Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
deduplicat3d
Expert
Posts: 100
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Nov 04, 2011 8:21 pm
Full Name: Corey
Contact:

Change VCenter on Existing Backup

Post by deduplicat3d » Dec 22, 2011 12:22 am

I have an existing backup job with "Machine X". I then moved "Machine X" to a new VCenter, but kept the same UUID (I confirmed that uuid.bios was the same for the vm on each host). Then, after running the backup job again, the machine appears as a separate VM in the list.

Is there a way to have it show up as the same VM (assuming that I am doing everything correctly).

Will the deduplication be equally as good when it shows up as a separate VM (in the same job) compared to if it shows up as the same VM (in the same job).

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18037
Liked: 1533 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Change VCenter on Existing Backup

Post by foggy » Dec 22, 2011 8:18 am

Corey, Veeam B&R tracks the unique moref ID of a VM (assigned by vCenter), not the UUID. Every VM registration in the inventory generates a new moref ID that is why your VM appears as a separate VM in the list.

As for dedupe, it should not be affected in this case.

Thanks.

deduplicat3d
Expert
Posts: 100
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Nov 04, 2011 8:21 pm
Full Name: Corey
Contact:

Re: Change VCenter on Existing Backup

Post by deduplicat3d » Dec 23, 2011 1:13 am

Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests