changed vmdk size, how to resume replication?

VMware specific discussions

changed vmdk size, how to resume replication?

Veeam Logoby doomi » Tue Apr 05, 2016 7:26 am

Hi

the customer resized a VMDK of the source VM. the backup just did a new full transfer of the VMDK and backed up normally after that.
but the replication of this VM now gets the error: invalid snapshot configuration detected.

how can I resume replication without doing a complete retransfer?
can I delete the destination snapshots, manually resize the destination VMDK to the same size and then seed?
doomi
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 38
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 3:31 pm
Full Name: Dominic Wyss

Re: changed vmdk size, how to resume replication?

Veeam Logoby doomi » Tue Apr 05, 2016 7:52 am

interestingly, the customer did resize another VM, which worked just fine:
04.04.2016 22:45:48 :: VM disk size changed since last sync, deleting all restore points

is this a new feature in v9, that it handles VMDK resizes better in replications?
because the first VMDK resize happend in v8 just before the upgrade and fails now with the "invalid snapshot configuration" error.
doomi
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 38
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 3:31 pm
Full Name: Dominic Wyss

Re: changed vmdk size, how to resume replication?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Apr 05, 2016 9:52 am

is this a new feature in v9, that it handles VMDK resizes better in replications?

Nope, the said behaviour of handling replica disk resize has existed since version 8, so, I'm not sure why you originally got the said error. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13255
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: changed vmdk size, how to resume replication?

Veeam Logoby doomi » Tue Apr 05, 2016 9:56 am

I had the same "invalid snapshot" error already once, when the customer shrinked a vmdk and had to do a complete retransfer.
that's why I'm interested in a way to fix it with seeding or at least keep all other vmdks.
doomi
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 38
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 3:31 pm
Full Name: Dominic Wyss

Re: changed vmdk size, how to resume replication?

Veeam Logoby doomi » Tue Apr 05, 2016 12:24 pm

ok, I'm trying to fix it as of the following KB:
https://www.veeam.com/kb1773

I will let you know tomorrow how it worked out.
doomi
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 38
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 3:31 pm
Full Name: Dominic Wyss

Re: changed vmdk size, how to resume replication?

Veeam Logoby skrause » Tue Apr 05, 2016 1:55 pm

doomi wrote:I had the same "invalid snapshot" error already once, when the customer shrinked a vmdk and had to do a complete retransfer.
that's why I'm interested in a way to fix it with seeding or at least keep all other vmdks.


Since shrinking a VMDK requires quite a bit of manual voodoo and could possibly remove parts of the "disk" that are being referred to in the snapshot, I can see how an invalid snapshot error might occur.

Veeam will handle increasing the size of VMDKs fine in most cases in my experience.
Steve Krause
Veeam Certified Architect
skrause
Expert
 
Posts: 296
Liked: 45 times
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Krause

Re: changed vmdk size, how to resume replication?

Veeam Logoby doomi » Fri Apr 15, 2016 7:30 am

it worked as described in this KB:
https://www.veeam.com/kb1773

I had troubles getting rid of alle the old VMware snapshots. had to try a few times with adding and removing the VMDKs, creating/deleteing/consolidate snapshots.
but in the end I could resume the replication (which took a VERY long time for fingerprinting, because it's a 700GB VMDK).
doomi
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 38
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 3:31 pm
Full Name: Dominic Wyss


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 29 guests