Double backup - Symantec-Veeam

VMware specific discussions

Double backup - Symantec-Veeam

Veeam Logoby marius roma » Fri Oct 06, 2017 2:08 pm

A critical VM is currently backed-up using Symantec BESR.
I want to unify the backup method and use Veeam as the dafault backup.
Is there any known issue if, for a limited time (days or weeks) the same VM is backed up at different times either from Symantec BESR and Veeam B&R?
Regards
marius
marius roma
Expert
 
Posts: 331
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 12:04 pm
Full Name: Mario

Re: Double backup - Symantec-Veeam

Veeam Logoby skrause » Fri Oct 06, 2017 2:16 pm

By BESR you are referring to Symantec System Recovery, correct?

Since Veeam is an image level backup at the hypervisor level you should be good. I have a few legacy servers backed up with Veeam that still have System Recovery installed/running and have not seen an issue with Veeam. Of course, I have not had to recover anything with Symantec in my time here (and I am not sure anyone who worked here previously has had to either to be honest).

Your amount of change blocks might be a little higher if System Recovery is flagging files but I would imagine you won't see a huge difference.
Steve Krause
Veeam Certified Architect
skrause
Expert
 
Posts: 308
Liked: 45 times
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Krause

Re: Double backup - Symantec-Veeam

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Oct 10, 2017 12:16 pm 1 person likes this post

I'd recommend

- making sure that both backup activities do not overlap
- only application taking care about specific VSS operations (if, of course, VM runs Exchange, AD or similar) such as log truncation, etc.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13728
Liked: 1027 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest