Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
pkelly_sts
Veteran
Liked: 66 times
Full Name: Paul Kelly

Difference between Backp & Replication (and how to restore)

Post by pkelly_sts »

I've been using Veeam for backps for around 9 months now and have it deployed in 3 sites. On 2 of those sites I have it working nicely with Direct SAN access so backups run at plenty acceptable speeds and all is well.

I'm now looking to architect a solution for a (4th) DR site with the potential to, at least backup but possibly also replicate 2 sites to this DR site, whilst also cutting out the need for removal of tapes off site on a daily basis.

My grand plan, as we are quite spoilt with available hardware is along the following lines:

#Main site#
Primary site with the most VMs (around 35) running on 5 hosts with around 8Tb of FC-based VMFS volumes provisioned to the hosts.
10 x Enterprise B&R CPU licenses
Single B&R server with R/O FC SAN access backing up to both internal storage (15Tb) & external (and different) FC storage (20Tb)
MSL2024 with 2 x LTO-4 tape library SAS-attached to B&R Server dumping Veeam backups to tape nightly
MSL4048 with 2 x LTO-3 SCSI tape drives currently not doing a great deal
100Mb P2P link to DR site
Daily incremental change rate of around 100Gb, synthetic fulls on a Friday night/sat morning
14 restore points retained
Tapes taken offsite daily by Iron Mountain & held for 1 week before being returned.

#DR Site#
An ever-decreasing footprint of active users / VMs so current aging infrastructure being replaced with DR kit
Current remaining VMs being backed up (badly!) by vRanger
10/15 miles away from main site
2 "Spare" servers with FC connectivity ready to deploy as DR Host servers
6 x Enterprise B&R CPU licenses
60Tb (useable) of FC & iSCSI RAID-5 SATA storage for DR/Backup purposes ready to deploy
2 x FC SAN Switches
MSL6030 tape library with 2 x FC-attached LTO-3 FC tape drives
100Mb P2P link back to main site