Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
jbarrow.viracoribt
Expert
Posts: 184
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Feb 15, 2013 9:31 pm
Full Name: Jonathan Barrow
Contact:

Can I Replicate an Exchange Cluster with Veeam...

Post by jbarrow.viracoribt » Feb 08, 2016 8:45 pm

Can I Replicate an Exchange Cluster with Veeam without users noticing any issues? For instance, they aren't going to get disconnected from each server and prompted for credentials or to restart Outlook all day long (or every time a snapshot is taken). We have a three node Exchange cluster, 2 nodes at site A, 1 node at site B. We want to replicate the nodes at A to B, and from B to A but were fearful of end user issues during replication.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 7000
Liked: 717 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Can I Replicate an Exchange Cluster with Veeam...

Post by Shestakov » Feb 08, 2016 10:33 pm

Hello Jonathan,
Replication job as well as backup may have a long snapshot commit time, thus impact the end user performane.
I would give it a try to and review the job statistics.

Do you also backup this Exchange cluster? What vSphere version are you at?
Thanks!

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23067
Liked: 1582 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Can I Replicate an Exchange Cluster with Veeam...

Post by Vitaliy S. » Feb 09, 2016 12:11 pm

Also you may want to adjust tolerance values for this Exchange cluster, there was an existing topic about the same question.

jbarrow.viracoribt
Expert
Posts: 184
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Feb 15, 2013 9:31 pm
Full Name: Jonathan Barrow
Contact:

Re: Can I Replicate an Exchange Cluster with Veeam...

Post by jbarrow.viracoribt » Feb 09, 2016 1:13 pm

Shestakov wrote:Hello Jonathan,
Replication job as well as backup may have a long snapshot commit time, thus impact the end user performane.
I would give it a try to and review the job statistics.

Do you also backup this Exchange cluster? What vSphere version are you at?
Thanks!
We are using a NetApp FAS8020 which has storage snapshot capability by the way. Will this help with the snapshot commit time?

We are on vSphere 5.5 still. We do not currently backup this cluster, we don't snapshot it at all right now.

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5308
Liked: 467 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Can I Replicate an Exchange Cluster with Veeam...

Post by P.Tide » Feb 09, 2016 2:49 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi,
Will this help with the snapshot commit time?
Yes, this will help. The whole thing works in the following way:

- vmware takes a snapshot of VM that is to be backed up
- storage system takes it's own snapshot that contains aforementioned vmware's snapshot within it
- vmware snapshot is released
- backup is taken from storage snapshot
- storage snapshot is released

Intergration with storage snapshots reduces an impact on production because the lifetime of vmware snapshot gets significantly reduced.

For more info please refer to this thread and helpcenter.

Thank you.

jmmarton
Veeam Software
Posts: 1706
Liked: 230 times
Joined: Nov 17, 2015 2:38 am
Full Name: Joe Marton
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: Can I Replicate an Exchange Cluster with Veeam...

Post by jmmarton » Feb 09, 2016 7:09 pm

jbarrow.viracoribt wrote: We are on vSphere 5.5 still.
You may want to look at upgrading to vSphere 6.0 with Update 1b. VMware has made significant changes to snapshot consolidation which may make a significant difference in performance to reduce (if not eliminate) potential issues during backup and replication jobs. One of our solutions architects has done some informal testing and noticed a night and day difference between 5.5 vs 6.0U1b. Here's an article about the changes as well.

http://cormachogan.com/2016/01/06/snaps ... phere-6-0/

Joe

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 29 guests