Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V
Post Reply
millardjk
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 103
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Dec 09, 2012 3:50 am
Full Name: Jim Millard
Contact:

Socket license not allocated to replaced host

Post by millardjk » Mar 15, 2017 2:46 pm

Here's a fun one...
Client has 27 sockets for Availability Suite, and through consolidation has reduced their actual usage to 18 sockets. So far, so good.
They're in the process of updating hardware from older G6 & G7 to Gen9 gear, and doing so using side-by-side migration: add the new host to inventory, migrate VMs to the new host, remove the old host from inventory. With VBR, the license re-allocation is going just fine: old hosts aren't "keeping" sockets, and there are no complaints from the license manager.

But VeeamONE is having problems. Through these migrations, now the ONE license manager is showing 31 sockets deployed, and the automatic exclusion rule is grabbing new hosts as they're being added to inventory and NOT releasing the old hosts as they're removed.

All the hosts are in the environment by way of the single vCenter, so I'm not getting "double dipping" due to adding them individually as well as in aggregate.

And because the old hosts aren't in inventory anywhere in the Infrastructure View, I can't figure out how to exclude/remove these old buggers so that the new ones will instead be able to use the license.

Here's the question: is this something that I should be able to fix using the GUI, or is this going to require a support call & running TSQL scripts against the ONE database to remove old cruft?

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6303
Liked: 582 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Socket license not allocated to replaced host

Post by Shestakov » Mar 15, 2017 2:53 pm

Hello Jim,
That sounds like a topic to discuss with the support team as that`s not an expected behavior.
Although I would try to disable the default rule, create ax exclusion rule for the whole VI to release the sockets and then create an inclusion rule with the desired hosts.

millardjk
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 103
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Dec 09, 2012 3:50 am
Full Name: Jim Millard
Contact:

Re: Socket license not allocated to replaced host

Post by millardjk » Mar 15, 2017 2:55 pm

The "automatic exclusion rule" can't be disabled. I'll get a case opened with support.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6303
Liked: 582 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Socket license not allocated to replaced host

Post by Shestakov » Mar 15, 2017 3:11 pm

Could you specify your product version?

millardjk
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 103
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Dec 09, 2012 3:50 am
Full Name: Jim Millard
Contact:

Re: Socket license not allocated to replaced host

Post by millardjk » Mar 15, 2017 3:13 pm

9.5.0.3254

millardjk
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 103
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Dec 09, 2012 3:50 am
Full Name: Jim Millard
Contact:

Re: Socket license not allocated to replaced host

Post by millardjk » Mar 15, 2017 3:33 pm

More research has shown that this may NOT be a VeeamONE issue, but an issue where the client isn't backing-up all the VMs he thought he was, hence the difference between the VBR and V1 socket allocation count!!!

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6303
Liked: 582 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Socket license not allocated to replaced host

Post by Shestakov » Mar 15, 2017 3:47 pm

Veeam ONE licensing are not be affected by backed up VMs so please reach the support team.
Thanks!

millardjk
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 103
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Dec 09, 2012 3:50 am
Full Name: Jim Millard
Contact:

Re: Socket license not allocated to replaced host

Post by millardjk » Mar 15, 2017 3:59 pm

We know that they're not connected from a functional standpoint, but they *are* relevant from a licensing perspective: when you have Availability Suite, you get "one of each", and you'd like to make sure you're backing up VMs on all the hosts you're monitoring (and vice-versa).

We did figure it out: It's not VeeamONE that's making a mistake; the client wasn't looking in the right place and wasn't adding correctly to see that, in fact, he has 31 sockets in the entire environment, just like V1 says he has...not like vCenter seems to say. And now we ALSO know that we not only need more Availability Suite sockets, but we'll need more vSphere sockets, too!!

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6303
Liked: 582 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Socket license not allocated to replaced host

Post by Shestakov » Mar 15, 2017 4:04 pm

Got it, thanks for the clarification!

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5236
Liked: 552 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Socket license not allocated to replaced host

Post by Mike Resseler » Mar 16, 2017 7:41 am 1 person likes this post

@Jim,

While this probably is not pleasant for the customer (more vSphere sockets to pay for) at least you can see the value of VeeamONE clearly now. Imagine you didn't know it and there is an audit ;-)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests