Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
rjhindley
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Can't delete Old Replica Listings

Post by rjhindley » Feb 27, 2012 6:32 am

We recently moved some ESXi hosts to a new vCenter. I am trying to delete some old replicas listings inside the "Backups & Replications > Replicas" view. I have sucessfully deleted the replicas themselves, but I am still left with an empty container within the Veeam "Backup & Replications > Replicas" view which I am unable to delete. If I right-click it and select "Remove from Replicas" or "Delete from Disk", I get an error saying "Host with id (long GUID) was not found" and the listing remains. A minor irritation, I suppose, but it would be nice to clean things up.

Any ideas?

Richard

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25083
Liked: 3668 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Can't delete Old Replica Listings

Post by Gostev » Feb 27, 2012 7:38 am

You should not be able to delete the Replicas container, it is a persistent tree node. You will see it even right after the clean product install.

rjhindley
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: Can't delete Old Replica Listings

Post by rjhindley » Feb 27, 2012 10:07 am

Apologies - perhaps I was not clear.

It is not the actual container I am trying to delete, it is a particular defunct headings (i.e. Job Names) within the container. E.g. I have a job name labelled "In Use Replication Daily" which contains nothing (i.e. No Replicas), but which is impossible to delete. When I try to delete it, I just get the error " "Host with id (long GUID) was not found".

Thanks

Richard

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23184
Liked: 1602 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Can't delete Old Replica Listings

Post by Vitaliy S. » Feb 27, 2012 10:12 am

Richard, I believe you should contact our support team to clean these records from the configuration database.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18439
Liked: 1588 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Can't delete Old Replica Listings

Post by foggy » Feb 27, 2012 10:31 am

Am I understanding right, that if you select the "Replicas" node to the left, you have an empty record with the job name in the right panel with no actual VMs under it? Not sure how to reproduce this, but it seems that some outside infrastructure changes caused this record to be left alone and if UI refresh/restart does not help, I think you need to edit some DB entries to correct this. I would advice to go with support through this.

rjhindley
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: Can't delete Old Replica Listings

Post by rjhindley » Mar 03, 2012 4:18 pm

It happened because we moved the host to a different vCenter - I guess this caused the host GUID to change, and hence the error "Host with id (long GUID) was not found" when we try to delete the record.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23184
Liked: 1602 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Can't delete Old Replica Listings

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 04, 2012 6:11 pm

This makes sense, registering host/VM within a new vCenter Server generates new object ID for this object.

cmdrriker
Enthusiast
Posts: 28
Liked: never
Joined: May 06, 2010 11:59 am
Full Name: Will Smith
Contact:

Re: Can't delete Old Replica Listings

Post by cmdrriker » Mar 20, 2012 12:06 am

For what it's worth, I have the same problem. And I also had moved my esx hosts from one virtual center to another.

mlinders
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 26
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Apr 22, 2012 10:42 pm
Full Name: Mark Linders
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Can't delete Old Replica Listings

Post by mlinders » Apr 22, 2012 11:01 pm

Had the same problem and figured it wouldnt be too hard to trick the system to remove the stale Replica listings.
I used the following procedure to remove the old replica's:

What we need:
- SQL Management Studio 2008 R2 Express (since we need to mess with the database).
- VMware vSphere client

The ID that Veeam is nagging about. For this example:
fea4d0ec-082b-475e-a724-b33c29496a0a

Use VMware vSphere client to add another VMkernel for management traffic to one of your hosts. It is only temporary since we are going to delete it after we fixed Veeam.
Give this VMKernel an IP address that your Veeam server can connect to (in this example 10.0.10.2)
Add the server to Veeam using this new IP address: 10.0.10.2

Use SQL Management Studio to connect to the Veeam database.
- Open the database: "VeeamBackup"
- Select "dbo.Hosts" under "Tables"
- Right click and select "Show top 1000 Rows"

- Find the above IP 10.0.10.2 that we just added. It will show the IP under Name if you added it to Veeam by IP address. Notice the ID...this is the ID Veeam is looking for.
Try to remove your replica and note down the ID Veeam is asking for. Right click dbo.Hosts and select "Edit top 200 Rows". Change the ID of our temp server 10.0.10.2 to the ID Veeam is asking for. (e.a. fea4d0ec-082b-475e-a724-b33c29496a0a) P.S. Dont forget to <ENTER> after entering the ID and use "Right Click -> Execute" to save the changes.

Now remove your stale Replica's.

Finally:
- Remove the temp server 10.0.10.2 from Veeam
- Remove the temp VMkernel from Vsphere
- All should be fixed again. Enjoy

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23184
Liked: 1602 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Can't delete Old Replica Listings

Post by Vitaliy S. » Apr 24, 2012 8:32 pm

Hi Mark, thanks for sharing your resolution, but please note that we do not recommend to perform any direct SQL database interactions.

mlinders
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 26
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Apr 22, 2012 10:42 pm
Full Name: Mark Linders
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Can't delete Old Replica Listings

Post by mlinders » Apr 27, 2012 12:41 pm

Hi Vitaliy,

I agree that interacting with the SQL database is not something I would recommend doing too often. The above "workaround" is for this specific scenario only and would beat reinstalling Veeam in total. Logging a support case with Veeam would be the proper way for the less daring (read smart people) among us.

It would be better if a future patch will prevent the situation from happening all together. Why not give the possibility to remove an Old Replica listing if the host ID doesnt excist in the database. Since the host is not in the database the replica listing is useless by itself. Something for the DEV team i reckon.

Best Regards,
Mark

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18439
Liked: 1588 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Can't delete Old Replica Listings

Post by foggy » Apr 28, 2012 1:39 pm

Mark, I agree that its better to avoid such obsolete things in UI. I've passed this to our QC team and possibly in future versions there will be an ability to remove such records (i.e. no error message in case of deletion attempt).

cyberfed
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Nov 03, 2011 11:59 am
Contact:

Re: Can't delete Old Replica Listings

Post by cyberfed » Jun 26, 2014 6:37 pm

I found the answer to the Host not found. ID [GUID] problem.

Look in your database under the Folder_Host table.
In there you should see the GUID that Veeam is complaining about. Delete the row. Presto problem solved open up Veeam again and you might get an error for ANOTHER GUID, repeat the process until you dont get an error when opening up Veeam.

This worked for us on 6.5 and we are back up and running. We had moved our vCenter server to a new physical host when we encountered the issues w/veeam.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23184
Liked: 1602 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Can't delete Old Replica Listings

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jun 27, 2014 1:43 pm

Thanks for sharing, but it is highly not recommended to do changes in the database without guidance of our support team.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests