Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
TBone
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 12, 2014 4:14 pm
Full Name: Brian
Contact:

Backing up Nimble Array Slow

Post by TBone » May 23, 2014 8:36 pm

I know this isn't really a Veeam issue, but thought I would ask here if anyone has seen this.

We used to have a Lefthand array and that ran very smoothly during our backups. Now we have changed to Nimble (hybrid storage) and when the backups run, they definitely go over the SAN network, however everything seems to grind to a halt. Not just the machines being backed up, either. Our performance monitors start throwing latency alerts. Servers take a long time respond, etc.

Veeam version is 7.0 with the latest updates. Single Veeam server running Win 12R2.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24914
Liked: 3613 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Backing up Nimble Array Slow

Post by Gostev » May 26, 2014 12:18 am

Brian, I have not really heard similar feedback from other Nimble users, so it is quite possible that something is simply not setup right in your deployment?

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5753
Liked: 1642 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Backing up Nimble Array Slow

Post by dellock6 » May 26, 2014 10:44 pm

Brian, before dropping any comment, does it happens on full backups only or also for incremental backups? I have an explanation if the former but first I need a confirmation from you.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

adriand
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Aug 13, 2012 7:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Backing up Nimble Array Slow

Post by adriand » May 30, 2014 6:34 am 1 person likes this post

Not sure if relevant, but we had a customer doing VMware direct SAN backups with Nimble SAN in the back and he did not configure all available Nimble interfaces as data (only 2 x 1Gbps from 5 available) and also his backup proxy had 2 x1Gbps interfaces directly hooked into the SAN network. So when backup started its sucked out all data SAN bandwidth available impacting the entire environment.
Once we properly configured his Nimble data interfaces and put a bw cap on the proxy, things started to work correctly.

Thanks,
Adrian

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests