Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V
Post Reply
spiritie
Expert
Posts: 126
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Mar 01, 2016 10:16 am
Full Name: Gert van Niekerk
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Veeam ONE v11 CPU usage

Post by spiritie »

Hi Forum

Is it expected that Veeam ONE after v11 uses a lot more CPU than previous versions?
Ours went from 6-8% everage to 90% average. The installation is not monitoring that much. It has 6x vCPU's and the SQL is hosted externally.
Specifically it is the "Veeam Data Collector Service" which is using almost all of the CPU.

Anyone else seen this behaviour?
Image

wishr
Veeam Software
Posts: 2320
Liked: 298 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: Veeam ONE v11 CPU usage

Post by wishr »

Hi Gert,

No, this is not expected and currently, we are collecting information about this issue through our technical support team. Could you please open a case and share your case ID?

Thanks

spiritie
Expert
Posts: 126
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Mar 01, 2016 10:16 am
Full Name: Gert van Niekerk
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Veeam ONE v11 CPU usage

Post by spiritie »

Hi wishr

I've created a case now: #04708029
Logs have been attached.

/Gert

wishr
Veeam Software
Posts: 2320
Liked: 298 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: Veeam ONE v11 CPU usage

Post by wishr »

Thank you! Let's see what technical support will find out.

m4ntic0r
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 23, 2021 6:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam ONE v11 CPU usage

Post by m4ntic0r »

Same problem here after upgrade to v11.
Any news?

wishr
Veeam Software
Posts: 2320
Liked: 298 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: Veeam ONE v11 CPU usage

Post by wishr »

Hi M4ntic0r,

No news at the moment. All cases we received about high CPU usage after the upgrade to v11 had different nature, usually not even related to the upgrade. So please open an independent support case and share your case ID here so we could track it.

Update: in a few of the "High CPU consumption" cases the root cause was related to incorrectly installed Veeam ONE Agent. We are still investigating this particular situation and need more information from customers experiencing the issue.

Thanks

spiritie
Expert
Posts: 126
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Mar 01, 2016 10:16 am
Full Name: Gert van Niekerk
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Veeam ONE v11 CPU usage

Post by spiritie » 1 person likes this post

@m4ntic0r our problem was because of the Veeam Agent was not correctly installed. If you are monitoring af VBR server with your Veeam ONE, please check if the "Agent" tab options are greyed out. We experienced this issue from this KB: https://www.veeam.com/kb3130

We re-installed the Veeam ONE Agent on the Veeam ONE server itself in order to resolve this issue: "Option 1" from the guide.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests