Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
skydok
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 68
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Jun 11, 2012 12:04 pm
Contact:

Din'tt Understand the Report of replication

Post by skydok » Oct 13, 2012 1:33 pm

First time that job Run, so its no incremental.
The Machines are Linux Suze 11 Enterprise. The same OS .

how is it possible that
total size is 12GB
R\DataRead only 3GB?

Transfered 1.4GB
and Backup Size is 400MB?

why is dedup 1.x and also compression?


Image
Storage Solution Specialist
Veeam FAN
@shatztal
Blog: http://www.skydok.com

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22772
Liked: 1525 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Din'tt Understand the Report of replication

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 13, 2012 9:07 pm

Hello,

"Read" is amount of data read from disk (zero blocks are omitted/skipped). As regards "transferred" metric then this is the amount of data transferred to target, after source-side dedupe and compression. On the target side this data is uncompressed, because replicated VMs have to be stored in native format, uncompressed. That is why dedupe and compression are reported as 1.x.

Thank you!

skydok
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 68
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Jun 11, 2012 12:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Din'tt Understand the Report of replication

Post by skydok » Oct 14, 2012 12:49 pm

1.OK so the Read i understood and thought about it so you assured me , thanks.
2.we can disaTransfered Data should be but more than 1.4 GB ,or not? the 2 Machines are 12 GB , very ODD .
3.Backup Size 480 MB, what does it mean because its not Backup , its a Replication job.
4.Dedupe & Compression. you say only with Replication i will see always the same ? always 1.x ?
Storage Solution Specialist
Veeam FAN
@shatztal
Blog: http://www.skydok.com

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22772
Liked: 1525 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Din'tt Understand the Report of replication

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 15, 2012 8:47 am

2. Not at all, since only 3.4 GBs of data has been read and was compressed to 1.4 GBs, which makes sense if you have many files that can easily be compressed (Word docs etc.). What kind of data do these servers have?
3. According to your report below, this number disaplays the "Horizon Connector" VM transferred data. Let me take a look at my replication job reports for more info.
4. Yes, compression will always be 1.x, but the dedupe ratio might not.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22772
Liked: 1525 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Din'tt Understand the Report of replication

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 15, 2012 12:38 pm

Ok, I have just looked through my internal lab reports and it seems to be a bug in this report. In my case "backup size" is reported as one of the "transferred" sizes, while "backup size" should be the size of VM replica including all restore points (snapshots). Thanks for the heads up!

skydok
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 68
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Jun 11, 2012 12:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Din'tt Understand the Report of replication

Post by skydok » Oct 17, 2012 9:02 am

Thank you for the Reply , i hope they fix it in the 6.5 Release.
Storage Solution Specialist
Veeam FAN
@shatztal
Blog: http://www.skydok.com

barnettd
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 13, 2012 5:22 pm
Contact:

[MERGED] Backup size field in email notifications unexpected

Post by barnettd » Dec 19, 2013 5:48 pm

This is a new replication job. What is the backup size field in the pic below? I was expecting it to be something like 11.6GB, not 83MB.

Image

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16699
Liked: 1394 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Din'tt Understand the Report of replication

Post by veremin » Dec 22, 2013 11:51 am

It seems that the amount of transferred data for the first VM has been picked up as the "Backup size". I'm wondering what product version you're using. Thanks.

skydok
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 68
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Jun 11, 2012 12:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Din'tt Understand the Report of replication

Post by skydok » Dec 29, 2013 12:42 pm

I don'y believe its the v7.x because i confirmed myself with the jobs so it works good , i think that maybe you need to update to latest version and than continue.
Storage Solution Specialist
Veeam FAN
@shatztal
Blog: http://www.skydok.com

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dantoncancella, Frohn, ncapponi and 40 guests