Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
aoakley
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 26, 2015 2:18 pm
Contact:

Active Full Backups + Wan Accelerator

Post by aoakley » Dec 26, 2015 2:21 pm

Hey All,

I am currently scheduled to start Active Full backup jobs once a month locally and am wondering when my next Backup Copy (W/ WAN Acceleration) job runs to offsite storage after this Active Full. Will the full amount of data from the active full (~5TB) be pushed out over the WAN or will Veeam utilize the cache on our WAN Accelerator?

Cheers

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 5969
Liked: 521 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Active Full Backups + Wan Accelerator

Post by Shestakov » Dec 26, 2015 3:40 pm

Hi,
Correct, WAN Accelerator is made to reduce amount of data sent by backupcopy job over the network. After the first run the .vbk will be transmitted, but after next active fulls only changes will be transmitted, not whole file.
Thanks!

NightBird
Service Provider
Posts: 158
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Apr 28, 2009 8:33 am
Location: Strasbourg, FRANCE
Contact:

Re: Active Full Backups + Wan Accelerator

Post by NightBird » Dec 26, 2015 3:47 pm

Nothing to do with wan accel or not

Backup copy job is another backup chain and do not do active full backup so only change will be push through the wan

With v9 it will be possible to do active full on backup copy job Instead of synthetic one

Boris

BlueComp
Influencer
Posts: 17
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Jan 28, 2015 12:20 pm
Contact:

[MERGED] Backup copy over WAN - active fulls?

Post by BlueComp » Mar 01, 2017 11:12 am

I want to do a backup copy over WAN, due to size/bandwidth I will need to seed the initial backup copy. I will be using forward incremental forever method, but I want to do weekly active full backups (to guard against storage corruption). Will the active fulls break the backup copy, ie. the entire full backup will have to be transferred over the WAN?

How can I minimise data over the WAN while also minimising the risks of corruption with incremental backups copied offsite?

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1220
Liked: 128 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Active Full Backups + Wan Accelerator

Post by DGrinev » Mar 01, 2017 11:58 am

Hi,

Active full isn't going to break the copy job as it doesn't have to be transferred over the WAN. The copy job will move only the latest state of VMs to the target.
There is a separate configuration for the copy job active fulls.
I highly recommend you to use synthetic full method for the copy job as it will reduce the amount of data transferred over the WAN.
To avoid corrupted chains there is a health-check configuration in advanced settings.

Thanks!

BlueComp
Influencer
Posts: 17
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Jan 28, 2015 12:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Active Full Backups + Wan Accelerator

Post by BlueComp » Mar 03, 2017 4:07 pm

Thankyou, that answers my questions.

mkretzer
Expert
Posts: 401
Liked: 80 times
Joined: Dec 17, 2015 7:17 am
Contact:

Re: Active Full Backups + Wan Accelerator

Post by mkretzer » Mar 05, 2017 8:22 pm

I still wonder: how does this work? How does Veeam know what changed - it cannot utilize VMware CBT can it? Even if it would use CBT it still works if VMware CBT is reset as far as i can remember... Does it scan the entire backup file on the source? That would mean alot of IO which we did not see in the past in that kind of situations...

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16832
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Active Full Backups + Wan Accelerator

Post by foggy » Mar 06, 2017 10:55 am

Veeam B&R keeps metadata for every backup, containing block checksums, which are used to define the data changed since the last cycle.

mkretzer
Expert
Posts: 401
Liked: 80 times
Joined: Dec 17, 2015 7:17 am
Contact:

Re: Active Full Backups + Wan Accelerator

Post by mkretzer » Mar 06, 2017 1:12 pm

Your product is just excellent!

That means i can have a backup which only copies the data every few months even if i do not have all the increments with the changes because it can always use the latest backup and get the changes which were done since the last copy?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16832
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Active Full Backups + Wan Accelerator

Post by foggy » Mar 06, 2017 2:18 pm

Correct. Backup copy can have its own schedule with longer copy interval than the corresponding source backup job has. It will retrieve only changed blocks to build the restore point containing the latest VM state available in source repository. The size of this incremental restore point, though, can be comparable to the size of the full backup, due to the amount of changes occurred (if we're talking about several months copy interval).

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 16 guests