Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
doomi
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 38
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Aug 11, 2015 3:31 pm
Full Name: Dominic Wyss
Contact:

changed vmdk size, how to resume replication?

Post by doomi » Apr 05, 2016 7:26 am

Hi

the customer resized a VMDK of the source VM. the backup just did a new full transfer of the VMDK and backed up normally after that.
but the replication of this VM now gets the error: invalid snapshot configuration detected.

how can I resume replication without doing a complete retransfer?
can I delete the destination snapshots, manually resize the destination VMDK to the same size and then seed?

doomi
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 38
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Aug 11, 2015 3:31 pm
Full Name: Dominic Wyss
Contact:

Re: changed vmdk size, how to resume replication?

Post by doomi » Apr 05, 2016 7:52 am

interestingly, the customer did resize another VM, which worked just fine:
04.04.2016 22:45:48 :: VM disk size changed since last sync, deleting all restore points

is this a new feature in v9, that it handles VMDK resizes better in replications?
because the first VMDK resize happend in v8 just before the upgrade and fails now with the "invalid snapshot configuration" error.

v.Eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 15807
Liked: 1252 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: changed vmdk size, how to resume replication?

Post by v.Eremin » Apr 05, 2016 9:52 am

is this a new feature in v9, that it handles VMDK resizes better in replications?
Nope, the said behaviour of handling replica disk resize has existed since version 8, so, I'm not sure why you originally got the said error. Thanks.

doomi
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 38
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Aug 11, 2015 3:31 pm
Full Name: Dominic Wyss
Contact:

Re: changed vmdk size, how to resume replication?

Post by doomi » Apr 05, 2016 9:56 am

I had the same "invalid snapshot" error already once, when the customer shrinked a vmdk and had to do a complete retransfer.
that's why I'm interested in a way to fix it with seeding or at least keep all other vmdks.

doomi
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 38
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Aug 11, 2015 3:31 pm
Full Name: Dominic Wyss
Contact:

Re: changed vmdk size, how to resume replication?

Post by doomi » Apr 05, 2016 12:24 pm

ok, I'm trying to fix it as of the following KB:
https://www.veeam.com/kb1773

I will let you know tomorrow how it worked out.

skrause
Expert
Posts: 368
Liked: 66 times
Joined: Dec 08, 2014 2:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Krause
Contact:

Re: changed vmdk size, how to resume replication?

Post by skrause » Apr 05, 2016 1:55 pm

doomi wrote:I had the same "invalid snapshot" error already once, when the customer shrinked a vmdk and had to do a complete retransfer.
that's why I'm interested in a way to fix it with seeding or at least keep all other vmdks.
Since shrinking a VMDK requires quite a bit of manual voodoo and could possibly remove parts of the "disk" that are being referred to in the snapshot, I can see how an invalid snapshot error might occur.

Veeam will handle increasing the size of VMDKs fine in most cases in my experience.
Steve Krause
Veeam Certified Architect

doomi
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 38
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Aug 11, 2015 3:31 pm
Full Name: Dominic Wyss
Contact:

Re: changed vmdk size, how to resume replication?

Post by doomi » Apr 15, 2016 7:30 am

it worked as described in this KB:
https://www.veeam.com/kb1773

I had troubles getting rid of alle the old VMware snapshots. had to try a few times with adding and removing the VMDKs, creating/deleteing/consolidate snapshots.
but in the end I could resume the replication (which took a VERY long time for fingerprinting, because it's a 700GB VMDK).

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests