam One Monitor v7 I got one alarm (warning) similar across all three hosts:

Sensor "CPU1 Level-1 Cache DeviceID:1041.01" equal Unknown
Sensor "CPU1 Level-2 Cache DeviceID:1042.01" equal Unknown
Sensor "CPU1 Level-3 Cache DeviceID:1043.01" equal Unknown
Sensor "CPU2 Level-1 Cache DeviceID:1041.02" equal Unknown
Sensor "CPU2 Level-2 Cache DeviceID:1042.02" equal Unknown
Sensor "CPU2 Level-3 Cache DeviceID:1043.02" equal Unknown

One of hosts also got "Sensor "VMware Rollup Health State" equal Unknown" added in the list and that's the most interesting one. I can suppress warnings like "CPU1 Level-1 Cache..." by selecting Suppress Alarm checkbox for each item with a question mark under Hardware/Processors, but I couldn't find any for "VMware Rollup Health State"...

I found VMware kb that seems relevant (though it's for vSphere v5.1 and below - http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/micros ... Id=2020665). I followed the steps suggested to verify if my host is running as expected and I confirmed that the "VMware Rollup Health State" on the server returns "Sensor is operating under normal conditions".

So, the host is running without any issues, and in vCenter Client I see no alerts or warning from any of sensors. Why then "Sensor "VMware Rollup Health State" equal Unknown" warning comes up in Veeam One?
Terrum
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 12:03 pm

Re: Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Nov 28, 2013 8:33 am

Hello,

Terrum wrote:I can suppress warnings like "CPU1 Level-1 Cache..." by selecting Suppress Alarm checkbox for each item with a question mark under Hardware/Processors, but I couldn't find any for "VMware Rollup Health State"...

This sensor should be located under System category, please check it out.

Terrum wrote:So, the host is running without any issues, and in vCenter Client I see no alerts or warning from any of sensors. Why then "Sensor "VMware Rollup Health State" equal Unknown" warning comes up in Veeam One?

That's not expected, all sensors should have the same state as in vSphere Client. Can you please contact our support team and let me know you case number?

Thank you!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby Terrum » Thu Nov 28, 2013 2:03 pm

Hi Vitaliy. I found "VMware Rollup Health State" under System category, and its status is "Green" - so far everything is the same as in vSphere Client, but I still have "Sensor "VMware Rollup Health State" equal Unknown" under Alarms, which just doesn't make any sense...

My case number: 00483875

Thank you!
Anton
Terrum
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 12:03 pm

Re: Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Nov 28, 2013 2:30 pm

Have you tried resolving this alarm manually?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby Terrum » Fri Nov 29, 2013 2:39 pm

No, I didn't try to resolve the alarm. However, it seems that changing Assign severity from Warning to Informational for the Sensor state "Unknown" under Alarm settings/Rules/Hardware sensor/Sensor state helped in my case, as the message "Sensor "VMware Rollup Health State" equal Unknown" was gone and didn't come back even after I changed severity back to Warning. I used info from this Veeam kb - http://www.veeam.com/kb_articles.html/kb1703
Terrum
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 12:03 pm

Re: Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Nov 29, 2013 2:52 pm

Hi Anton,

The reason why it didn't come back is that the state was reported as healthy in vSphere Client and I believe resolving the alarm manually would give the same effect.

Thanks for the update!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby Terrum » Fri Dec 06, 2013 2:22 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:Hi Anton,

The reason why it didn't come back is that the state was reported as healthy in vSphere Client and I believe resolving the alarm manually would give the same effect.

Thanks for the update!


In this situation I expect that Veeam One clears the alarm automatically - same way how vSphere Client does it.

That sounds odd to have to manually resolve an alarm which is not relevant anymore. I think this behavior makes these warnings/alarms very confusing, at least visually - how can I differentiate a real (true) alarm from the one that doesn't represent an existing issue anymore (false) ? Was that fixed in the recent R2 patch for Veeam One?
Terrum
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 12:03 pm

Re: Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Dec 06, 2013 3:26 pm

Yes, the default behavior is resolve all alarms automatically. The reason why I have proposed to do that was just to check that this sensor is collected properly.

Yes, hardware sensors monitoring logic has been adjusted to address this.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby Terrum » Fri Dec 06, 2013 4:50 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:Yes, the default behavior is resolve all alarms automatically. The reason why I have proposed to do that was just to check that this sensor is collected properly.

Yes, hardware sensors monitoring logic has been adjusted to address this.

Vitaliy,
I'm on the latest Veeam One v7 R2 build (version 7.0.0.912) and I'm seeing the following alarm in Veeam One on one of ESXi hosts:

Description
Sensor "VMware Rollup Health State" equal Warning
Sensor "System Board 1 Drive 0 2: Parity Check In Progress - Assert" equal Warning
Sensor "System Board 1 Drive 0 3: Parity Check In Progress - Assert" equal Warning

A few days ago I had a real disk parity check event on this host and I saw corresponding Yellow warning in vCenter Client while the check was in progress. However, the check finished a day ago, the "Parity Check" sensors in vCenter Client changed status from Yellow to Green, so everything should be back to normal, but according to Veeam One the check is still in progress and when I look under Hardware tab I see an exclamation mark on disk parity check sensor! How is that possible if Veeam One should reflect the same sensors status as vCenter Client?

After installing R2 patch, I tried to resolve the alarm manually, suppress and release it, even rebooted vCenter server and the server where Veeam One runs, but the alarm is still coming back every time. I'm guessing something is wrong with my Veeam One installation. My support case number is 00483875.

Thanks!
Terrum
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 12:03 pm

Re: Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sun Dec 08, 2013 6:39 pm

I will ask our dev team to take a look at this on Monday, thanks for posting your ticket number. All sensors should have the same view in both Veeam ONE and vSphere Client.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Dec 25, 2013 11:10 am

This issue has been fixed in the patch for Veeam ONE v7R2. You can download it using the same KB link > viewtopic.php?f=28&t=19698
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

PreviousNext

Return to Veeam ONE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests