Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
speja01
Lurker
Liked: never

Best practices for replication job on SQL Server server

Post by speja01 »

Good Afternoon,

I'm new to Veeam and just joined a company which uses it to backup and replicate servers. I have a general best practices question for you. The Veeam admin here currently has a replication job running for my SQL Server which does have the application awareness turned on for SQL doing copy only for the logs. It runs continuously throughout the day. He also has a backup job running against the server doing a full image backup. It also has the application awareness turned on with copy only. I noticed that throughout the day as the replication job is running the I/O on the server is paused and resumed several times. The average time between the pause and resume is typically around 10-12 seconds. What is an acceptable time for the pause and resume? Also, If we continue doing the full image backup and turn on the trans log backups through Veeam, would there still be a need to do the application awareness during replication? Just curious as to what your thoughts are or your best practices.

Thanks
Rick.Vanover
Veeam Software
Liked: 167 times
Full Name: Rick Vanover

Re: Best practices for replication job on SQL Server server

Post by Rick.Vanover »

Hi spreja01 - welcome to the Veeam Forums!

Veeam image-based backup jobs thru the day are interesting - usually not required to be that frequent however with the log management that has been around for a bit. I frequently see backup or replication jobs daily - and much more frequent log-management (either the copy as you have or the delete) job intervals.

So it sounds like the copy of logs is running throughout the day, and the backup job running as well.