Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
marius roma
Expert
Posts: 459
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Feb 01, 2012 12:04 pm
Full Name: Mario
Contact:

Cloning a partition

Post by marius roma » May 31, 2013 10:05 am

How can I use Veeam B&R to clone a partition?
On a vSphere 5 infrastructure I have a Windows Server 2008 R2 based VM with a vDisk (vDisk1) whose size is 50 GB.
Partition 1 is 30 GB wide and Partition B is 20 GB wide.
I need to enlarge Partition 1 so I plan to creare a new vDisk (vDisk2) to host Partition B in order to free space on vDisk1 to enlarge Partition 1.
All the features of the files included in Partition 2 must be preserved, including ownership, security, authorization and so on.
How can I use Veeam B&R to move Partition 2 from vDisk 1 to vDisk2 maintaining all the files and properties?
Regards
marius

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17138
Liked: 1482 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Cloning a partition

Post by veremin » May 31, 2013 10:21 am 1 person likes this post

In fact, Veeam doesn’t work on a partition level, but on a virtual disk one, instead. So, it doesn’t seem to be a perfect solution in this case.

From my perspective, in order to copy data from one existing partition to a new one you’d rather utilize native Windows tools, like Robocopy with special switches responsible for preserving required information (attribures, permissions, etc.).

As to necessary Robocopy switches, /COPYALL appears to be exactly what you’re after:

Code: Select all

/COPYALL:: COPY ALL file info (equivalent to /COPY:DATSOU). Copies the Data, Attributes, Timestamps, Ownser, Permissions and Auditing info.
Hope this helps.
Thanks.

marius roma
Expert
Posts: 459
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Feb 01, 2012 12:04 pm
Full Name: Mario
Contact:

Re: Cloning a partition

Post by marius roma » May 31, 2013 10:48 am

Thank you for the answer.
To be honest it's the solution I used in the past.
I was just looking for a smarter solution...
Regards
marius

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17138
Liked: 1482 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Cloning a partition

Post by veremin » May 31, 2013 10:51 am

I think Robocopy would more than enough in this case, especially, when there is no huge amount of data that needs to be copied - only 20 GB. So, you should be good with the aforesaid scenario.

If any additional questions arise, don’t hesitate to let us know. Thanks.

homerjnick
Expert
Posts: 211
Liked: 35 times
Joined: Feb 20, 2012 4:13 pm
Full Name: Nick Mahlitz
Contact:

Re: Cloning a partition

Post by homerjnick » Jun 03, 2013 3:41 pm

Since it is Server 2008 can you not just grow the vdisk and then in Disk Management grow partition 2, or even use simple partition tools to resize them?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests