Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
jamerson
Expert
Posts: 324
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Does CDP require two vCenter servers?

Post by jamerson »

I am not sure If this question has already been asked please forgive me if it already happens.
to use CDP do I need two Vcenters?
for one of our customer are using replication job on V10 is this something similar to CDP?
we are aware of the update to V11 to use CDP but the customer wanna update ( buy license if needed).

Thank you

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 28160
Liked: 4971 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Does CDP require two vCenter servers?

Post by Gostev » 1 person likes this post

No, CDP does not require multiple vCenters.
And yes, it is indeed similar to replication jobs.

Thanks!

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 324
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: Does CDP require two vCenter servers?

Post by jamerson »

@Gostev thank you for your quick answer.
does it means we can use it with one vCenter the only thing to do is upgrade the license?
why should I use it instead if replication ?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 18329
Liked: 1798 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Does CDP require two vCenter servers?

Post by veremin » 1 person likes this post

Correct, one vCenter is enough here.

CDP should only be used for protecting VMs running mission-critical applications for which data loss of 15 minutes or more cannot be tolerated. Snapshot-based replication cannot guarantee RPO in seconds.

You can check the corresponding section of User Guide to get familiar with the technology and its capabilities.

Thanks!

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 324
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: Does CDP require two vCenter servers?

Post by jamerson »

Thank you for your answer.
I managed to test this with on the lab, I noticed the schedule run 24/7.
how to configure it correctly if we have every night one backup.
we want to test it,
customer got 5 servers which are critical business ( Exchange / DC/ File server /SQL Server / Oracle Server ).
every night we have a backup and want those CDP to run during office hours and not block the backup.
is there some white paper ( beste practise )how to do so ?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 18329
Liked: 1798 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Does CDP require two vCenter servers?

Post by veremin »

You can run CDP policy 24/7, the running backup job will not collide with it. If you want to put it on hold for certain hours, use "Schedule" button (first one). Thanks!

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 324
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: Does CDP require two vCenter servers?

Post by jamerson »

Thank you for your quick answer.
on the schedule I have two options which are not quick clear to me yet. apologies.
Application consistent and crash consistentent. cannot seems to find anything about.
what are the differences and which one to use? why VEEAM automatically use ( selected ) application consist?

also at the schedule part I cannot seems to unselect some hours. the only option I have is to chose application or crash consistent.

Thank you

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 18329
Liked: 1798 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Does CDP require two vCenter servers?

Post by veremin »

You seem to use the second Schedule button, while I was talking about the first one.

The one you're trying to change refers to CDP long-term restore points that are created less frequently (once a day or once in a few hours).

Such restore points can be in crash-consistent state (that same as after a system failure or power outage) or in application-consistent state (additional logic will be applied to application running inside VM to prepare it for replication). And this is what the second Schedule button defines.

You can read more about different retention types here, and about application-aware processing here.

Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests