Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
boyjaew
Influencer
Posts: 17
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 20, 2014 5:16 pm
Full Name: JB
Contact:

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Post by boyjaew » Sep 24, 2015 3:52 pm

I just wanted to chime in and bump this. I have decided to just start with recreating the bkp copy job. I am on v. 8.0.0.2030 and got the FIB error. Mostly just an FYI rather than a request for input. Just thought someone might be interested to know it's still occurring.

Code: Select all

9/24/2015 12:50:11 AM :: Error: There is no FIB [summary.xml] in the specified restore point.
Failed to restore file from local backup. VFS link: [summary.xml]. Target file: [MemFs://frontend::CDataTransferCommandSet::RestoreText_{46e79f52-6017-4b6b-8b88-2e36a16b5065}]. CHMOD mask: [0].
Agent failed to process method {DataTransfer.RestoreText}.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18158
Liked: 1542 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Post by foggy » Sep 25, 2015 12:24 pm

Did you let support know about that, and let them investigate this? Otherwise, this will simply continue occurring ;)

13977
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 09, 2015 11:19 am
Full Name: Matt Bell
Contact:

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Post by 13977 » Dec 09, 2015 11:36 am

We are getting this error on a backup copy job that has been working fine since it was set up in April. The job has three VM's, one VM is processed successfully and and two fail.
The full error we are getting is:

There is no FIB [summary.xml] in the specified restore point.
Failed to restore file from local backup. VFS link: [summary.xml]. Target file: [MemFs://frontend::CDataTransferCommandSet::RestoreText_{9faee25a-9a63-4df3-8912-7fdd54064a2a}]. CHMOD mask: [37353276].
Agent failed to process method {DataTransfer.RestoreText}.

We have discovered it is only happening with one of two USB drives that are rotated, using the same copy job.
The drive that has the problem has 189GB free where as the one that works has over 1TB free. Could the be disk space related? The drives are the same size and have the same retention period as they use the same copy job so I would expect them to have the same amount of free space? If you think that it is disk space related? I've tried lowering on re-retention but it hasn't freed up any space, can I manually delete file on the drive?

Many thanks in advanced.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18158
Liked: 1542 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Post by foggy » Dec 09, 2015 2:33 pm

Matt, I'd let support take a look at your setup. Have you compared the size and the number of files stored on both disks?

13977
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 09, 2015 11:19 am
Full Name: Matt Bell
Contact:

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Post by 13977 » Dec 09, 2015 2:45 pm

Thanks for the reply foggy.
I've had a case open with support for two days now and not had any reply from them despite requesting an update.
Comparing the number of files on each USB drive the one with the problem has 133 files and the one that working fine has 110. However I don't think the retention period is working on the copy job as it shows .vib files going all the way back to April when the job was setup. I tried lowering the retention period of the copy job last week when we started having the problem but hasn't freed up any space.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18158
Liked: 1542 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Post by foggy » Dec 09, 2015 2:47 pm

The behavior doesn't look expected, could you please provide the case ID, so I could check with your support engineer? Thanks.

13977
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 09, 2015 11:19 am
Full Name: Matt Bell
Contact:

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Post by 13977 » Dec 09, 2015 2:50 pm

Cheers foggy you're a star mate.
Case ID# 01214133

tntteam
Enthusiast
Posts: 63
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Aug 28, 2015 12:40 pm
Full Name: tntteam

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Post by tntteam » Jan 04, 2016 9:07 am

Hi there,

Getting the FIB error on a backup copy job too, last version.

I'll make a SR (edit : SR 01255967 ) and let your know.

That might be because I did not format my repository using "large NTFS File Record Segment (FRS)" but I had another repository without FRS and I got the large FRS specific error wheareas here I only get this FIB error.
And If I could correct this error without having to move / format / move that would be cool.
28/12/2015 14:25:43 :: Failed to perform backup file verification
28/12/2015 14:29:42 :: Processing ged2 Error: There is no FIB [summary.xml] in the specified restore point.
Failed to restore file from local backup. VFS link: [summary.xml]. Target file: [MemFs://frontend::CDataTransferCommandSet::RestoreText_{7ead4f82-7d06-40dc-ada8-10357e344edd}]. CHMOD mask: [0].
Agent failed to process method {DataTransfer.RestoreText}.

Filip
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 25, 2011 12:29 pm
Full Name: Filip Smeets
Contact:

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Post by Filip » Jan 04, 2016 3:42 pm

I managed to solve this by manually deleting the VM's from the repository that woudn't backup, including the archived full backup.

tntteam
Enthusiast
Posts: 63
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Aug 28, 2015 12:40 pm
Full Name: tntteam

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Post by tntteam » Jan 05, 2016 4:24 pm

Hello

How did you do it ?
It was a bug with regular backups or backup copy jobs ?
You deleted from the regular backup repository or both ?
You used the "Backups->Disk->right click on VM->Delete from disk" menu ?

THanks for the infos

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22874
Liked: 1540 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 06, 2016 11:26 am

Hello, I think Filip wiped out the entire VM backup chain from the main repository and the one which is used for a backup copy job. Thank you!

dv8tor
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 18, 2016 12:54 am
Full Name: Chris H
Contact:

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Post by dv8tor » Jan 18, 2016 12:57 am

What Filip did worked for me.

Thanks

rogerdu
Expert
Posts: 143
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Aug 20, 2013 1:16 pm
Full Name: Roger Dufour
Contact:

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Post by rogerdu » Nov 03, 2016 2:22 pm

I am getting the "There is no FIB" error on a backup copy job as well, however it only happens on the 2nd backup copy job. Using v9 with the latest update, I have the job chain setup this way:
- Regular backup job (incremental with weekly synthetic backup, 14 retention points)
- Local Backup copy job based on backup job above (14 restore points, Keep: 4 x Weekly backups, 84 x Monthly restore points) <- this works fine every day
- Remote Backup copy job based on backup job above (14 restore points, Keep: 4 x Weekly backups, 84 x Monthly restore points) <- this fails with the FIB error every day
- The remote backup copy job uses WAN accelerators to move data from site a to site b

Should I be opening a support case?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18158
Liked: 1542 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Post by foggy » Nov 07, 2016 2:13 pm

Yes, please.

mrholm
Enthusiast
Posts: 55
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Apr 20, 2018 8:12 am
Full Name: Mats Holm
Contact:

[MERGED] There is no FIB [summary.xml] in the specified restore point

Post by mrholm » Aug 20, 2018 7:05 am

Hi
Environment is Veeam 9.5U3 on VBR server and Proxies.
Backup is done locally in remote office to local attached disk as Windows Repo.
Backup is Incrementals with Synthetic Full and Transform into rollbacks.
We save 30 Points
Backup has been working 100% until this weekend where it fail at synthetic full with the below error, next incremental is OK

Previous full backup chain transformation failed Error: There is no FIB [summary.xml] in the specified restore point.
Referring to kb1778 I need to do a new Active Full backup to solve the situation, no problem but is the chain with 30 restore Points corrupt and unusable?
I will schedule an Active full for tonight but still worried about the previous backups

//Mats

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10456
Liked: 850 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: There is no FIB [summary.xml] in the specified restore p

Post by Dima P. » Aug 20, 2018 11:13 am

Hello Mats,

Do not delete or modify existing restore points. Instead, please open the case, support team should be able to identity whats going on with the hand of your Veeam B&R debug logs. Please do not forget to include the case ID in this thread. Cheers!

Vrieling
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 22, 2018 6:25 am
Full Name: ICT Beheer
Contact:

Re: There is no FIB [summary.xml] in the specified restore point

Post by Vrieling » Nov 14, 2018 1:14 pm

Hi,

I'm having the same problem in a similar setup.
The first time the issue occured was last week. This weekend, a new full backup was performed, but the issue still persists.
What can we do to solve this problem ?

wishr
Veeam Software
Posts: 1103
Liked: 111 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: There is no FIB [summary.xml] in the specified restore point

Post by wishr » Nov 14, 2018 1:51 pm

Hi Vrieling,

Welcome to Veeam community forums and thank you for the question.

Please note, that according to Veeam forum rules, you should include support case ID when posting about any technical issue, as requested when you click the "New topic" button. Please reach out our support team for extensive investigation and post your case ID here - we'll keep an eye on it.

Thanks

zadrian
Enthusiast
Posts: 84
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Jul 14, 2015 8:26 am
Contact:

Re: There is no FIB [summary.xml] in the specified restore point

Post by zadrian » Nov 15, 2018 1:34 am

This is happening to me also....quite all of the sudden.

Is there a resolution or is veeam just pushing to support just like the millions of customer email account leak where veeam just kept quiet and then push to elsewhere ?

wishr
Veeam Software
Posts: 1103
Liked: 111 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: There is no FIB [summary.xml] in the specified restore point

Post by wishr » Nov 15, 2018 10:08 am

Hi Zadrian,

For each issue, we require to perform at least basic info collection, then do the analysis in order to offer an appropriate solution. This initial step is done on the support team end. If somebody will be glad to post their case ID we'll be able to assist from the product management perspective.

Thanks

wishr
Veeam Software
Posts: 1103
Liked: 111 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: There is no FIB [summary.xml] in the specified restore point

Post by wishr » Nov 15, 2018 10:14 am

Please also note, that for each case the root cause could be different, that's why we require all the logs and additional information on each case. Just to make sure a solution we offer will work in your particular situation.

Regards,
F

kemtis
Service Provider
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 16, 2019 12:22 am
Full Name: Kemtis Kunanuraksapong
Contact:

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Post by kemtis » Jun 19, 2019 10:16 pm

Same issue here.
case ID# 03597797 and forgot that I have it opened. opened another one a few days ago ID# 03597797
Only/always answer I've got is to run active full. which I did twice.

wishr
Veeam Software
Posts: 1103
Liked: 111 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Post by wishr » Jun 20, 2019 9:24 am

Hi Kemtis,

Thanks for posting your case IDs.

We'll take another look at this situation. Note, that there is a chance that we'll need additional information from you.

Regards,
Fedor

MarcoSCH
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 12, 2019 9:01 am
Full Name: Marco Schönhoff
Contact:

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Post by MarcoSCH » Sep 12, 2019 9:43 am

Hello,

on last month we got the same Error:

There is no FIB in the specified restore point. Failed to restore file from local backup.

On the first Server the error appears with Veeam Version 9.5.4.2753.

Now with the current Version 9.5.4.2866 we got the same Error on the next Server.

Last time we deleted the server on the replicate site and replicate it again.

But with a 50Mbit connection it takes a while...

So it is no satisfactorily solution to create a new Full Backup again and again every month..

Is there any Solution out there for this problem?

Many thanks in advance

Marco

wishr
Veeam Software
Posts: 1103
Liked: 111 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Post by wishr » Sep 12, 2019 10:43 am

Hi Marco,

Welcome to Veeam Community Forums and thanks for posting!

Have you already created a support case? If so, what's your case ID?

Thank you

MarcoSCH
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 12, 2019 9:01 am
Full Name: Marco Schönhoff
Contact:

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Post by MarcoSCH » Sep 13, 2019 12:15 pm

Hi wishr,

my case ID was 03699401

wishr
Veeam Software
Posts: 1103
Liked: 111 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Post by wishr » Sep 16, 2019 10:17 am

Hi Marco,

Unfortunately, since do not know any details, I can only recommend a workaround: delete the latest VBK from the corresponding replica folder on the repository (make sure you have a copy, just in case) and restart your replica job - it will re-calculate all the digests, but in this particular situation, this is the only advice we can share.

Thanks

MarcoSCH
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 12, 2019 9:01 am
Full Name: Marco Schönhoff
Contact:

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Post by MarcoSCH » Sep 17, 2019 2:09 pm

Hi wishr,

thank you for the reply.

On the repository we only have vmdk-files. But when I delete them, I have to take a full-backup again.

Which details do you need? I will try to give you the needed informations.

Best regards,

Marco

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18158
Liked: 1542 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Error: There is no FIB

Post by foggy » Sep 17, 2019 3:58 pm

Hi Marco, Fedor references the repository that stores replica metadata here, the one you specify in the replication job settings (not the target vSphere datastore where the replica VM resides).

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests