Error: There is no FIB

VMware specific discussions

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Veeam Logoby boyjaew » Thu Sep 24, 2015 3:52 pm

I just wanted to chime in and bump this. I have decided to just start with recreating the bkp copy job. I am on v. 8.0.0.2030 and got the FIB error. Mostly just an FYI rather than a request for input. Just thought someone might be interested to know it's still occurring.
Code: Select all
9/24/2015 12:50:11 AM :: Error: There is no FIB [summary.xml] in the specified restore point.
Failed to restore file from local backup. VFS link: [summary.xml]. Target file: [MemFs://frontend::CDataTransferCommandSet::RestoreText_{46e79f52-6017-4b6b-8b88-2e36a16b5065}]. CHMOD mask: [0].
Agent failed to process method {DataTransfer.RestoreText}.
boyjaew
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue May 20, 2014 5:16 pm
Full Name: JB

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Sep 25, 2015 12:24 pm

Did you let support know about that, and let them investigate this? Otherwise, this will simply continue occurring ;)
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Veeam Logoby 13977 » Wed Dec 09, 2015 11:36 am

We are getting this error on a backup copy job that has been working fine since it was set up in April. The job has three VM's, one VM is processed successfully and and two fail.
The full error we are getting is:

There is no FIB [summary.xml] in the specified restore point.
Failed to restore file from local backup. VFS link: [summary.xml]. Target file: [MemFs://frontend::CDataTransferCommandSet::RestoreText_{9faee25a-9a63-4df3-8912-7fdd54064a2a}]. CHMOD mask: [37353276].
Agent failed to process method {DataTransfer.RestoreText}.

We have discovered it is only happening with one of two USB drives that are rotated, using the same copy job.
The drive that has the problem has 189GB free where as the one that works has over 1TB free. Could the be disk space related? The drives are the same size and have the same retention period as they use the same copy job so I would expect them to have the same amount of free space? If you think that it is disk space related? I've tried lowering on re-retention but it hasn't freed up any space, can I manually delete file on the drive?

Many thanks in advanced.
13977
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 11:19 am
Full Name: Matt Bell

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Dec 09, 2015 2:33 pm

Matt, I'd let support take a look at your setup. Have you compared the size and the number of files stored on both disks?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Veeam Logoby 13977 » Wed Dec 09, 2015 2:45 pm

Thanks for the reply foggy.
I've had a case open with support for two days now and not had any reply from them despite requesting an update.
Comparing the number of files on each USB drive the one with the problem has 133 files and the one that working fine has 110. However I don't think the retention period is working on the copy job as it shows .vib files going all the way back to April when the job was setup. I tried lowering the retention period of the copy job last week when we started having the problem but hasn't freed up any space.
13977
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 11:19 am
Full Name: Matt Bell

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Dec 09, 2015 2:47 pm

The behavior doesn't look expected, could you please provide the case ID, so I could check with your support engineer? Thanks.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Veeam Logoby 13977 » Wed Dec 09, 2015 2:50 pm

Cheers foggy you're a star mate.
Case ID# 01214133
13977
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 11:19 am
Full Name: Matt Bell

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Veeam Logoby tntteam » Mon Jan 04, 2016 9:07 am

Hi there,

Getting the FIB error on a backup copy job too, last version.

I'll make a SR (edit : SR 01255967 ) and let your know.

That might be because I did not format my repository using "large NTFS File Record Segment (FRS)" but I had another repository without FRS and I got the large FRS specific error wheareas here I only get this FIB error.
And If I could correct this error without having to move / format / move that would be cool.

28/12/2015 14:25:43 :: Failed to perform backup file verification

28/12/2015 14:29:42 :: Processing ged2 Error: There is no FIB [summary.xml] in the specified restore point.
Failed to restore file from local backup. VFS link: [summary.xml]. Target file: [MemFs://frontend::CDataTransferCommandSet::RestoreText_{7ead4f82-7d06-40dc-ada8-10357e344edd}]. CHMOD mask: [0].
Agent failed to process method {DataTransfer.RestoreText}.
tntteam
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 46
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 12:40 pm
Full Name: tntteam

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Veeam Logoby Filip » Mon Jan 04, 2016 3:42 pm

I managed to solve this by manually deleting the VM's from the repository that woudn't backup, including the archived full backup.
Filip
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 12:29 pm
Full Name: Filip Smeets

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Veeam Logoby tntteam » Tue Jan 05, 2016 4:24 pm

Hello

How did you do it ?
It was a bug with regular backups or backup copy jobs ?
You deleted from the regular backup repository or both ?
You used the "Backups->Disk->right click on VM->Delete from disk" menu ?

THanks for the infos
tntteam
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 46
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 12:40 pm
Full Name: tntteam

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Jan 06, 2016 11:26 am

Hello, I think Filip wiped out the entire VM backup chain from the main repository and the one which is used for a backup copy job. Thank you!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Veeam Logoby dv8tor » Mon Jan 18, 2016 12:57 am

What Filip did worked for me.

Thanks
dv8tor
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 12:54 am
Full Name: Chris H

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Veeam Logoby rogerdu » Thu Nov 03, 2016 2:22 pm

I am getting the "There is no FIB" error on a backup copy job as well, however it only happens on the 2nd backup copy job. Using v9 with the latest update, I have the job chain setup this way:
- Regular backup job (incremental with weekly synthetic backup, 14 retention points)
- Local Backup copy job based on backup job above (14 restore points, Keep: 4 x Weekly backups, 84 x Monthly restore points) <- this works fine every day
- Remote Backup copy job based on backup job above (14 restore points, Keep: 4 x Weekly backups, 84 x Monthly restore points) <- this fails with the FIB error every day
- The remote backup copy job uses WAN accelerators to move data from site a to site b

Should I be opening a support case?
rogerdu
Expert
 
Posts: 108
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 1:16 pm
Full Name: Roger Dufour

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Nov 07, 2016 2:13 pm

Yes, please.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Previous

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests