Socket license not allocated to replaced host

Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V

Socket license not allocated to replaced host

Veeam Logoby millardjk » Wed Mar 15, 2017 2:46 pm

Here's a fun one...
Client has 27 sockets for Availability Suite, and through consolidation has reduced their actual usage to 18 sockets. So far, so good.
They're in the process of updating hardware from older G6 & G7 to Gen9 gear, and doing so using side-by-side migration: add the new host to inventory, migrate VMs to the new host, remove the old host from inventory. With VBR, the license re-allocation is going just fine: old hosts aren't "keeping" sockets, and there are no complaints from the license manager.

But VeeamONE is having problems. Through these migrations, now the ONE license manager is showing 31 sockets deployed, and the automatic exclusion rule is grabbing new hosts as they're being added to inventory and NOT releasing the old hosts as they're removed.

All the hosts are in the environment by way of the single vCenter, so I'm not getting "double dipping" due to adding them individually as well as in aggregate.

And because the old hosts aren't in inventory anywhere in the Infrastructure View, I can't figure out how to exclude/remove these old buggers so that the new ones will instead be able to use the license.

Here's the question: is this something that I should be able to fix using the GUI, or is this going to require a support call & running TSQL scripts against the ONE database to remove old cruft?
millardjk
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 93
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 3:50 am
Full Name: Jim Millard

Re: Socket license not allocated to replaced host

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Wed Mar 15, 2017 2:53 pm

Hello Jim,
That sounds like a topic to discuss with the support team as that`s not an expected behavior.
Although I would try to disable the default rule, create ax exclusion rule for the whole VI to release the sockets and then create an inclusion rule with the desired hosts.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4863
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Socket license not allocated to replaced host

Veeam Logoby millardjk » Wed Mar 15, 2017 2:55 pm

The "automatic exclusion rule" can't be disabled. I'll get a case opened with support.
millardjk
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 93
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 3:50 am
Full Name: Jim Millard

Re: Socket license not allocated to replaced host

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Wed Mar 15, 2017 3:11 pm

Could you specify your product version?
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4863
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Socket license not allocated to replaced host

Veeam Logoby millardjk » Wed Mar 15, 2017 3:13 pm

9.5.0.3254
millardjk
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 93
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 3:50 am
Full Name: Jim Millard

Re: Socket license not allocated to replaced host

Veeam Logoby millardjk » Wed Mar 15, 2017 3:33 pm

More research has shown that this may NOT be a VeeamONE issue, but an issue where the client isn't backing-up all the VMs he thought he was, hence the difference between the VBR and V1 socket allocation count!!!
millardjk
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 93
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 3:50 am
Full Name: Jim Millard

Re: Socket license not allocated to replaced host

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Wed Mar 15, 2017 3:47 pm

Veeam ONE licensing are not be affected by backed up VMs so please reach the support team.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4863
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Socket license not allocated to replaced host

Veeam Logoby millardjk » Wed Mar 15, 2017 3:59 pm

We know that they're not connected from a functional standpoint, but they *are* relevant from a licensing perspective: when you have Availability Suite, you get "one of each", and you'd like to make sure you're backing up VMs on all the hosts you're monitoring (and vice-versa).

We did figure it out: It's not VeeamONE that's making a mistake; the client wasn't looking in the right place and wasn't adding correctly to see that, in fact, he has 31 sockets in the entire environment, just like V1 says he has...not like vCenter seems to say. And now we ALSO know that we not only need more Availability Suite sockets, but we'll need more vSphere sockets, too!!
millardjk
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 93
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 3:50 am
Full Name: Jim Millard

Re: Socket license not allocated to replaced host

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:04 pm

Got it, thanks for the clarification!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4863
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Socket license not allocated to replaced host

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Thu Mar 16, 2017 7:41 am 1 person likes this post

@Jim,

While this probably is not pleasant for the customer (more vSphere sockets to pay for) at least you can see the value of VeeamONE clearly now. Imagine you didn't know it and there is an audit ;-)
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3165
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler


Return to Veeam ONE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests